Social Work

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

This is a compilation of statistics collected by the federal government that can be used as a gateway to the range of statistical information used by the government. As of October, 2011, the Census Bureau ended collection of data for this source, but the site has links to earlier editions.

The AARP Public Policy Institute DataExplorer allows you to search for data on people 50 years and older by topic or location.

Federal Interagency Forum on Aging related statistics is a group of member agencies that provides information on older adults.

The Administration for Community Living was created around the fundamental principle that older adults and people of all ages with disabilities should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities. The resources on this page The following resources are available through data collection and research projects funded by ACL, and data compilation performed by ACL.

This site provides information on the CDC's National Center for Health Statistics report on Older Persons' Health.

The Children’s Bureau, an office of the administration for Children & Families, analyzes and reports data on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.

Child Stats.gov is a forum on child and family statistics. The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.

A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

"The Bureau of Justice (BJS) provides freely available information about crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of the government. The Nation's two crime measures -- Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Bureau of Justice (BJS) and a statement of the purposes and advantages of the Uniform Crime Reporting and the National Crime Victimization Survey. "After summarizing the collection methods that the two statistical programs use and highlighting the aspects of crime that each measures, the statement concludes with similarities and differences."

A compilation of annual crime statistics for the United States.

The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) hosts several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

This site provides statistical information on juvenile offending, victimization of juveniles, and involvement of youth in the juvenile justice system.

The Annual Reports and Information group within the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) produces several reports each year that draw from over 25 surveys by NCES and other government agencies. These wide-ranging data sources allow our reports to provide a comprehensive view of key issues facing the U.S. education system.

U.S. Census information on the highest level of education that an individual has completed.

The World Bank EdStats holds over 4,000 internationally comparable indicators that describe education access, progression, completion, literacy, teachers, population, and expenditures. The indicators cover the education cycle from pre-primary to vocational and tertiary education.

Created and maintained by the Employment and Disability Institute, Cornell University, this site includes an interactive search tool.

KFF is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF serves as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.

The information on these pages includes currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.

This site includes minority population profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration has partnered with the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) to host restricted data from the National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH). Federal Statistical Research Data Centers (RDCs) are protected facilities that provide secure access to a range of restricted-use microdata for statistical purposes only.

The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.

FastStats provides alphabetical organization of public health statistical data for the U.S. This link also includes birth and death totals by U.S. state or territory.

The Harvard Joint Center for Housing Studies advances understanding of housing issues and informs policy. Through its research, education, and public outreach programs, the center helps leaders in government, business, and the civic sectors make decisions that effectively address the needs of cities and communities.

The Homelessness Data Exchange (HDX) is an online data submission tool for reporting to HUD. publishes data on the Housing Inventory Count (HIC), Point-in-Time (PIT) Count.

The National Alliance to End Homelessness is a nonpartisan organization committed to preventing and ending homelessness in the United States.

Homeless Services Network (HSN) is the lead agency for the Central Florida Commission on Homelessness in Orange, Osceola, and Seminole Counties, including the Cities of Orlando, Kissimmee, and Sanford. The Homeless Management Information System (HMIS) is a locally administered, electronic data collection system that stores longitudinal person-level information about persons who access the homeless service system in a Continuum of Care.

- Poverty Data
- How the Census Bureau Measures Poverty
- History of Poverty Measure

The Poverty and Equity Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest data on poverty, inequality, and shared prosperity. The portal allows you to explore several poverty and inequality indicators for countries and regions as well as explore countries by various income levels – low income, lower middle income, and upper middle income, and access poverty and inequality data for fragile, IDA and other country groupings.