Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Nursing: Access

Remote Access methods

Most of the electronic resources available in the UCF library are also available from off-campus on your home PC. These electronic resources include approximately 325 databases, 24,000 online journals and more than 590,000 electronic books. However, use of these resources is restricted to currently registered students; therefore, access from off-campus requires authentication.

The easiest and recommended method of remote access is to use the EZProxy from the UCF Library Articles & Databases ( web page. You can either enter your NID and NID password OR  your Library ID number (from your UCF card) and the last 4 digits of your PID. 

Wait until you see a message “Successfully logged in”, then from the alphabetical listing of databases, click on the database you want to search. To make sure EZProxy is active, check to see that the URL address contains “”.

Should you encounter problems with the EZProxy contact the UCF Ask a Librarian service by telephone at (407) 823-2562 or toll free at (866) 271-7589 for assistance.

Obtaining a UCF Library Card Number

*Important* Students can log into the library with your NID and NID password to access articles and databases! Library database access is also available through Canvas by clicking on the Library Tools tab on the left hand side of each course.

As mentioned above, a UCF ID card is not necessary to access UCF electronic resouces such library databases. However, to check out books or other physical materials from the UCF Library in Orlando, to request articles or books using Interlibrary Loan, you must have a current, active UCF library card number. If you have a UCF student ID card, your library card number is the 14-digit number listed at the bottom front of the card. UCF student ID cards are provided at most UCF campuses. 

The UCF Card Services office previously located in the John T. Washington Center has moved to Knights Plaza. The new office is on East Plaza Drive across from the UCF Arena and North of the Barnes & Noble Bookstore@UCF. Check the web site for hours of operation and additional information:

You can also get a card from the following main and regional campus locations:

If you prefer, you can also obtain a UCF student ID card by mail. You will need to send a passport quality photo, a copy of your driver’s license, your UCF PID, and a check for $15.00 to:

UCF Card Services
P.O. Box 160056
Orlando, FL 32816-0056

Complete information for obtaining a card by mail can be found online at UCF Card for Distance Learners ( - look for information in FAQ) or you can contact the UCF Card Office at (407) 823-2100.

If you are unable to visit a campus to get a UCF ID and you are a UCF distance learner, or if you are unable to get a UCF ID, you may request a library ID number. The ID number can be used to access UCF Electronic Resources and other library services. To request a library card number from the UCF Library, fill out the online Library ID Number Request Form (

You can also call the UCF Library Circulation Desk at (407) 823-2580 if you have questions about your UCF card. Activation of the card is no longer necessary.

Subject Guide

Andrew Todd's picture
Andrew Todd
University Tower, Rm. 457, UCF Orlando Campus, 407.823.2160

EFSC/UCF Joint-Use Library, UCF Cocoa Campus, 321.433.7878