Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Communication: Key Journals

Core Communication Journals

The following selected core periodicals are devoted exclusively to communication topics. Please note, however, that many other periodicals not listed here will contain pertinent articles; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index.

Advertising Age
Main Library Microfilm HF 5801 .A276 (1930-1987)
Main Library Microfiche HF 5801 .A276 (1988+)
This weekly trade publication contains enormous amounts of fascinating and useful data, with feature articles on people, issues, advertising agencies, and ad campaigns.

American Journalism Review: AJR
Online versions
Main Library General Collection PN 4700 .W38 (1993-2007/2008)
Contains news items, profiles on journalists, and articles on how contemporary issues are reported.

Broadcasting & Cable
Main Library Microfiche TK 6540 .B85 (1993+)
The emphasis of this industry publication is on corporate activity and the changing state of governmental regulation as it concerns television, cable, radio, and other forms of electronic mass communication.

Columbia Journalism Review
Main Library Microfilm PN 4700 .C64 (1962/63-1969/71)
Main Library General Collection PN 4700 .C64 (1969/71-1999/2000; 2002/03-2007)
Feature stories cover a wide range of topics relating to news gathering and reporting. The "Darts and Laurels" section critiques local, national, and international journalism.

Communication Arts
Main Library General Collection NC 997 .A1 C2 (1972/73+)
A trade publication for commercial artists, with articles on design issues, copyright and legal issues, and new graphic arts technology.
Communication Quarterly
Main Library Microfilm PN 4071 .T61 (1976-2002)
Contains scholarly research covering communication in the broadest sense; recent issues have included articles on avoidance in friendships, UFO beliefs and rumors, and television news.

Communication Research
Main Library Microfilm P 91 .C56 (1974-79)
Main Library General Collection P 91 .C56 (1977-78, 1980-82, 1984-1999)
Publishes scholarly articles that explore the processes, antecedents, and consequences of communication in a broad range of societal systems, including mass media, interpersonal communication, health communication, new technology, organizational communication, intercultural communication, and family communication.

A peer-reviewed journal that addresses the creative, social, political and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies. Topics include: video games, mobile media/content, Internet studies, digital/new media art, virtual reality, new media products, cinema, and gender and technology.
A publication of the National Communication Association, this periodical offers articles that take an interpretive approach to mass communications theory and research. Topics include mass-media criticism, mass communication organizations, and the relationship between culture and the mass media.

Discourse and Society
A leading international peer-reviewed journal whose major aim is to publish outstanding research at the boundaries of discourse analysis and the social sciences.
Editor & Publisher
Main Library Microfilm PN 4700 .E4 (1901-1967)
Main Library General Collection PN 4700 .E4 (1968-1982)
Main Library Microfiche PN 4700 .E4 (1983-2007)
Also known as E&P, covers all aspects of the newspaper business. Regular sections are devoted to syndicates and news services, technological developments, and marketing and sales.
Harvard International Journal of Press/Politics
Main Library General Collection PN 4751 .H37 (1996-2004)
Produced by the Kennedy School of Government, this journal focuses on the interaction of the press, politics, and public policymaking, and is targeted at researchers and practitioners in the fields of journalism and broadcasting.
Journal of Advertising
Main Library Microfilm HF 5801 .J59 (1972-2002)
A scholarly journal, with recent articles on music and lyrics in commercials and children and advertising.
Journal of Advertising Research
Main Library General Collection HF 5801 .J6 (1960-1981; 2004-2007)
Main Library Microfilm HF 5801 .J6 (1982-2002)
While scholarly in nature, this journal's editorial board includes both academicians and professionals in the field.
Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
Main Library Microfilm PN 1991 .J6 (1985-1989)
Main Library General Collection PN 1991 .J6 (1990-96)
Articles in recent issues have dealt with the use of the Internet by political campaigns, gender-differentiated production features in toy commercials, and the impact of motivation and parasocial interaction on talk radio listening.
Journal of Communication
Main Library General Collection P 90 .J6 (1951-84, 1988-96)
Main Library Microfilm P 90 .J6 (1985-1987)
An interdisciplinary journal, published by the International Communication Association, concentrating on communication theory and research. Recent issues have included scholarly articles on country music videos, public opinion polling, body image and personal interaction, and broadcast deregulation.
A quarterly scholarly journal exploring the ethical and moral issues in the field of mass communication.
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .J66 (1978/80-2007)
Articles concentrate on commercial television and film: stars, directors, producers, studios, networks, genres, audience, etc.
An international journal that provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change. Recent articles have addressed such topics as the digital divide, digital storytelling, and teenagers' use of cell phones.
The News Media & the Law
Main Library General Collection KF 2750 .A15 N48 (1986-2011)
Aims to keep reporters and editors abreast of the latest changes in case law and legislation dealing with press freedoms, rights, and responsibilities.
News Photographer
Main Library General Collection TR 820 .N48 (1979-1984; 1986+)
Published by the National Press Photographers Association, this magazine features articles on professional issues, profiles of individual photographers, and photos of the month.
Newspaper Research Journal
Main Library General Collection PN 4700 .N525 (1985+)
According to this journal, its purpose is "to provide a bridge between journalism scholars and newspaper professionals and a forum for practical research on and discussion of issues of interest to both."
Nieman Reports
Main Library General Collection PN 4700 .N57 (1971-2007)
Articles in this journal consider the wider economic, political, social, and technological issues affecting the American press.
Quarterly Journal of Speech
Main Library General Collection PN 4071 .Q3 (1928-1996)
Publishes scholarly articles on rhetoric, especially those that aid understanding of discourse practices.

