Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: 1490-1699

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

History Resource Center: U.S. (1492+)

"In addition to e-text, users may also view original page facsimiles of many of these documents by clicking the View Image button within a document"

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions (1492-1979)

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions is an annotated collection of the fundamental instruments recording the historical development of constitutional government in each state in the Union. For example, the Florida section includes the Treaty of Amity (1819); Act of March 3, 1821; territorial acts; and Florida Constitutions, 1838-1968.

  • General Collection KF 4530 .S94

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions, Second Series provides a substantial number of additional documents dealing with constitutional development, but not directly or exclusively relevant to a single state, starting with Privileges and Prerogatives granted to Christopher Columbus (1492) and ending with Bakke v. University of California Regents (June 28, 1979).

  • General Collection KF 4530 .S942

American Culture Series (1493-1951)

  • Microfilm E 169.1 .A47
  • 643 reels
  • 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include

  • Art & Architecture (274 titles)
  • History (1,574 titles)
  • Literature & Languages (903 titles)
  • Music (45 titles)
  • Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
  • Economics (578 titles)
  • Education (135 titles)
  • Journalism (58 titles)
  • Politics & Law (311 titles)
  • Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
  • Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
  • Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.

Annals of America (1493-1968)

  • Reference E 173 .A793
  • 21 volumes

Provides the history of America through letters, documents, speeches, etc - beginning with a letter home from Columbus in 1493 and ending with part of an article by Scott Buchanan, philosopher, educator, and writer on politics, published in the Center Magazine in 1968.

Album of American History (1493-1982)

  • Reference E 178.5 .A48
  • 7 volumes

"The intent to tell the history of America through pictures made at the time the history was being made."

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

The UCF Library has the digital collection, but does not have the microfilm version based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time"
Reference Z 1201.S2 1961

Women Writers Project (1526-1850)

Western Americana (1528-1951)

  • Microfiche (call number varies)
  • 990 titles on microfiche
  • 107-page guide -- Reference F591.W47 Guide

1,012 books and documents, primarily of the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, on the American West.

Search the UCF library catalog by the series title "Western Americana" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.

Gerritsen Collection of Women's History (1543-1945)

  • Microfilm/Microfiche HQ 1121 .G47
  • 2 volume guide -- Reference HQ 1121 .G47

International coverage. Includes 4,311 monographs and 265 serials on 17,500 microfiche and 241 reels of microfilm.

Catholic Church. Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas. Microfilm edition of the records of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, 1576-1803

  • Microfilm CD 3269 .A2 C32
  • 12 reels
  • 45-page guide -- Reference CD 3269 .A2 C32

Microfilm of manuscript collection in the University of Notre Dame Archives.

Select Charters and Other Documents Illustrative of American History, 1606-1775

  • General Collection E 173 .M131 1899

Contents: First Charter of Virginia -- Second Charter of Virginia -- Third Charter of Virginia -- Patent of the Council for New England -- Mayflower Compact -- Ordinance for Virginia -- Grant of Maine to Gorges and Mason -- First Charter of Massachusetts -- Charter of Privileges to Patroons -- Grant of New Hampshire -- Plymouth Patent -- Charter of Maryland -- Grant of New Hampshire and Massonia -- Fundamental Orders of Connecticut -- Grant of the Province of Maine -- Fundamental Articles of New Haven -- Massachusetts Body of Liberties -- Patent of Providence Plantations -- New England Confederation -- Government of New Haven -- Maryland Toleration Act -- Navigation Act -- First Navigation Act -- Charter of Connecticut -- Explanatory Navigation Act -- First Charter of Carolina -- Charter of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations -- Second Navigation Act -- Grant to the Duke of York -- Grant of New Jersey to Berkeley and Carteret -- New Jersey Concession and Agreement -- Second Charter of Carolina -- Fundamental Constitutions of Carolina -- Third Navigation Act -- Grant of New Jersey to Carteret -- Quintipartite Deed -- Concessions and Agreements of West New Jersey -- Charter of Pennsylvania -- Grant of East New Jersey -- Frame of Government of Pennsylvania -- Pennsylvania and Delaware Frame -- Second Charter of Massachusetts -- Navigation Act -- Pennsylvania Frame of Government -- Treaty of Ryswick -- Pennsylvania Charter of Privileges -- Treaty of Utrecht -- Explanatory Charter of Massachusetts -- Charter of Georgia -- Molasses Act -- Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle -- Albany Plan of Union -- Writ of Assistance -- Treaty of Paris -- Royal Proclamation Concerning America -- Sugar Act -- Stamp Act -- Quartering Act -- Resolutions of the Stamp Act Congress -- Declaratory act -- Act Suspending the New York Assembly -- Townshend Acts -- Act Establishing Customs Commissioners -- Revenue Act -- Tea Act -- Massachusetts Circular Letter -- Virginia Resolutions -- Boston Port Act -- Massachusetts Government Act -- Administration of Justice Act -- Quartering Act -- Declaration and Resolves of the First Continental Congress -- The Association -- Lord North's Conciliatory Resolution -- New England Restraining Act -- Declaration of the Causes and Necessity of Taking Up Arms -- Petition to the King -- Report on Lord North's Conciliatory Resolution -- Proclamation of Rebellion -- Act Prohibiting Trade and Intercourse with America.

