Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Contemporary Issues: Articles and Essays

Databases and Indexes

Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about your topic. You may narrow your search by using your topic in combination with keywords such as "opinion," "editorial" or "editorials," "arguments," "against" "pro or pros," "con or cons," "statistics," etc.
 
Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers), and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals.
 
Alternative Press Index
Main Library Reference AI 3 .A27 (1969+)
A comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information, as it indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
 
Provides indexed and abstracted references, many with accompanying full-text periodical articles, from about 12,000 journals.
 
Contains articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Database is in both English and Spanish.
 
Indexes over 4,000 periodical titles in a wide variety of disciplines including the social sciences, humanities, science and technology, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, and newswires. Includes many full-text articles.
 
GenderWatch (1970+)
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Supports programs in various social science subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports.
 
LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies)
An excellent source for full-text newspapers, press releases, and television and radio broadcast transcripts.
 
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
 
Indexes and abstracts articles in over 300 English-language periodicals covering a wide variety of fields. Preceded by the print index Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1901+).
 
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Main Library General Collection AI 3 .R48 (1901+)
Indexes articles primarily by topic in over 300 English-language periodicals covering a wide variety of fields. Continued by the electronic database Readers' Guide Full Text (1983+).
 
WilsonWeb [also known as OmniFile] (coverage varies)
Provides indexed and abstracted references, many with accompanying full-text periodical articles, from about 1,400 English-language periodicals in science, humanities, education, and business.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables current UCF students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials — such as periodical articles — from other libraries that are not available at the UCF Libraries.

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.