A repository for the most significant records of the diocese and maintains the oldest sacramental and historical records of the diocese and its parishes. The diocese maintains Episcopal archives (1857-1967) and the parish registers of the Cathedral-Basilica (1594-1881). The archive also handles requests for genealogical research and the history of Catholicism in Florida. Has Sacramental records of the colonial period and 19th century, papers and records of the bishops of the diocese
and Microfilm copies of selected colonial records of Florida pertaining to the Catholic Church.
Located on the property of the Sisters of St. Joseph Convent. The Father Miguel O’Reilly House Museum is next door and is also run by the Sisters.
Materials relating to the construction, architecture and operation of the Castillo and Fort Matanzas found in Spanish and British archives. Documents early colonial and territorial history of Florida including military life, Battles & Sieges, Arms & Armaments, the history and cultural influences of Native Americans, Spanish, English, Colonial African Americans, Minorcans and United States.
The First Thanksgiving at St. Augustine was celebrated by on September 8, 1565, by Pedro Menéndez de Avilés, 800 Spanish settlers and the native Seloy tribe 56 years before the Puritan-Pilgrim thanksgiving at Plymouth Plantation (Massachusetts).
The Colonial Quarter( formerly Spanish Quater) is where visitors can experience three centuries of Colonial Spanish and British living history in St. Augustine from the 16th through the 18th during the formation and creation of the nation's oldest city. Travelers can enjoy a Historic Adventure Tour with a resident of Colonial Quarter St. Augustine as they are taken on an interactive, immersive journey through history. Includes leatherwork, print and blacksmith shops, an 18th century soldiers home and a taberna.
Houses the former Historic St. Augustine Preservation Board Library materials documenting all aspects of St. Augustine life and related to the properties in the historic district. The collection was created by the Historic St. Augustine Preservation Board, or HSAPB (1959-1997) to help inform the restoration, reconstruction, management and interpretation efforts along St. George Street and in other parts of the colonial city. Includes 25,000 photographs, maps, overlays of the city, architectural drawings, sketches, field reports, government records, transcriptions of key Spanish documents, and archaeology site summaries are now digitized by University of Florida Smathers libraries at http://ufdc.ufl.edu/hsa1.
From 1963 to 2011, the Spanish Quarter of St. Augustine, Florida stood as a living history museum devoted to the demonstration of historic lifeways of the 1740s. Blacksmithing, gardening, carpentry, weaving, printing, and other skills were researched and practiced by museum staff, precipitating the compilation of relevant documentation. The Spanish Quarter archives is an online archive which represents an effort to preserve the research and correspondence conducted by those involved with the Spanish Quarter and documenting the research, restoration and reconstruction of the Village. They are located within the Colonial Quarter's De Mesa-Sanchez house on the second floor.
This a collaborative project of Flagler College and the University of Florida, supported by the St. Augustine Foundation, Inc. The Institute maintains links with the many other agencies and organizations in St. Augustine that are committed to the town’s history and historic preservation, and offers centralized information and resources for researchers, students and interested members of the public not based in St. Augustine. Has subject lists of Bibliographies and Master Theses and Doctoral Dissertations most of which can be found in public and academic libraries.
Documenting all aspects of St. Johns County and early Florida history, this repository holds over 50 manuscript collections, numerous scrapbooks, photographs, historic public records including those of the County Circuit Court beginning in 1812 and extensive church records. Also includes over 1,000 maps and blueprints of St. Augustine and St. Johns County.
Collections focus on local maritime history. Major components are Living & Working at the Light Station - U.S. Lighthouse Service, U.S. Coast Guard WWII Ponce Training Station and regional underwater archaeology. Collections consist of documents, photographs, artifacts, oral histories, exhibits and related research.