Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Philosophy

This research guide identifies materials for basic and advanced research in philosophy. It lists a variety of sources, including databases, reference works, and Internet sites useful for the study of philosophy.

Databases and Indexes

Use the following sources to find periodical articles about a particular philosophical concept, movement, or philosopher. In some instances, books, essays in books, and current book reviews also may be found in these sources.

Best Bets

Databases and Indexes

Use the following sources to find periodical articles about a particular philosophical concept, movement, or philosopher. In some instances, books, essays in books, and current book reviews also may be found in these sources.

Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 scholarly journals, and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals. A number of philosophy journals are covered, such as Bioethics, Noûs, Philosophy and Phenomenological Research, and Philosophy Today.

Indexes articles, books, and book reviews from more than 1,100 art and humanities journals. This database's primary use is to track citations to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Reference Search" feature.

Contains over 1.75 million bibliographic records on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social and philosophical issues.

Bibliography of Bioethics (1975-2009)
Main Library General Collection R 724 .W34
Annual index containing approximately 6,000 new citations to documents in the bioethics area. Ceased publication in 2009. During the 34 years it was published, provided the most comprehensive access to literature about the ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of health care and biomedical research. An online version of the Bibliography is available via ETHXWeb at Georgetown University. Many bioethics articles published since 2009 can be located in MEDLINE (Subject Subset delimiter: "Bioethics") or PubMed.

ERIC (1966+)
This is the primary database in the field of education and should be consulted for philosophy of education topics. It indexes scholarly journals as well as ERIC documents.

Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities.

FRANCIS (1984+)
Provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences, including philosophy. This database is a continuation of the older print index Bulletin signalétique.
 
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language periodicals dealing with the humanities: folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and classical studies.

An online database listing journal articles, books, and book reviews on all aspects of medieval and Renaissance studies.

Full text of core research journals (including almost 1,500 titles in philosophy) from the year of their inception, many dating back to the late 1800s and early 1900s. JSTOR typically does NOT cover the last three to five years of journals.

Philosopher's Index (1940+)
The most important abstracting and indexing source for all aspects of philosophy. Indexes journals and books in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Includes book reviews.

Provides online access to articles in over 200 journals in the arts and humanities, sciences, and mathematics, including a number in philosophy. Usually, this database does not include the full run of a journal title.

Major source for abstracts of sociological literature. Useful for coverage of topics related to philosophy.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables current UCF students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials — such as periodical articles — from other libraries that are not available at the UCF Libraries.

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.