UCF Research Guides: Engineering: Materials Science and Engineering: Databases

To Find Journal Articles about Materials Science & Engineering Topics

General Engineering

Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+)
a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost)
“This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.”
formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
SciFinder Scholar (CAS) (1907+)
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic, compound and reaction information. First-time users must register.
Get substances - Access substance information including chemical structures, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers®, properties, commercial availability and regulatory information.
Get reactions - Find dependable and current chemical reaction information from our extensive databases including reaction schemes, experimental procedures, conditions, yields, solvents, catalysts, as well as commercial availability of substances with direct links to leading producer and supplier sites.
Get references – get the information you need when you need it with our unrivaled collection of the world’s most up-to-date chemistry and related science information found in journals, patents, dissertations and more."
Engineering Research Database (ProQuest) (1966+)
- This link opens in a new window
"Mechanical engineering, civil engineering, transportation aerospace - journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books and press releases"

Materials Science

Specialized Databases

Materials Research Database (ProQuest) (1965+)
- This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. The Copper Technical Reference Library and the renowned METADEX database are also included in the Materials Science & Engineering Database.
Materials Science & Engineering (SAGE Journals)
Browse journals by discipline: Biomedical Engineering; Engineering & Computing; Materials Science
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the ACS in 1879, as well as the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication and the ACS In Focus eBooks.
Ceramic Abstracts (ProQuest) (1975+)
- This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
print index (1939+) General Collection TP 785 .A64
Engineered Materials Abstracts (ProQuest) (1986+)
- This link opens in a new window
The growing importance of polymers, ceramics, and composites in a variety of structural and other advanced applications requires the in-depth coverage provided by Engineered Materials Abstracts.
Materials Business File (ProQuest) (1985+)
- This link opens in a new window
Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
METADEX (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
the only comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
indexing 1966+; abstracts 1979+
"METADEX contains over 1,425,000 references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index.
Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases."
Subject coverage:
- Steels
- Metals
- Alloys
- Compounds
- Metal matrix composites
- Nonferrous metals
- Processing
- Properties
- Testing
- Analysis
- Applications
- Microstructure
- Strength
- Refining
- Casting
- Coatings
- Heat treatment
- Corrosion
- Extracting and smelting
- Blast furnaces
- Machining
- Welding
- Environmental and safety issue
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts (ProQuest) (1981+)
"provides global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology, now highlighted in every issue."
"Some of the topics covered are phase, crystal, and mechanical properties of solids, optical and dielectric properties, conductive and magnetic properties, exotic electronic structure and energy gaps, SQUIDs, impurity effects, flux structures and critical current, ceramics, twinning phenomena, and more. This database provides international coverage as well as coverage of numerous non-serial publications.

Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases."
SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering)
the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.
Topic Collections include:
- Astronomy
- Biomedical Optics & Medical Imaging
- Communication & Information Technologies
- Defense & Security
- Electronic Imaging & Signal Processing
- Energy
- Lasers
- Light Sources & Illumination
- Lithography & Microelectronics
- Metrology
- Nanotechnology
- Optics
- Remote Sensing
- Sensors

MRS Bulletin. The Bulletin provides a comprehensive overview of a specific materials theme, along with industry and policy developments, and MRS and materials-community news and events.
ChemSpider. ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 67 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from hundreds of high-quality data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Advanced Polymers Abstracts* (CSA)
[subscription dropped]
This database centralizes information on advanced plastics and is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database.