Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Conflict, War and Terrorism: World War II

World War II -- Books

Browse the UCF Library Catalog for books

Call Number Subject
D 731 - 754 World War II (1939-1945)
D 755 - 755.8 Military operations. The war effort
D 756 - 763.5 Military operations. Western
D 764 - 766.7 Military operations. Eastern
D 766.8 - 766.99 Military operations. Africa
D 767 - 767.99 Military operations. Far East. Battle of the Pacific
D 768 - 768.9 Military operations. The Americas
D 769 - 769.9 Military operations. United States
D 770 - 779 Naval operations
D 780 - 784 Submarine operations
D 785 - 792 Aerial operations
D 793 - 797 Other operations. Medals. Registers
D 798 - 799 Press. Censorship. Publicity. Radio
D 800 - 802 Economic aspects. Alien enemies. Occupied territory
D 803 - 804.7 Atrocities. War crimes
D 805 - 805.6 Prisoners & prisons
D 806 - 809 Medical & sanitary services. Relief work
D 810.A-Z Other special topics, A-Z
D 811 - 811.5 Personal narratives & other accounts
D 812 - 821 Armistice. Peace
D 824 - 829 Reconstruction
D 830 - 838 Celebrations. Memorials. Monuments

World War II War Crimes Trials

World War II -- Web Resources

U.S. Army Center of Military History

Books & Research Materials, Organized by Time Periods:
  • General / Colonial Era
  • Revolutionary War /Early National Era
  • War of 1812 / Early 19th Century
  • Mexican War / Civil War
  • Late Nineteenth Century / War with Spain / Turn of the Century
  • World War I / The Interwar Years
  • World War II / Korean War
  • Vietnam / Cold War Years
  • Desert Shield/Storm / Contingency Operations
  • Global War on Terrorism
CMH Series & Collections:
  • American Forces in Action Series
  • Army Ground Forces Studies
  • Army Regulations
  • CMH Online Oral History Collections
  • Department of the Army Historical Summaries
  • Mexican War Commemorative Brochures
  • Korean War Commemorative Brochures
  • World War II Commemorative Brochures
  • U.S. Army in the Korean War Series
  • U.S. Army in World War II Series
  • U.S. Army in Vietnam
  • Vietnam Studies

Other Historical Resources

American Journey Primary Sources (conduct an advanced search for the following by "publication title")

American Memory (Library of Congress) -- The digital collections include:

  • Civil War - images, texts, maps, & band music
  • Diplomacy & Foreign Service - oral history, 1940-1990
  • Japanese-American Internment Photographs
  • Pearl Harbor & Public Reactions
  • September 11, 2001, & Public Reactions
  • Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
  • World War I - speeches, military newspapers, images, & maps
  • World War II - military situation maps

Boundary News Archive (International Boundaries Research Unit) -- "searchable archive of international boundary news, which contains over 10,000 boundary-related reports from a wide range of news sources around the world. Most reports are from the period when the Boundary & Security Bulletin was published (1991 to 2001) but additional reports have been added from 2006 onwards."

U.S. Coast Guard History (U.S. Coast Guard Historian's Office) provides articles, information and downloadable files.

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books (George Washington University) "provide online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more. Updated frequently, the Electronic Briefing Books represent just a small sample of the documents in our published and unpublished collections."

U.S. Congressional Serial Set - Armed Forces & Conflicts -- See additional information and availability on the Serial Set LibGuide.

Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)

Florida Department of Military Affairs -- Adjutant-General

Military Affairs -- Adjutant-General -- Biennial/Annual Reports

  • FL Documents MA1: (1890, 1895-1896, 1899-1900, 1903-1904, 1907, 1969-1996, 1998-2002)
  • includes some lists of names of Florida National Guard members