L.Ed. and L.Ed.2d
U.S. -- United States Reports -- the official publication of Supreme Court decisions
S.Ct. -- Supreme Court Reporter is only available in the UCF Library via the Westlaw database; ask at the Research Assistance Desk.
Need to cross-reference a citation from S.Ct. or U.S. to locate the case in L. Ed. 2d?
Use the Parallel Reference Tables in volume 4 of
Shepard's United States Citations
Reference KF 101.2 .S54
or retrieve the version from L.Ed.2d online by Shepardizing the S.Ct. citation.
U.S. Supreme Court Briefs (LexisNexis Academic) "includes merit briefs for cases granted cert., amicus curiae briefs, joint appendices & special masters beginning in January 1979, with selected coverage from 1936. All briefs for cases granted cert. begins after 1993. Also includes all briefs for cases petitioning for cert. after 2001."
Argument Transcripts (October 2000+) -- "The Court's current Courtroom reporter, Alderson Reporting Company, provides transcripts of oral arguments that are posted on this Web site on the same day an argument is heard by the Court. Same-day transcripts are considered official but subject to final review."
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Case Summaries, Oral Arguments & Multimedia -- "a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955."
Government Briefs (Office of the Solicitor General, U.S. Department of Justice) (1982+) "seeks to provide convenient access to all briefs (other than responses in IFP cases) filed by the Solicitor General."
Briefs, Oral Arguments & Other Court Documents Research Guide (Georgetown Law Library) -- a useful guide, but it lists many resources unavailable at UCF
Supreme Court Decisions
Supreme Court Nominations
The Supreme Court Database provides data about decisions from 1946 to the present
FedWorld / FLITE U.S. Supreme Court Decisions (1937-1975) "contains 7,407 Decisions from volumes 300 through 422 of U.S. Reports... available as ASCII text files that can be read on your browser's screen or saved to your hard drive and accessed using most word processor programs."
Supreme Court Collection (Legal Information Institute) -- an open-access online database of U.S. Supreme Court cases, with fairly complete coverage of all cases from 1990+ and the Historic Decisions collection with "over 600 of the Court's most important decisions from the founding of the court to the present."
U.S. Supreme Court Opinions (FindLaw) -- searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893