Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Graduate Nursing Library Resources: Nurse Practitioner Track: 2. E-Books

Selected eBooks

eBook Databases

EBSCOhost e-Books

EBSCOhost e-Books (formerly NetLibrary) is a collection of more than 60,000 eBooks (books that have been digitized and are available online). Netlibrary is a great place to look for in-depth information on a topic.

 

Access Medicine

Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources ; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

 

MD Consult

Full text of over 50 medical reference book, over 80 journals and Clinics of North America. Also includes peer-reviewed practice guidelines, patient handouts which you can customize, and drug information is provided by Gold Standard.

 

Merck Manual

A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers that provides guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions.

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks is an online collection of more than 55,000 electronic full-text books, which contains both current and classic items.

These ebooks are available when you log on remotely via EZproxy or when you are connected directly to the UCF network. Information about EZProxy can be found online at https://library.ucf.edu/my-account/ The ebooks can be opened and read online or downloaded for reading offline. Create an account within EBSCO to download an ebook.

To access EBSCO ebooks, click on Databases on the library home page. Click on E in the Browse Databases A-Z at the top of the page and scroll down to EBSCO ebooks.

Search Tips:

  • Using Advanced Search is recommended and is the default search screen.
  • Use quotation marks for phrases (especially when searching the full-text).
  • The SU Subject field narrows your search and makes it more precise.
  • Use Select a Field if you are having difficulty locating books with your search terms.
  • The TX All Text Fields searches the text of all the e-books. Use this with caution.
  • Use a single asterisk * at the end of the root word for truncation (to look for different endings of the term). See examples in the Practice Exercises.

Viewing/Checkout E-Books:

  • You can view an eBook for approximately 15 minutes without another user checking it out; you can continue browsing as long as no one checks out the book; you will be logged out if there is an extended period of inactivity.
  • The eBook Full Text link will open the book in the viewer tool.
  • Click on the eBook title to view more information on the book.
  • Click on the Table of Contents link to view the chapters. The + (plus) sign expands the chapter.
  • Use the eBook Viewer Toolbar to change your view of the pages. Zoom is available.
  • Tools column on right side has a magnifying glass icon to search a term within the book.
  • Click the Dictionary icon to search definitions of words within the book.
  • You cannot print more than 60 pages of a book. If you exceed the limit, you will get a notice of possible copyright infringement.

Getting Help:

  • Click on HELP, located at the top right, then look in the left column of the HELP screen and click on ebooks on EBSCOhost. Information on accessing the collection, search tips, how to read books online, and some frequently asked questions are provided.