Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: 1930-1939

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

History Resource Center: U.S. (1492+)

"In addition to e-text, users may also view original page facsimiles of many of these documents by clicking the View Image button within a document"

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions (1492-1979)

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions is an annotated collection of the fundamental instruments recording the historical development of constitutional government in each state in the Union. For example, the Florida section includes the Treaty of Amity (1819); Act of March 3, 1821; territorial acts; and Florida Constitutions, 1838-1968.

  • General Collection KF 4530 .S94

Sources and Documents of United States Constitutions, Second Series provides a substantial number of additional documents dealing with constitutional development, but not directly or exclusively relevant to a single state, starting with Privileges and Prerogatives granted to Christopher Columbus (1492) and ending with Bakke v. University of California Regents (June 28, 1979).

  • General Collection KF 4530 .S942

American Culture Series (1493-1951)

  • Microfilm E 169.1 .A47
  • 643 reels
  • 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include

  • Art & Architecture (274 titles)
  • History (1,574 titles)
  • Literature & Languages (903 titles)
  • Music (45 titles)
  • Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
  • Economics (578 titles)
  • Education (135 titles)
  • Journalism (58 titles)
  • Politics & Law (311 titles)
  • Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
  • Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
  • Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.

Annals of America (1493-1968)

  • Reference E 173 .A793
  • 21 volumes

Provides the history of America through letters, documents, speeches, etc - beginning with a letter home from Columbus in 1493 and ending with part of an article by Scott Buchanan, philosopher, educator, and writer on politics, published in the Center Magazine in 1968.

Album of American History (1493-1982)

  • Reference E 178.5 .A48
  • 7 volumes

"The intent ...is to tell the history of America through pictures made at the time the history was being made."

Western Americana (1528-1951)

  • Microfiche (call number varies)
  • 990 titles on microfiche
  • 107-page guide -- Reference F591.W47 Guide

1,012 books and documents, primarily of the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, on the American West.

Search the UCF library catalog by the series title "Western Americana" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.

Gerritsen Collection of Women's History (1543-1945)

  • Microfilm/Microfiche HQ 1121 .G47
  • 2 volume guide -- Reference HQ 1121 .G47

International coverage. Includes 4,311 monographs and 265 serials on 17,500 microfiche and 241 reels of microfilm.

PCMI Library Collection (1692-1967)

  • Microfiche AC 1 .P25

Full text reproductions on ultrafiche of works from American civilization, literature, humanities, science & technology, and social sciences. No guide is available, but the individual titles are included in the UCF library catalog.

Browse the UCF library catalog by call number

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and American Culture Series.

American Periodical Series. American Periodicals, 1741-1935

  • APS I, 1741-1799, 33 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A387 -- 2-volume guide -- Reference AP 2 .A387 Guide
  • APS II, 1800-1850, 1,966 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A388 -- 341-page guide -- Reference AP 2 .A388 Guide
  • APS III, 1850-1935, 771 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A389

Includes more than 1,100 periodicals.

American Periodical Series Online is incomplete, but growing, and provides full text access. American Periodicals Index (subscription canceled) is also incomplete, but may have some coverage not yet included in the full text database.

American Periodical Series covers all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending from 1741 to 1935. The full text of the actual periodicals are in the UCF Library in three microfilm collections (often referred to as APS I, APS II and APS III). You may find the CD-ROM version available in the Library's Electronic Reference Area easier to use. The print index provides very limited subject access to the complete series and is shelved in the UCF Library's Reference Collection [REF AP2.A388]. A more detailed 2-volume print index is available for APS I [REF AP2.A387], providing citations to specific articles. Nearly one hundred of the periodicals in the APS II & APS III collections are at least partially indexed in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature [REF AI3.P7] (1802-1906). See also Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature [Gen Coll AI3.R48] for some indexing of articles from 1890-1935.

Search the UCF library catalog by individual periodical title (i.e., Journal/Magazine Title: "american apollo") for call numbers, then get reel number from the series note in the catalog record; or search by series title (Journal/Magazine Title: "american periodical series") for a list of titles.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (1749-1949)

Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, including:

  • British Foreign Office:
    • Japan Correspondence, 1856-1923
  • Despatches from U.S. Consuls in China, Siam, Java, Netherlands East Indies, Philippine Islands, Vietnam
  • Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Correspondence, 1846-1949 (China, Japan, Korea)
  • Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in China (1849-1931) and in Japan (1855-1912)

British Politics & Society, including:

  • British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1906
  • Home Office Papers & Records, Registered Papers, Disturbances Entry Books, Domestic Entry Books, Post Office Correspondence, Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861
  • Papers of
    • Charles James Fox, 1749-1806
    • Sir Robert Peel (Prime Minister, 1834-5, 1841-5 & 1845-6)
    • John Cam Hobhouse, 1809-1869
  • Rare Radical & Labour Periodicals of Great Britain
  • Working Class Autobiographies
  • Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the "Jack the Ripper" Killings

British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture, including:

  • British Playbills, 1754-1882
  • Drury Lane Theatre Archive; Manuscript Plays & Correspondence
  • King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
  • Popular Literature in 18th & 19th Century Britain
  • Wandering Minstrels Archive
  • Royal Philharmonic Society Archive & Music Manuscripts

Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization & Conquest, including:

