Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Philosophy

This research guide identifies materials for basic and advanced research in philosophy. It lists a variety of sources, including databases, reference works, and Internet sites useful for the study of philosophy.

Basic Subject Bibliographies

Use the following bibliographies to identify other resources in philosophy that may be in the UCF Libraries' collections.

Bibliography of Philosophical Bibliographies
Main Library General Collection B 53 .G8 1977
International coverage of bibliographies from 1450 to 1974. Divided into two sections: "Bibliographies of Individual Philosophers" and "Subject Bibliographies."

The Philosopher's Guide to Sources, Research Tools, Professional Life and Related Fields
Main Library General Collection B 54 .D4 1980
Now rather dated, but still useful. The philosophy section is organized by historical period, philosophical sub-fields (e.g., "Aesthetics"), philosophical schools, and geographical areas.

Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Main Library Reference B 72 .B97 1997
An annotated guide to reference works, electronic resources, core journals, and research centers and associations related to philosophy. Emphasizes English-language works.

Style Manuals

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
Main Library Ready Reference  Z 253 .U69 2010
A standard work serving as a "how to" book for both authors and publishers. Offers practical information and advice on all aspects of manuscript preparation and copyediting.
 
http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~phildept/files/GuidetoPhilosophicalWriting.pdf
Published by the Writing Center at Harvard, provides helpful chapters on purpose, audience, argumentation, narrative, and style.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 8th ed.
Main Library Ready Reference LB 2369 .T8 2013
Popularly known as "Turabian."  A simplified version of The Chicago Manual of Style (above) intended for use by undergraduates. Presents two basic documentation systems, notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and parenthetical citations-reference list style (or reference list style). Sample citations based on the 8th edition are available at http://www.press.uchicago.edu/books/turabian/turabian_citationguide.html.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.
Main Library Ready Reference LB 2369 .G53 2009
"...Provides an authoritative account of MLA [Modern Language Association] documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives" (publisher's description).

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
Main Library Ready Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2010
"In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, ...offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations" (publisher's description).

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University hosts a website that provides sample citations for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles; click on the "Research and Citation" link on the left sidebar. 

Writing About Philosophy: A Student's Guide to Writing Philosophy Essays
Main Library General Collection B 52.7 .V38 2006
Chapters on how to read an argument, rules of style and content for philosophical writing, defending a thesis in an argumentative essay, and avoiding fallacious reasoning.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management programs help researchers:

> Collect citations from online sources, including library catalogs and electronic databases;

> Organize references by subject, project, author, or other schemes; and 

> Create bibliographies formatted according to MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian or other widely used citation styles.

The UCF Libraries make available free of charge to current students, faculty, and staff two of the most commonly used citation management programs, RefWorks and EndNote.

There are also several free, open-source citation management programs, chief among them Zotero and Mendeley.