Jesuit Missionaries (1610-1791)

Print volumes, included on this guide because of related content.

"The story of New France is also, in part, the story of much of New England, and of States whose shores are washed by the Great Lakes and the Mississippi River."

Iroquois Indians: a Documentary History of the Diplomacy of the Six Nations and Their League (1613-1921)

  • Microfilm E 99 .I7 I7
  • 50 reels
  • 718 page guide -- Reference E 99 .I7 I7

Virginia. General Assembly. House of Burgesses. Journals of the House of Burgesses, 1619-1776

  • Microfilm J 87 .V6
  • 4 reels
  • 147-page guide -- Reference J 87 .V6

Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans (1639-1800)

"Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable."

The UCF Library does not have the microform collection, but does have the various print bibliographies and online access to the Evans portion:

  • American Bibliography (Evans, 1639-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92
  • Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography (Bristol, 1646-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92334
  • American Bibliography (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819) -- Reference Z 1215 .S48
  • American Imprints (Shoemaker, 1820-1846) -- Reference Z 1215 .S5

See also: American Culture Series and PCMI Library Collection.

Draper Manuscripts (1650-1891)

  • Microfilm F 591 .F7
  • 123 reels
  • 464-page guide -- Reference F 591 .F7
  • reel list (Truman State University)

Manuscripts collected by Lyman Draper (1815-1891) chiefly on the history of the trans-Allegheny West. Occasionally referred to as the "Draper Papers."

English Literary Periodicals (1681-1914)

  • Microfilm PR 1 .E53
  • 969 reels
  • 96-page guide -- Reference PR 1 .E532

Consists of 341 titles published in Great Britain during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Although predominantly literary in nature, these periodicals nevertheless encompass a wide variety of subject matter and thus provide a wealth of information about the cultural life of the times.

The electronic index was incomplete, but growing; it was canceled due to budget cuts. The print index provides very limited subject access to the complete set and is shelved in the UCF Library's Reference Collection. About twenty-five of the periodicals in this collection are at least partially indexed in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature [Reference AI 3 .P7] (1802-1906).

Search the UCF library catalog by individual periodical title (i.e., Journal/Magazine Title: "albemarle") for call numbers, then get reel number from the note in the catalog record; or search by series title (Title: "english literary periodicals") for a list of titles. Some titles listed in the print index are not yet listed in the library catalog, but are available in the microfilm.


Pennsylvania. Provincial Council. Records of the Provincial Council, 1682-1776

  • Microfilm F 152 .G85 1966
  • 26 reels
  • 130-page guide -- Reference F152 .G85 1966

PCMI Library Collection (1692-1967)

  • Microfiche AC 1 .P25

Full text reproductions on ultrafiche of works from American civilization, literature, humanities, science & technology, and social sciences. No guide is available, but the individual titles are included in the UCF library catalog.

Browse the UCF library catalog by call number

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and American Culture Series.