Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Communication: Articles and Essays

Databases and Indexes

Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about communication topics. In some instances, books, essays in books, and current book reviews also may be found in these sources.
Contains many full-text magazine and journal articles on topics relating to business and management topics. Good source for articles on organizational and business communication and on the mass media industry.
Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 scholarly journals, and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals. A number of communication journals are covered.
Indexes and abstracts over 1,500 publications in business, economics, management, and related areas. Full text for many articles published since 1990.
Communication Abstracts
Main Library General Collection HM 258 .C64 (1978-2004)
Provides comprehensive coverage of communication-related information published in articles, books, and reports, covering such broad topics as communications processes, interpersonal communications, public relations, advertising, journalism and news media, and communications theory and research.
Offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
Formerly known as Compendex. A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research covering all engineering disciplines. Especially useful for the technical and scientific aspects of communication technology.
Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities.
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language periodicals dealing with the humanities: folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and classical studies.
LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies)
An excellent source for full-text newspapers, press releases, and business publications.
 Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Online version (1973-2004)
Main Library General Collection P 1 .L364 (1967-72)
Provides citations to scholarly journal articles on a wide range of communication topics, such as interpersonal behavior and communication and nonverbal communication.
Includes bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, proceedings, and bibliographies. Useful for research in communication theory and rhetoric.
The most important database for all aspects of philosophy. Indexes journals and books in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Includes citations to book reviews. Useful for locating articles on communication theory and ethics.
Contains peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE Publications in several fields, including communication studies. Currently there are 16 titles dealing with such topics as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, media studies, organizational communication, rhetoric, and literacy.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Because the information storred about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., its bibliography or works cited list), one can search the indexes for articles that cite a known author or work.
Abstracts journal articles, books, and book chapters in sociology and related disciplines. Communication-related coverage includes interpersonal, small group, and organizational communication, and mass media and society.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables current UCF students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials — such as periodical articles — from other libraries that are not available at the UCF Libraries.

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.