Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

UCF Statistics & History

Special Collections and University Archives

Historical information about UCF's programs, faculty, staff and students may be found in the UCF Library's Special Collections and Archives on the 5th floor.

University History

University Publications

  • News
  • Publications on or for Students
  • Reports and Directories
  • Theses and Dissertations

Records Collections in the University Archives

  • University History Collections
  • University Sports
  • Photographs, Audio and Visual Materials
  • University Presidents' Records
  • University Offices, Services and Programs
  • University Organizations

Microfilm copies of some Archives materials

See also the History of UCF pages of this guide

University History Collections in the Archives

University History Collections

25th Anniversary Events Records, 1987-1989. -- In 1988 the University of Central Florida celebrated the 25th anniversary of its founding in 1963. This collection contains documents, correspondence, invitations, and programs from the events held to celebrate the university's anniversary. Finding Aid

History of the University Seal, 1966-1968. -- The collection contains documents, designs and examples relating to the history and development of the official seal of the University of Central Florida, formerly known as Florida Technological University. The materials discuss the design and emblems of other colleges and universities, as well as suggestions for school colors. Other items include numerous designs and layouts, staff opinion poll results, and examples of various seals used in state and local governments and business. Finding Aid

Mary Monroe Collection on UCF Theatre, 1973-1976. -- Alumna, Mary Monroe created these scrapbooks and collected materials relating to the university theatre department in the mid 1970's.

News and Information Collection, 1968-2005. -- The News and Information Collection contains materials regarding the University of Central Florida press releases and other University news related information. The collection is an alphabetical subject file containing the collected materials of the News and Information Office. Topics include information on UCF departments, organizations, events and building projects. Folders primarily contain information used for research to develop press releases and contacts with the media. Finding Aid

Walter Taylor Collection on UCF Campus History, 1972-1987. -- Videos showing how campus looked in 1987 with a few documents from the early 1970's.

University Memorabilia, 1965-ongoing. -- Memorabilia and artifacts collected or given to the University President include booklets, glasses, boxes, ashtrays, coffee cups, awards, plaques, and other items. Highlights include a street sign for UCF Blvd, UCF posters, and a handmade tapestry in the shape of the UCF Pegasus Seal given to Millican.

University Publications Collection, 1962-2006. -- University publications include reports, planning documents, budgets, financial statements, audits, self studies, proposals, directories, feasibility studies and handbooks published by the University of Central Florida, its colleges, departments, centers, institutes, offices and organizations. This collection also holds materials published by other organizations, which affect the university, such as, the State of Florida, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the National Collegiate Athletics Association. Finding Aid

University Scrapbooks Collection, 1960-2009. -- These materials were collected by various individuals as a way to chronicle the history of the University of Central Florida since its creation as Florida Technological University. The collection is divided into four series to delineate between general University history and organizational history. The vast majority of this collection is made up of news articles cut from local newspapers, however there are other materials such as office notes, pictures, brochures, and pamphlets. A microfilm copy of Scrapbooks, v.1-12 in Series I containing news clippings about the University from 1968-1985 is located in Media Services under call number LD1772.F9 A6829. Finding Aid

University Self Study, 1973. -- A Self Study conducted by each department of FTU in 1973.

Vertical File, 1970-current. -- An alphabetical subject file of collected materials. Topics include UCF departments, organizations, events, teams, and individuals as well as information on Orlando, local history, book arts, printing and typography, and artists in the Bryant collection. Files generally contain materials such as pamphlets, brochures, memos, publications, newsletters, clippings, photographs, and many other document types. Finding Aid