Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Charleston Conference: Issues in Book & Serial Acquisition

I’ll Be Back: Post-Purchase Activities and ROI

Thursday, November 6, 2014, 12:45pm - 2:00pm

Michael Arthur + speakers from University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Springer, & Cambridge University Press

What kinds of services and support should be expected after purchasing? Vendors are increasingly providing post-sale services to their customers, typically in the form of Account Development. This panel discussion will examine experiences that vendors, libraries and consortia have had with each other, including which services have been beneficial and what is still needed. Learn specific examples of past collaborations, such as customized trainings, usage analysis and professional development events. Librarians and vendors alike will have the opportunity to learn from their peers about making the most out of their resources. Afterwards, panelists will welcome questions and anecdotes from the audience.

Shotgun Session: "Project Rescue" - Preserving and Invigorating Contents on Microfilm Collection

Thursday, November 6, 2014, 2:15pm - 3:00pm

Ying Zhang

Despite the prevalence of electronic resources nowadays, microfilms remain significant part of the collections for research libraries. Although the use is more cumbersome, microfilm format often offer the unique content for particularly primary and historical research. Because they are expensive to own, microfilms are also highly requested through interlibrary loans. However, over time, the earlier acetate films are subject to “vinegar syndrome” and deteriorating rapidly. Once this nasty degradation syndrome appears, an offensive odor is emitted to the environment and to “infect” other microfilms. And eventually the microfilm is unusable and its contents become lost. The traditional preservation techniques or acquiring actual replacement reels are both cost prohibitive.In an effort to slow down the spread of vinegar syndrome and preserve the collection, the University of Central Florida Libraries took on a “project rescue” for microfilms.The overall process and detailed workflow will be demonstrated in this presentation. The audience is expected to learn UCF's cost-effective and collaborative methods to preserve microfilms' health and optimize the access while minimizing the content loss to the users.

Meeting Researchers Where They Are

Friday, November 7, 2014, 3:15pm - 4:00pm

Rich Gause

While students may use Google when doing research, LibGuides offers a complimentary way of reaching users at the level they are most comfortable. LibGuides provide a mechanism for mediating quality resource tools in a format conducive to varied learning styles and audiences. The University of Central Florida will show how widgets and filters are used to incorporate database links by subject and type of resource, followed by a demonstration of database usage statistics. Attendees can expect to learn how LibGuides can be applied at any library to help researchers at any level of experience. During the session attendees can access an interactive poll from their mobile device to provide feedback for the discussion.

Return on Investment: New Strategies for Marketing Digital Resources to Academic Faculty and Students from three Perspectives: Publisher, Collection Development and Research Services

Saturday, November 8, 2014, 11:45am - 12:15pm

Michael Arthur and Barbara Tierney

Game-changing strategies for marketing digital resources to end-users are crucial for establishing return on investment in this period of reduced library collection budgets and challenging resource prices. When expensive digital resources are purchased by academic libraries, there needs to be a marketing plan in place for getting these resources into the hands of end-users as quickly as possible. One strategy for success is a marketing collaboration between the publisher and the academic library. This panel program will focus on the success achieved at the University of Central Florida Libraries where such a collaboration included experts from Taylor & Francis working closely with the UCF Head of Acquisitions & Collection Development and the Head of Research Services. Together they sponsored a digital resources educational workshop that included presentations by faculty, librarians and Taylor & Francis representatives and reached out to end-users as well as librarians from several Florida institutions. This panel program will encourage Q &A participation by the audience. Attendees will learn innovative strategies for marketing digital resources such as: hosting vendor presentations and trainings in library classrooms or at academic faculty workshops; hosting webinars and presentations (for both academic faculty and librarians) that focus on exciting new products or major enhancements to existing library resources;collaboration with campus partners (such as the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning) to market resources via weekly email blasts in the partner’s newsletters and announcements; utilizing the mastheads of the library home page and scholarly communication web page to market digital resources.

Charleston Seminar: Being Earnest with our Collections: Determining Key Challenges and Best Practices

Saturday, November 8, 2014, 12:15pm - 3:00pm

Michael Arthur, co-moderator of panel discussions

This session will bring together librarians, publishers and vendors from across the country to explore important changes within the industry that affect the way information is acquired and delivered to library patrons. This lively discussion will replace the Rump Session with the goal being to cap off another great Charleston Conference by defining key challenges and identifying attainable goals. The format will be a series of panels in lightning round format on exciting or controversial topics followed by group discussions. Panelists will challenge participants to explore new ways of thinking about libraries, users, and the dissemination of information. Following each panel, participants will be asked to further develop ideas and build consensus for turning those with broad appeal into action items. Future plans include follow-up with attendees to ascertain their progress on key takeaways, and sharing results through various Charleston Conference publications.