Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

ESI 6225 - Quality Design and Control: Articles and Databases

To Find Articles About General Enginering, and Computer Science

General Engineering

Controlled Vocabulary/Subject Headings To Use

Compendex/Inspec Controlled Terms

Statistical Process Control

Design of Experiments

Control Charts

Taguchi Methods

Quality Control

Process Capabiltiy - Process Capability Analysis, 

Process Improvement -- Software Process Improvement, Process Management, Process Engineering, Process Control, etc.

Quality Design - Design for Quality, or (Design + Quality Control/Product Design)

Online Standards

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

ASCE Standards provide technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in civil engineering. Many of our standards are referenced by model building codes and adopted by state and local jurisdiction. They also provide guidance for design projects around the world.

  IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is a nonprofit organization that develops and publishes over 900 standards relating to electronics, a broad field in today's modern world.

Florida Building Codes.  Access to several editions including the most recent 5th edition (2014) is available online.

 

Database Searching Tips

  1. Use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database - article databases, online catalogs and even commercial search engines.
  2. Library databases are a bit different from searching Google Scholar.
  3. Keyword searching is how you typically search web search engines.  Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results. Most like you’ll find a lot, including irrelevant items.
  4. Searching by subject headings is the most precise way to search article databases.  Each database use different terms such as controlled vocabulary, descriptors, or subjects.
  5. After you searched a number of databases and still do not get the results you expect, always ask for advice.  Librarians at the John C. Hitt Library are happy to help you find what you need.