Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

NUR 3165 - Nursing Research: 1. Finding the full text

This Libguide is designed to help UCF Nursing students enrolled in NUR3165 identify, understand, and effectively use relevant electronic sources, including eBooks and article databases.

Finding Full Text Articles

There are two situations when you may be looking for full-text articles:

  1. when you have a citation and want to find the article itself, and
  2. when you have a topic and you’re searching the databases for full-text articles.

Citation Searching

If you have a citation (author, journal/magazine title, year, etc.), there are several ways to determine if UCF provides access to the full-text of the article. The availability of the full-text of electronic articles is constantly changing, so try a number of these different methods of checking before deciding to use Interlibrary Loan or giving up. See the section of this module on Interlibrary Loan for information about ordering an electronic copy of the article from another library.

Check the UCF Online Journal Subscriptions

1) From the UCF Library Home Page, click on My Account http://library.ucf.edu/my-account/. Choose Off-Campus Access and log in with your NID and password.

2) Click the blue “View Online Journals” button.

3) Enter the title of a specific journal (i.e., Journal of Nursing Management) and click Go to see if it is available electronically.

4) Click on the title of the journal. On the next screen, Options for Getting the Full Text, you will see a list of databases that may provide the full text of your article (i.e., Wiley FLVC Custom Collection). Click on the link to go to the provider website. Browse by date and follow the year, volume, issue to the specific pages. Scroll the table of contents of the journal for the title of your article.

To see all available online journals, click on Online Journals and choose a letter to browse journal titles. 

Check the UCF Library Catalog

From the UCF Library Home Page, use the Basic Search box.

Type in the journal name.

From the pull-down menu, select Journal Title, and click on Search.

If found, look at the record to see if an electronic version is available and click on the hypertext link. If the source of the full-text article requires it, you must be connected directly to UCF or through EZProxy first for the hypertext link to work (see section of this module on Remote Access). 

Check the Journal’s Internet Web Site

A publisher will sometimes provide full-text to a journal or to selected articles. UCF may also have full-text privileges from a journal’s web site and the information has not yet been entered into the catalog or online journal subscription list.

Use an Internet search engine (e.g., Google, Yahoo or Bing) to search for the journal title or the complete citation. 

Database Searching

Library databases are organized collections of information that the library pays for and that can be accessed online. You must be connected directly to UCF or signed in to the library to search a database.

When you are searching databases for a topic, and want to find articles available electronically in full-text, there are a number of features you might want to investigate that are part of the UCF Library’s web page or provided by databases.

From the UCF Library page click on Articles and Databases. You can access the databases either alphabetically or by subject. If you are not sure which databases would be the most useful for your subject, choose the subject guide.

Databases often provide options to limit your search. See the section of the module on Search Strategies. Limiting your search to “full-text only” is never recommended. The full text of many articles will be available to you by using the "Get Full Text" icon. Limiting your search to “full-text only” will, ironically, eliminate many articles available online.

Sometimes you can link to full-text articles within the database. Click on any links that say HTML full-text or PDF full-text. If you do not see a full-text option, click on the "Get Full Text" icon.

The “Full Text” icon is a bridge from the database you are in to other resources that the UCF Library buys that contain full-text articles. When you click on this icon, you are linking to any other resources the library buys that provide the full-text of the article of interest. Please note that the “Get Full Text” icon does not guarantee that full-text is available; it simply means that the option to search for full-text is available. Also, when you limit a search to “full-text only” in a database, you will be excluding all full-text articles available in other UCF Library databases. Hence, the warning: Never limit your search to “full-text only”! Use the “Get Full Text” to find the full text!

Get Full Text

If you are in a database, look for the PDF or Linked Full Text options to get the article. If these links are not available, click on the Full Text icon . The library buys online access to thousands of journals. The Full Text icon links you to the full text if it is available. 

 

If no full text links are available, you should see a link to Additional Options that will lead to a link for Interlibrary Loan. There is no need to search the Library Catalog for a paper copy. Click on Interlibrary Loan, log in, and submit a request for the article.