Television Quarterly
Main Library Microfilm PN 1992 .T45 (1962-66)
Main Library General Collection PN 1992 .T45 (1967-1978; 1979-2004)
A publication of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, with two- to six-page articles on such topics as prime time's disabled images, TV and politics, and the commercialization of public broadcasting.

Main Library Microfilm PN 2000 .V3 (1964-2008, 2009-12)
Main Library Microfiche PN 2000 .V3 (2009-10)
Contains extensive information on the entertainment business, especially film, television, and theatre. Many reviews of theatre, film, and television.

An interdisciplinary scholarly bringing together articles from a range of subjects, including anthropology, communication studies, discourse studies and semiotics, media and cultural studies, sociology, and the disciplines dealing with history, theory and practice of visual design. Includes articles on still and moving images; graphic design and typography; visual phenomena such as fashion, professional vision, posture and interaction; the built and landscaped environment; and the role of the visual in relation to language, music, sound and action.

Western Journal of Communication
Main Library General Collection PN 4071 .W45 (1975-2007)
Publishes scholarly articles in all areas of communication — rhetorical and communication theory, interpersonal communication, public address, group communication, and free speech.

Journal Locations

The vast majority of the UCF Libraries' journals are available full-text online. Sometimes, however, the complete run of back issues of journals will not be online, but may nonetheless be available in the Libraries. The location in the Main Library, Orlando, of the following formats of back issues, as well the current issues of some journal titles, are indicated below:

> Bound Volumes: shelved by call number in General Collection.

> Microfilm/Microfiche Volumes: shelved in cabinets by call number on 3d Floor.

> Current Issues: shelved by title on 3d Floor.

Scholarly or "Peer-Reviewed" Articles

Many journal databases have the capability to limit searches so that only scholarly or "peer-reviewed" articles are in the results list. Many instructors specify that only these types of articles (as opposed to articles that appear in popular magazines) may be used in students' papers and presentations. Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles have the following characteristics:

> Reviewed by a panel of experts before they are accepted for publication

> Written by a scholar or specialist in the field

> Contain footnotes and/or references

> Frequently contain diagrams and charts but few glossy pictures

> Report on original research or experimentation

> Published by professional associations

> Employ terminology associated with the discipline

Journal Directories

For a comprehensive directory of communication and mass media journals, consult UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory, which lists periodicals from many countries, arranged by category or subject focus. Entries usually include title, subtitle, sponsoring organization or publisher, editorial emphasis, date of origin, frequency, price, circulation, editors, place of publication, and where the title is indexed or abstracted.

For a list of open access journals in communication, use the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). DOAJ contains a list of approximately 1,300 journals that are freely available on the Internet. It aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.