PREVIEW African American Legacy - ENC 3502 - Researching Writing and Literacy (Galbreath) - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

About African American Legacy

This digital collection contains a selection of materials from the thousands of items relating to African American history in the African American Legacy - The Carol Mundy Collection, 1720-2010 housed at the John C. Hitt Library. The physical collection includes books, manuscripts, sheet music, pamphlets, journals, newspapers, broadsides, posters, photographs and rare ephemera which all speak to the black experience. While the collection is comprehensive both nationally and internationally, the collection does contain materials that relates to local African American history.

The collection, which includes documents and a large collection of early African American photography, is located in Special Collections. For more detailed information, please consult the finding aid.

Additional resources:

Catalog: Books from the Mundy collection can be found in the Online Catalog by searching the series "Carol Mundy library" or by clicking here.
Digital Collection: Portions of the Mundy collection have been digitized and can be viewed on UCF's Digital Collections website. This portion of the collection includes visual ephemera such as post cards, product packages, and illustrations from magazines and newspapers.
STARS: Some materials can also be viewed on STARS, UCF's digital repository, by search "Carol Mundy" or "African American Legacy"

Related Collections

African American Orlan History Collections
Hosted by the University of Louisville, this collection Includes interviews conducted as part of projects designed to document particular aspects of Louisville's history and/or important local institutions, such as the Red Cross Hospital as well as projects that sought to document African American life more generally.
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s
A digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century.
Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora
A collection of images images that have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. Our growing collection currently has over 1,200 images. This website is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.