Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

NUR 3165 - Nursing Research: 4. Citing from EbscoHOST databases

This Libguide is designed to help UCF Nursing students enrolled in NUR3165 identify, understand, and effectively use relevant electronic sources, including eBooks and article databases.

How to cite from CINAHL and other EbscoHOST databases

Cinahl and other EbscoHOST databases (such as Medline, PsycInfo, and Academic Search Premier) have a feature that provides article citations.

To use the Citing feature for a single article:

1. Click on the article title in the results list to go to the article record

2. Click on "Cite" in the right hand side menu   

3. A window will appear with references that you can copy and paste into other applications:

Important: Keep in mind that database generated citations are not always 100% correct, so be sure to double check with the APA manual and your instructor.

For example, URLs and database information (such as "Retrieved from CINAHL Database" or "Retrieved from EBSCOhost" or "Retrieved from http://ezproxy.net.ucf.edu/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com") are not necessary for APA (6th ed.) for journal articles found in subscription databases like CINAHL. (Note: This does not apply to regular websites, for which you still would need the list the URL.).

Also, it is not necessary ( for APA format) to include the month for scholarly journal articles which are paginated by volume and issue. Again, database generated citations are not always perfect, so be sure to double check them.