Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

International Government: Latin America

Latin American Resources

Americas Center (Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta)
"intends to understand, cooperate and coordinate with, and respond effectively to changes in Latin American, Caribbean, and Spanish financial institutions and markets. Our mission involves better supervising constituencies, strengthening the Federal Reserve System's and Sixth Federal Reserve District's voice and influence in hemispheric policymaking, and adding value to evolving regional payment processing."
provides executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire to 1889.
Cuban Heritage Collection (University of Miami)
 provides archival collection finding aids and digitized content from those collections, including photographs, letters, manuscripts, maps, and other documents.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (University of Florida)
"a multifaceted and collaborative international digital library project that will preserve and increase access to valuable resources for the study of the Caribbean and the advancement of Caribbean Studies."
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American & Caribbean Cultures
Ref F 1406 .E515 2000
"The entries are listed alphabetically but also, at the start of the book, listed by field and by country--from Literature and the Visual Arts to Music and Cinema. There are also a number of entries which explore cultural concepts and categories--like 'Time' or 'Meat' or 'Exile'--and others that provide brief biographies of significant figures with date and place of birth and death."
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Online version (1936+)
General Collection F 1408.29 .H3 (1936+)
"a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America.... Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for Latin American studies. In addition, some of the earlier volumes included other disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law, and so forth."
organizes and describes the many Latin American and Caribbean official documents appearing on the Internet.
  • Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) - a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.
  • Latin American Open Archives Portal - providing access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America, such as working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web".
  • Presidential Messages - providing digital images of presidential speeches since the early 19th century from Mexico and Argentina.
"This project, funded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, digitizes and makes accessible Mexican state statistical abstracts from 1994-2000 for all 31 Mexican states. The print volumes are available by chapter in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF). Excel spreadsheets are available for individual statistical tables from socio-demographic and economic chapters for 1994, 1996, 1998, and 2000."
South America, Central America & the Caribbean (Europa Regional Surveys of the World)
Ref F 1406.5 .S68 (1986+)
"provides a survey of the political & economic life both of the region and of the 50 countries & territories within it." Country Surveys: Geography & Map, History, Economy, Statistical Survey, The Constitution, The Government (Head of State, Cabinet/Council of Ministers, Ministries), Legislature, Election Commission, Political Organizations, Diplomatic Representation, Judicial System, Religion, The Press, Publishers, Broadcasting & Communications (Telecommunications, Radio, Television), Finance (Central Bank, State Banks, Development Banks, Commercial Banks, Foreign Banks, Banking Associations, Stock Exchange, Insurance), Trade & Industry (Government Agencies, Development Organizations, Chambers of Commerce, Industrial & Trade Associations, Employers' Associations, Major Companies, Utilities, Trade Unions), Transport (Railways, Roads, Shipping, Civil Aviation), Tourism, Defense, Education.
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean (United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean)
Ref HA 931 .A58
provides social, economic and environmental statistics