Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Science & Engineering -- Government Resources: Databases

Government Databases

Although there are free versions for many of the government databases, the versions available through the UCF Libraries' commercial subscriptions are sometimes recommended below because they may provide links to the full text of articles in subscription databases.

Agriculture

AGRICOLA (U.S. National Agricultural Library)
- Online version (recommended; 1970+)
- Online version

"AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences."

Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON)

Astronomy & Physics

DTIC's Scientific & Technical Resources

DTIC's Scientific & Technical Resources "includes areas normally associated with Defense research; however, since DoD's interests are widespread, the collection also contains information relating to:

  • Biological and Medical Sciences
  • Environmental Pollution and Control
  • Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • DoD Directives and Instructions
  • Budget estimates
  • Research Development Descriptive Summaries (RDDS)
  • Conference and Symposia Proceedings
  • Patents and patent applications"

DTIC Online

  • "offers an integrated service with easy and convenient access to information from defense and federal Web sites.
  • searches publicly accessible information sources.
  • includes report citations and many full-text reports.
  • Some of the information resources you will find within DTIC Online are:
    • Technical Reports database
    • DoD Wide Search - searches a wide collection of defense Web sites in multiple domains
    • Federal Government Search - searches a wide collection of federal government scientific and technical Web sites in multiple domains"

Energy

Environment

NSCEP (National Service Center for Environmental Publications) provides access to thousands of full-text, online EPA publications.

OSHA/EPA Occupational Chemical Database "compiles information from several government agencies and organizations. Available database reports include: "Physical Properties," "Exposure Guidelines," "NIOSH Pocket Guide," and "Emergency Response Information," including the DOT Emergency Response Guide."

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) and DARTS

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) -- "the preeminent resource for accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources.
Additionally, information is available from international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries."
- Online version (recommended; 1964+)
- Online version (1964+)

DARTS - Depository Access to Reports, Technical & Scientific provides full-text access to approximately 240,000 publications from 1964-2000.

  • "For a document to be available through the pilot program, it must be stored in image format.
  • This includes documents from the Department of Energy (DOE), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC), and NTIS.
  • The documents in the NTIS collection with the PB accession number prefix are the products of many different Federal agencies and include both agency and contract studies.
  • Most reports from 1997-2000 are scanned into the image system.
  • Documents requiring NTIS to pay a copyright royalty or other compensation to the sponsoring organization are not included."

As a federal depository library, the UCF Library participated in the DARTS pilot program providing downloads of some NTIS documents.

Government Reports Announcements & Index (1955-1996) -- this print index includes citations for NTIS documents

  • online version (1955-1958)
  • U.S. Documents C 51.9/3: (v.24-v.39, Jul. 1955-1964; U.S. Government Research Reports)
  • U.S. Documents C 51.9/3: (v.40-v.71, no.5, 1965-Mar. 1971; U.S. Government Research & Development Reports)
  • U.S. Documents C 51.9/3: (v.71, no. 6-v.75, no.6, Mar. 1971-Mar. 1975; Government Reports Announcements)
  • U.S. Documents C 51.9/3: (v.71, no.7-v.96, Apr. 1971-1996; Government Reports Announcements & Index)
  • U.S. Documents C 51.9/4: (1975-1994; Government Reports Annual Index)

Science Accelerator

Science Accelerator (U.S. Dept of Energy) "empowers you to search, via a single query, important information resources of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE's) scientific and technical information.

  • Electronic full-text research reports (including DOE scientific and technical information)
  • Energy citations (millions of them, going back to the Manhattan Project era)
  • Ongoing research project summaries (what's happening right now in DOE science research)
  • Wonderful DOE accomplishments in science
  • E-prints (journal article pre-publication drafts, scholarly papers, and more)
  • Proceedings and papers from science conferences
  • More resources"

Science Conference Proceedings

Science Conference Proceedings (U.S. Dept of Energy) identifies "science and technology conference proceedings and conference papers from a number of authoritative sites (professional societies and national labs, largely) whose areas of interest in the physical sciences and technology intersect those of the Department of Energy. Proceedings and papers from scientific meetings can be found in these fields, among others:

  • particle physics
  • nuclear physics
  • chemistry
  • petroleum
  • aeronautics and astronautics
  • meteorology
  • engineering
  • computer science
  • electric power
  • fossil fuels."

WorldwideScience.org

WorldWideScience.org - The Global Science Gateway "is a global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of global science sources."
NOTE: Before you pay to purchase an article or report identified by WorldWideScience.org, check with the UCF Libraries regarding whether or not it is available through a library subscription or through Interlibrary Loan.