Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

English & Literature

American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

American Culture Series (1493-1951)

  • Microfilm E 169.1 .A47
  • 643 reels
  • 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include

  • Art & Architecture (274 titles)
  • History (1,574 titles)
  • Literature & Languages (903 titles)
  • Music (45 titles)
  • Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
  • Economics (578 titles)
  • Education (135 titles)
  • Journalism (58 titles)
  • Politics & Law (311 titles)
  • Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
  • Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
  • Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

The UCF Library has the digital collection, but does not have the microfilm version based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time"
Reference Z 1201.S2 1961

Women Writers Project (1526-1850)

Gerritsen Collection of Women's History (1543-1945)

  • Microfilm/Microfiche HQ 1121 .G47
  • 2 volume guide -- Reference HQ 1121 .G47

International coverage. Includes 4,311 monographs and 265 serials on 17,500 microfiche and 241 reels of microfilm.

Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans (1639-1800)

"Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable."

The UCF Library does not have the microform collection, but does have the various print bibliographies and online access to the Evans portion:

  • American Bibliography (Evans, 1639-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92
  • Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography (Bristol, 1646-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92334
  • American Bibliography (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819) -- Reference Z 1215 .S48
  • American Imprints (Shoemaker, 1820-1846) -- Reference Z 1215 .S5

See also: American Culture Series and PCMI Library Collection.