Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Science & Engineering -- Government Resources: Technical Reports

Government Databases

Although there are free versions for many of the government databases, the versions available through the UCF Libraries' commercial subscriptions are sometimes recommended below because they may provide links to the full text of articles in subscription databases.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

DTIC Public Technical Reports provides unclassified, unlimited citations to documents added into DTIC from late December 1974 to present. Includes some full-text documents.

Department of Energy (DOE)

See also Science Accelerator

Information Bridge: DOE Scientific & Technical Information "provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format. The Information Bridge contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission."

Energy Citations Database (ECD) "provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 221,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents."

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

NSCEP/NEPIS - EPA's Gateway to Free Digital & Paper Publications - "This site is EPA's premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 35,000 digital titles, free of charge! EPA’s print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and EPA's digital publications are stored in the National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database! You can search and retrieve, download, print and/or order only EPA publications from this site."

Mote Marine Laboratory

Mote Technical Reports - "The Arthur Vining Davis Library at Mote Marine Laboratory is a research library whose collections, resources and services are developed and maintained for the support of marine research and education."

National Aeronautics & Space Administration (NASA)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

NREL Publications - "Search the database for NREL-developed publications from 1977 to the present on subjects related to renewable energy and energy-efficient technologies. The database includes both technical and nontechnical publications."

TRAIL - Technical Report Archive & Image Library Search

TRAIL - Technical Report Archive and Image Library - logo


Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.

Keyword Search

Enter your search terms:

Transportation

TRIS (Transportation Research Board) - "The Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database is the largest online bibliographic database of transportation research. TRIS now contains more than 650,000 records of published research covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. TRIS is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies with sponsorship by state Departments of Transportation and the administrations of the U.S. Department of Transportation, and other sponsors of TRB’s core technical activities."

DOT On-Line Publications (U.S. Department of Transportation)

Wright Air Development Center

Contrails (Illinois Institute of Technology) - "Digital trails of technical literature formed in the wake of aerospace research." Includes technical reports from 1949-1987.

"Our goal is to help preserve and disseminate the technical history of the first century of powered human flight. To this end, we will pursue the digitization of any government published resources that contribute to this history, including technical reports published by the Wright Air Development Center, it's successors, and other agencies."

Other Technical Report Resources

Bibliographies & Technical Report Collections (Data & Analysis Center for Software) provides links for various DoD, commercial and academic resources.

EECS Technical Reports (University of California, Berkeley) provides an archive of Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences Department research. "Technical reports listed here include the EECS Technical Report series (started in October 2005), the CS Technical Report series (from 1982 to 2005), and the ERL Technical report series (from 1984 to 2005, plus selected titles from before 1984). Full text is included for the EECS and CS series, but not for the ERL series."

Technical Reports & Papers (Cornell University) makes available papers and technical reports from a variety of different disciplines: Computer Science (1968-present), Theory Center (1986-present), History and Theory of Machines & Mechanisms (2002-present), Library Papers & Preprints (2003-present), and Watershed Management (2004-present).

Technical Reports (University of Colorado at Boulder) provides links for Dept of Defense (DoD), Dept of Energy (DOE), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), U.S. Geological Survey, National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA), National Aeronautics & Space Administration (NASA), National Academy Press Reading Room, National Technical Information Service (NTIS), National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB), and Office of Technology Assessment (OTA).

Virtual Technical Reports Center (University of Maryland) - "The Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web.  This site  contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds."