Foreign & International Courts
General Resources -- Foreign & International Courts
- Global Legal Information Network* (Library of Congress) (site temporarily unavailable)The US Library of Congress created GLIN in 1996 and the United States supported it financially until 2012. Pursuant to budgetary constraints in the US, the GLIN operating system environment was shut down in 2012.
The Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) Foundation anticipates announcing the initial operating date for the GLIN 2 system sometime before October of 2015.
- Human Rights Cases (1960+) -Broken Link"contains summaries and transcripts of decisions of the European Court of Human Rights from 1960 and Butterworths Human Rights Cases from 1996, covering landmark decisions from international, European and English courts and tribunals."
- Intellectual Property Reports (1983+)"The decisions reported are from IP Australia and superior courts and tribunals in Australia, the UK, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, the USA and Canada."
- International Legal Materials (1962+)"provides the basic, primary documents necessary for research and analysis of international law. Materials are selected by ASIL for their usefulness to scholars, practitioners, business and government officials, both in the United States and abroad. These materials include the full texts of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions and other documents."
- International Court of Justice Decisions, Combined- Advisory Opinions (1948+)
- Filings (2004+, with limited coverage 1986-2003)
- Judgments (1948+) - Tax Analysts Worldwide Tax Treaties Case Law"contains treaty-related court opinions."
See also Tax Treaties
American International Law Cases
- American International Law CasesCall Number: General Collection -- 3rd floor -- JX 238 .A2 D4 (1783+)discusses published federal and state decisions involving questions of public international law from 1783 forward.
Africa -- Cases
Some of the individual files available from the Sources tab in LexisNexis Academic include:
- Butterworths South African Constitutional Law Reports (1991+)"provides selected decisions from the Supreme Court and new Constitutional Court of South Africa pertaining to the interpretation of the South African Bill of Rights and other general aspects of the new Constitution. Also included are key constitutional law decisions from neighboring countries such as Zimbabwe, Namibia and Botswana."
- South Africa Tax Cases (1920-1998)"a distinguished collection of cases comprising the only official reports of decisions of the Special Court for Hearing Income Tax Appeals, as well as reported tax cases in the Supreme Court of South Africa, and the High and Supreme Courts of Zimbabwe. The collection begins with volume 1."
Asia -- Cases
Some of the individual files available from the Sources tab in LexisNexis Academic include:
- All Hong Kong Case Law"Hong Kong Cases from 1947; Hong Kong Unreported Judgments from 1986; Hong Kong Public Law Reports from April, 1994 through October, 1997."
- Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei Cases"Hong Kong Cases from 1947; Hong Kong Unreported Judgments from 1986; Hong Kong Public Law Reports from April, 1994 through October, 1997."
- Supreme Court of India Cases, Combined"contains reported and unreported Supreme Court of India decisions from January 1999."
Australia -- Cases
Some of the individual files available from the Sources tab in Nexis Uni include:
- Australian Commonwealth, State, & Territory Case Law"The Commonwealth or federal courts include: High Court of Australia; Federal Court of Australia; Family Court of Australia; the new Industrial Relations Court; Administrative Appeals Tribunal; Immigration Review Tribunal; and the Refugee Tribunal. The state and territory courts include the Supreme Courts of Tasmania, South Australia, the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), and the Northern Territory."
- Administrative Law Decisions (1977+)"The authorised reports of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal - including: * Compensation * Customs * Deportation and Immigration * Export Market Development Grants * Natural Resources/Fisheries and Primary Industries * Freedom of Information * Austudy and Student Assistance * Superannuation and Tax appeals * Judicial Review * Natural Justice * Anti-Discrimination * Social Security * Veterans' Affairs"
- Australian Capital Territory Reports (1973+)"the full text of all judgments received from the Australian Capital Territory Supreme Court."
- Australian Law Reports (1973+)"consists of decisions of the High Court, and significant decisions of the Federal and Supreme Courts. It also incorporates the Northern Territory Reports and the authorised Australian Capital Territory Reports."
- Northern Territory Reports (1979+)"the full text of all judgments received from the Northern Territory Supreme Court."
Canada -- Cases
Over 300 files are available from the Sources tab in LexisNexis Academic including:
- All Canadian Court and Tribunal Case Law (1823+)"a group source containing all available reported and unreported full text judgments from Canadian courts and tribunals as well as all LexisNexis case law summaries."
- All Canadian Digests (1800+)"a group source containing all available digests of Canadian court and tribunal decisions."
- Federal Court of Canada, Group Source (1877+)"the full text of judicial decisions rendered by the Federal Court of Canada (1971 to present) and the predecessor Exchequer Court of Canada (from 1877-1971)."
