Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Communication: Statistics

  Basic Statistical Sources

Your argument may need statistics for emphasis and to help make your case. The following sources are good starting points.
The Census Bureau's data delivery system for the Decennial Census, 1990-2000; the American Community Survey, 2000-2007; and the Economic Census. Decennial census data on race, sex, household relationship, group quarters, and owner v. renter occupied housing units is available from American FactFinder for all geographic levels: nation, state, MSA, county, place, MCD, tract, block group, block, three-digit zip, five digit-zip, and Congressional District. Socioeconomic data (sample data) is available for all but block geographic levels.
Florida Statistical Abstract
Main Library Ready Reference HA 311 .F55
Provides a comprehensive collection of statistics on social, political, and economic data of the state.
IIS: Index to International Statistics
Main Library Government Information Reference HA 155 .I5
Indexes and abstracts English language statistical publications of the world's major intergovernmental organizations, such as the United Nations, the European Union, and the Organization of American States. Indexed by subject, name, geographic area, category (age, commodity, country, company, industry, sex), issuing source, title, and publication number. Accompanied by the IIS Microfiche Library (available in Main Library Government Information), which includes approximately 90 percent all source data indexed.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical)
An online database that provides over 30,000 statistical tables on various United States and international statistics. Includes social, political, and economic data. Includes ASI: American Statistics Index (1974+), SRI: Statistical Reference Index (1980+), and IIS: Index to International Statistics(1983+).
A database that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Create a SimplyMap account if you wish to save your work access other user account features, or click "Create Temporary Account" to use the service without registering.
From the database: " online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change."
SRI: Statistical Reference Index
Main Library Government Information Reference HA 155 .S72
Indexes and abstracts national and state data from sources other than those of the U.S. federal government. Includes statistics on business, industry,finance, socio-economic conditions, government and politics, the environment, and population. Abstracts are grouped by information source (e.g., business organizations, commercial publishers, state governments). Indexed by subject and name; geographic, economic, and demographic categories; issuing source; and title. Accompanied by the SRI Microfiche Library (available in Main Library Government Information), which includes virtually all source data indexed.

 Statistical Abstract of the United States
Main Library Ready Reference HA 202 [year]
The first place to check for statistics on the United States. Updated annually, it lists social, political, economic, and demographic data.

Statistics Sources
Main Library Ready Reference HA 36 .S84
Subtitle: "A Subject Guide to Data on industrial, Business, Social, Educational, Financial, and Other Topics for the United States and Internationally." Arranged by alphabetic subject list; sources of statistical information are arranged alphabetically by issuing organization within each subject category. Two appendixes: "Source Publications" and "Sources of Nonpublished Statistical Data."

Additional Statistical Information

For further statistical information, consult the UCF Libraries Research Guide, Statistics, Demographics and Census.