Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer Resources

Anita Bryant & Repeal of Dade County Ordinance, 1977

"In 1977 Anita Bryant led a crusade to repeal a Dade County ordinance that gave certain equal rights to homosexuals. It was repealed by the voters." Miami Bibliography, p.101

"Anita Bryant Brigade (1977)" in Left Out: The Politics of Exclusion: Essays, 1964-1999 by Martin Duberman, 1999
General Collection JA 75.7.D76 1999

"Anita Bryant on the March: The Lessons of Dade County." Ms., September 1977, p.75+
General Collection HQ 1101.M55

The Anita Bryant Story: The Survival of Our Nation's Families & the Threat of Militant Homosexuality by Anita Bryant, 1977
General Collection HQ 76.8.U5 B78

At Any Cost by Anita Bryant & Bob Green, 1978
General Collection BR 115.H6 B79 1978

"Battle over Gay Rights." Newsweek, June 6, 1977, p.16+
"A 'No' to the Gays." Newsweek, June 20, 1977, p.27+
LexisNexis Academic (text only)
Microfilm AP 2.N6772 (full article)

CBS News Index provides the full-text transcripts of CBS news television broadcasts from 1975-1986.
Reference AP 2.C372
Microfiche AP 2.C372

See the 1977 & 1978 listings for:

  • "Bryant, Anita"
  • "Dade County, Florida"
  • "Homosexuality"

"Gay Rights Showdown in Miami." Time, June 13, 1977, p.20
Microfilm AP 2.T37

"Save Our Children: Anita Bryant & the First Conservative Backlash, 1977-1978" in Gay & Lesbian Educators: Personal Freedoms, Public Constraints by Karen M. Harbeck, 1977
General Collection LC 192.6.H37 1997

"A Soldier in God's Army: Anita Bryant, Jerry Falwell, & the Rise of Evangelical Politics" in The Decency Wars: The Campaign to Cleanse American Culture by Frederick S. Lane, 2006
General Collection HN 59.2.L37 2006

"Why Bother with Gay Rights?" Humanist, Sept/Oct 1977, pp.34-37
General Collection B 821.A1 H8