UCF Research Guides: Mathematics: Key Journals

Key Journals

The following journals are devoted exclusively or in part to mathematics.

Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.

Acta Mathematica
General Collection QA1 .A18 (1969+)
Contains research papers in all fields of mathematics. Most of the papers are in English, but some are in French or German. The material found in the articles tend to be highly cited and of lasting importance.
American Journal of Mathematics
General Collection QA 1 .A51 (1878-August 2002)
The oldest mathematics journal in the Western Hemisphere in continuous publication. Publishes articles of broad appeal covering the major areas of contemporary mathematics.
Annals of Mathematics
Microfilm QA 1 .A6 (1884-1967)
General Collection QA 1 .A6 (1967+)
Publishes articles in all areas of mathematical research.
Annals of the Institute of Statistical Mathematics
General Collection QA 276 .T6 (1972+)
Microfilm QA 276 .T6 (1949-72)
AISM provides an international forum for open communication among statisticians and researchers working with the common purpose of advancing human knowledge through the development of science and the technology of statistics.
The American Mathematical Monthly: The Official Journal of the Mathematical Association of America
Microfilm QA 1 .A515 (1894-1936)
Microfiche QA 1 .A515 (1933-52)
General Collection QA 1 .A515 (1946+)
Expository articles on all components of mathematics, pure and applied, old and new. Regular columns devoted to basic and complex problems and reviews are included.
Bulletin (New Series) of the American Mathematical Society
Publishes two types of articles: 1) papers that present a clear and insightful exposition of significant aspects of contemporary mathematical research, and 2) brief, timely reports on important mathematical developments. It also contains four to eight lengthy book reviews in each issue.
The College Mathematics Journal: An Official Publication of the Mathematical Association of America
General Collection QA 11 .A1 T9 (1984+)
Articles on mathematics, curriculum and pedagogy, problems and solutions, classroom notes, and a special section on computers. Focuses on the earlier years of college-level mathematics.
Duke Mathematical Journal
Microfiche QA 1 .D6 (1935-1968)
General Collection QA 1 .D6 (1969+)
The focus is on pure mathematics, publishing approximately 100 articles a year.
Historia Mathematica
Publishes historical scholarship on mathematics and its development in all cultures and time periods. While most of the articles are written in English, some are in French or German.
Journal of the American Mathematical Society
General Collection QA 1 .J6 (1988+)
Material published in this journal is devoted to significant research articles of the highest quality in all areas of pure and applied mathematics.
IMA Journal of Applied Mathematics
General Collection QA 1 .I47 (1987+)
Publishes papers in all areas of mathematics, including analytic and numerical treatments of both physical and nonphysical applied mathematical problems.
Inventiones Mathematicae
The express purpose of this journal is to publish new contributions to the field of mathematics. Some of the articles are in German or French.
The Mathematical Intelligencer
General Collection QA 1 .M427 (1988+)
Informs and entertains an international readership of professional mathematicians. Articles include discussion on mathematics, mathematicians, and the history and culture of mathematics.
Mathematical Proceedings of the Cambridge Philosophical Society
General Collection Q 41 .C172 (1975-2003)
The whole range of pure and applied mathematics, theoretical physics, and statistics are covered in this journal.
Mathematics Teacher
General Collection QA 1 .N28 (1908/09-1992); (2003+)
Microfilm QA 1 .N28 (1908/09-1975); (1990-2002)
Cum. Index: 1908-1985.
The oldest journal published by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), publishing articles on the improvement of instruction of mathematics in junior and senior high schools, two-year colleges, and teacher education colleges.

The following journals are devoted exclusively or in part to mathematics.

Memoirs of the American Mathematical Society

General Collection QA 3 .A57 (1988+)

More a monographic series than a journal, with each issue containing one lengthy research paper or a group of related papers. The focus is broadly on pure and applied mathematics topics.

Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society

Online version (1996+)
Online version (1950+ except last 5 years)
General Collection QA1 .A5159 (1950+)

Publication is devoted to short research articles (not to exceed ten printed pages) in all areas of pure and applied mathematics. To be published in the Proceedings, a paper must be correct, new, and significant. Further, it must be of interest to a substantial number of mathematicians.

Proceedings of the London Mathematical Society

Online version (1997+)
Online version (1997+)
General Collection QA 1 .L5 (2nd Series (1920/21-1948/49))
(Index 2nd Series (1903-1952))
(3rd Series (1951-2003))
(Index 3rd Series (1951-1972))

Presents research papers in the fields of real and complex analysis, differential equations and related areas, topology, geometry, logic, probability and statistics, algebra, number theory, and combination theory.

The Quarterly Journal of Mathematics, Oxford Series

Online version (1998+)
Online version (1998+)
General Collection QA 1 .Q22 (1970+)

Publishes original contributions to pure mathematics with areas such as algebra, differential geometry, and global analysis receiving particular emphasis.

Quarterly of Applied Mathematics

Microfilm QA 1.Q25 (1943/44-1969/70)
General Collection QA 1 .Q25 (1970/71+)

Original papers in applied mathematics that have a close connection with applications in industrial or practical science are published in this journal.

SIAM Review

Online version (1959+ except last 5 years)
Online version (1996+)
General Collection QA 1 .S2 (1959+)

Consists of five sections, all covering articles of broad interest. Publishes papers with a deliberately integrative and up-to-date perspective on major topics in either applied or computational mathematics or scientific computing.

Studies in Applied Mathematics

Online version (1997+)
Online version (1997+)
Online version (1998+)
General Collection Q 1 .J6875 (1969+)

Publication reports research results involving the core concepts of applied mathematics research. The domain is the interplay between mathematics and applied disciplines.

Transactions of the American Mathematical Society

Online version (1996+)
Online version (1900+ except last 5 years)
General Collection QA 1 .A522 (1900+)

The editorial focus is on research articles in all areas of pure and applied mathematics with the papers being longer than ten pages.

Memoirs of the American Mathematical Society
General Collection QA 3 .A57 (1988+)
More a monographic series than a journal, with each issue containing one lengthy research paper or a group of related papers. The focus is broadly on pure and applied mathematics topics.