- Privy Council Judgments (1873-1959)"contains selected full text court decisions of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in the United Kingdom, from 1873 to 1959. These decisions all relate to Canada and include 176 cases compiled by R.A. Olmsted in 1954 relating to the British North American Act and having precedential value with respect to Canadian constitutional law."
- QuickCITE Case Citator (1800+)"contains the following information about a case: parallel citations, case history, lists of subsequent citing cases and the judicial treatments in those citing cases."
- Supreme Court of Canada, Group Source (1878+)"the full text of all judicial decisions rendered by the Supreme Court of Canada."
The Canada Digest
The Canada Digest (LexisNexis Academic) -- "a group source containing all Canada Digest sources" including:
Europe -- Cases
Some of the individual files available from the Sources tab in LexisNexis Academic include:
- EUR-Lex European Union Cases (1954+)"contains fulltext, English language decisions from the Court of Justice of the European Communities and the Court of First Instance as contained in the EUR-Lex database, the comprehensive and authoritative database of European Union law. References to decisions in other languages are also included."
- European Commission Decisions Related to Competition (1959-2000)"contains all decisions made since 1972 by the European Commission in applying the fair competition rules under Articles 85 and 86 of the EEC Treaty and the corresponding provisions of the other treaties."
- European Court Cases Selected by Butterworths (1954+)"contains caselaw from the Court of Justice of the European Communities (1954+) and the Court of First Instance (1989+) as reported in the All England Law Reports (EC) and selected by Butterworths."
- Irish Reported & Unreported Cases (1950+)"Irish Reports from 1950; Judgments of the Court of Criminal Appeal (Frewen) from 1950-83; Unreported from July 1985; Supreme Court Digests and Approved judgments from 2004; Selected High Court Digests and Approved judgments from 2005; All available approved judgments from 2004."
- EUR-Lex EU Law Database: Combined Files (1952+) (No longer available)"includes full-text, English language EC/EU Treaties, Legislation, Preparatory Documents, National Provisions Implementing Directives, Parliamentary Questions, EFTA, and other documents as provided by EUR-Lex--the computerized documentation system on Community law, which the EU institutions makes available to their officials and the public. Sources include Series L (legislative) and C (communications) of the Official Journal of the European Communities, SEC and COM final documents, etc.
old Lexis-Nexis Academic link: http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?shr=t&sfi=AC00NBGenSrch&csi=10952 - no longer accessible
New Zealand -- Cases
Some of the individual files available from the Sources tab in LexisNexis Academic include:
- New Zealand Law Reports (1880+)NZLR - "the official report series of New Zealand. It includes decisions of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, Court of Appeal and High Court."
- New Zealand Cases (1981-2005)"contains the following sources: New Zealand Administrative Reports, District Court Reports (NZ), New Zealand Family Law Reports, New Zealand Law Reports and New Zealand Resource Management Appeals."
- District Court Reports (1996+)"provide a large selection of important cases, civil and criminal, from throughout New Zealand. Also included in the Reports are selected High Court decisions that are not reported in NZLR."
- New Zealand Family Law Reports (1981+)"comprises the latest important decisions from the Family Court, High Court, Court of Appeal, and Supreme Court."
- New Zealand Resource Management Appeals (1991+)"comprises selected decisions of the Environment Court (formerly the Planning Tribunal), High Court, Court of Appeal and Supreme Court."
United Kingdom -- Cases
- British international law cases: a collection of decisions of courts in the British Isles on points of international lawCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- KD4015 .B75check availability
9 volumes, 1608-1972
States as International Persons (In General; Composite & Dependent States; Recognition; Succession) -- State Territory -- Jurisdiction (Territorial Jurisdiction; Personal Jurisdiction; Extraterritorial Jurisdiction; Jurisdiction on the High Seas) -- The Individual in International Law (Nationality; Protection; Aliens; Extradition) -- Diplomatic & Consular Agents (Permanent Diplomatic Agents; Agents on Special Missions; Consular Officers) -- Treaties
Notable British Trials -- General Collection KD... -- a series of bound volumes for individual historical trials can be located using the UCF library catalog.
Some of the individual files available from the Sources tab in LexisNexis Academic include:
- All Scottish Reported & Unreported Cases (1919+)"UNREPORTED CASES: Selected Employment Appeal Tribunal Cases (Scotland) from January 1992. REPORTED CASES: Session Cases from 1919. Scottish Criminal Case Reports (SCCR) from January 1981; Scottish Civil Law Reports (SCLR) from February 1986."
- England and Wales Reported & Unreported Cases (1558+)"Reported cases from 1558; Tax cases from 1875; Unreported cases from 1980."
- Northern Ireland Reported & Unreported Cases (1944+)"Reported cases: From March 1944; unreported cases: from March 1984."