Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Charleston Conference: Issues in Book & Serial Acquisition

Developing a Statewide Print Repository in Florida: The UCF Experience with FLARE

Thursday, November 7, 2013, 2:15pm - 3:00pm

Michael Arthur and Ying Zhang

Slides

Many academic libraries are struggling with collections size reaching or exceeding building capacity.  Meanwhile, the movement of “21st Century Libraries” calls for user centered space. The combination of these two factors has challenged libraries to identify ways to eliminate physical collections without losing access to content.

The academic libraries in the State of Florida, including the University of Central Florida (UCF), have discussed and developed plans for a shared print repository for several years. For the past few years a state wide Shared Storage Task Force was convened with representation from the state university libraries; and eventually formed the FLorida Academic REpository (FLARE) under the leadership of University of Florida.

In 2012, FLARE received the first large shipment from a participating library. After a few months of active planning, UCF implemented its project preparing our materials to send to FLARE, and is poised to be the next library contributing to FLARE.

As presented, the UCF FLARE project requires tremendous coordination and collaboration within the multiple units in the Technical Services Division at UCF, and with the external FLARE Team in Gainesville. Policies and procedures were developed with guidance from the FLARE Team; and internal workflow was designed to ensure accurate processing. Maintaining clear communication with the Public Services Division is also critical.

This presentation will give an overview of the FLARE project and its evolution, and share UCF’s experience in selecting and processing materials for this shared storage facility.

Shared E-books from Coast to Coast: Consortial Programs in Florida and the Pacific Northwest

Friday, November 8, 2013, 12:45pm - 2:00pm

Mary Page, co-moderator of panel discussion

In the past two years the locus of demand-driven or patron-driven acquisitions (PDA/DDA) has broadened beyond a single institution to include various academic library consortia. Facilitators from the Orbis Cascade Alliance, a 37-member early implementer (2011) of consortial DDA, and the 11-member State University Libraries Consortium in Florida, which is preparing to launch its own consortial program, will lead a discussion of the challenges and opportunities of shared PDA/DDA based on lessons learned. Special focus will be on the complexities of collection building among multiple institutions, planning for and evaluating success, and the role that vendor partners play in supporting consortial goals.

Some of the key issues and topics to be addressed by the panel include:

• Adding new content while controlling expenditures
• Assessment & program review
• Designing the shared plan; creating profiles/setting parameters
• Funding shared plans; sustainability of program
• Impact on collection development
• Publisher considerations
• Report generation for cost/usage/purchased titles
• Tech aspects & record management—review, de-duplication, delivery, removal

Subject Librarian Initiative at the University of Central Florida Libraries: Collaboration Amongst Scholarly Communication, Research & Information Services, and Acquisitions & Collections Development

Friday, November 8, 2013, 2:15pm - 3:00pm

Michael Arthur and Barbara Tierney

Slides

At the University of Central Florida Libraries, the Scholarly Communication Division, the Research & Information Services Department and the Acquisitions & Collection Development Department are collaborating to create and support a Subject Librarian initiative that focuses on increased outreach to faculty and students and proactive promotion of scholarly communication initiatives to the university community. Since January 2013 these three units have worked together to emphasize the importance of Librarians becoming more fully integrated in the university infrastructure through increased Subject Liaison roles. This collaboration has involved realigning/reassigning librarian subject assignments, including librarians from all units in the Scholarly Communication Advisory Group, and creating a new Web presence for librarians which links their instruction and collection development assignments http://library.ucf.edu/SubjectLibrarians/

The new emphasis on Subject Librarians working to profile their assigned academic departments and faculty and to map the curriculum for their assigned academic programs is leading to better informed collection development, more refined curriculum integrated instruction and a greater understanding and appreciation of Scholarly Communication/Open Access issues as they apply to the various disciplines.

The Liaison Librarians assigned to Research & Info Services and Acquisitions & Collection Development serve side-by-side on the Scholarly Communications Advisory Group, participate side-by-side in Collection Development and Reference Services meetings, and work side-by-side at the Research & Information Services Desk. They also participate together in Scholarly Communication workshops, Reference Services retreats, and Collection Development training. Join Michael Arthur and Barbara Tierney as they present a power point illustrating the above collaboration along with sample documents and web pages that highlight the new initiative. Attendees will come away with strategies for successful scholarly communication collaboration amongst disparate units in an academic library.