  • Colonial African Newspapers
  • Despatches from U.S. Consuls in British Africa, British West Africa, Cape Colony, Cape Verde Islands, Congo, Dakar, Gaboon, Gambia, Liberia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, St. Helena, Sierra Leone, The Transvaal, Zanzibar
  • International Population Census, Africa
  • Personal Narratives & Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa
  • Selected Colonial Office Files, Foreign Office Files, and India Office Files on Africa
  • Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa
  • Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa

European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection

  • 3,250+ works by 1,250+ authors in English (more than 1,000 titles by women)
  • 3,658 works in French (more than 500 by women)
  • 2,654 works in German

Photography: The World through the Lens, including:

  • History of Photography
  • Photographs from British Admiralty Office, British Colonial Office, Victoria & Albert Museum, Royal Archives
  • British Journal of Photography & Annual, 1854-1914
  • Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science & Industry Collection
  • Albums from David Octavius Hill & Robert Adamson, 1843-1848
  • Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period

Science, Technology & Medicine: 1780-1925, including:

  • American Medical Periodicals
  • Astronomy & Astrophysics
  • Civil Engineering
  • Color Theory & Practice
  • Electricity & Electromagnetism
  • Evolution & the Origin of Species
  • Mathematics
  • Scientific & Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London's Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900

Women: Transnational Networks, including:

  • British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political & Economic Sciences: 1800-1947
  • Diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845
  • Elizabeth Cady Stanton
  • Quaker Women's Diaries: 18th-19th Centuries

Annual Register of world events; a review of the year (1758+)

"Contents vary. 19th- and early-20th-century volumes are strong in biographical information in the obituary sections. Recent volumes have few obituary notices. Includes survey articles on the year's developments in the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, and other countries of the world; international organizations; and chapters on religion, science, law, the arts, economics, etc. Includes some public documents, and many abstracts of political speeches. Gives English affairs with more fullness than those of other countries." [ALA Guide to Reference Books, 11th ed.]

United States Government Publications (1789+)

The UCF Library has several microfiche sets providing full text of documents from the U.S. Government, including:

  • CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833-1969
  • American Statistics Index (1984+)

See also: Congressional Publications: Finding Aids

American State Papers (1789-1838) and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817+)

  • CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969
  • CIS Index of Congressional Publications & Legislative Histories (1970+)
  • The index for the microfiche is available in LexisNexis Congressional
  • Online versions

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (1806-1979)

Recessions, Depressions, and Economic Panics in American History : Collection of Sources (1815-1974)

  • Microfilm HB 3711 .R42
  • 7 reels
  • 7-page guide -- Reference HB 3711 .R42

Collection of books and government documents on depressions and monetary situations in the United States

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (1825-1980)

British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports & Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print

"The Confidential Print comprises diplomatic dispatches and other papers...it is important to note that British diplomats used a wide variety of contemporary sources—newspapers, speeches, government documents, political pamphlets and manifestos, economic statistics, census reports, personal interviews, and formal and informal discussions with the leaders of their host countries—as the factual bases for their dispatches and reports. These sources were not only used and quoted but were frequently translated and included as addenda in the Confidential Print."

Information about other series not available at UCF.

Foreign Relations of the United States (1861+)

Great Northern Railway Company Papers, Part I, 1862-1922 (1862-1946)

  • Microfilm HE 2791 .G775
  • 25 reels
  • 23-page guide -- Reference HE 2791 .G775

Most of the material is concerned with the period prior to 1923.

  • Series A: Board of Directors' minutes and corporate histories
  • series B: labor
  • series C: settlement and development.

Northern Pacific Railway Company Papers, Part I, 1864-1922 (1864-1945)

  • Microfilm HE 2791 .N587
  • Microfilm HE 2791 .N857
  • 25 reels
  • 22-page guide -- Reference HE 2791 .N587

Most of the material is concerned with the period prior to 1923.

  • Series A: Board of Directors' minutes and corporate histories
  • series B: labor
  • series C: settlement and development.

Indian Rights Association. Papers, 1868-1968

  • Microfilm E 93 .I46
  • 136 reels
  • 233-page guide -- Reference E 93 .I46

Smithsonian Publications Relating to the North American Indian (1879-1971)

  • Microfilm E 51 .U5...
  • 42 reels
  • 127-page guide -- Refererence E 51 .U5 Guide
  • Part 1. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletins, 1887-1971 (Reels 1-27)
  • Part 2. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual reports, 1879-1931 (Reels 28-42)

Some volumes are available in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set.

Some print and microfiche volumes are also available in the UCF Library:

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles -- Reference GN 550 .S58 Guide

Other online sources for the Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology:

William S. Gray Research Collection in Reading (1884-1980)

  • Microfiche LB 1050 .W469
  • Guide -- Reference LB 1050 .W469

Provides a retrospective compilation of reading research documents from key journals, books, research reports, and monographs published between 1884 and 1980. The full text documents are available in the UCF Library on microfiche. An author/subject guide is available in the Reference Collection. Author/subject index cards in the drawers preceding the microfiche also provide abstracts.

A Guide to Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States (1894-1943)

  • 8-page guide-- Reference E 93 .U6773 Guide -- for the three following sets:
    • South Dakota Emergency Relief Administration
      Survey of Indian Reservations, 1935.
      • Microfilm E 78 .S63 S7
      • 3 reels
    • United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs
      Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States. 1928-1943
      • Microfilm E 93 .U6773
      • 8 reels
    • United States. Superintendent for the Five Civilized Tribes
      Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes. 1894-1920
      • Microfilm E 78 .I5 U85
      • 3 reels

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Spain, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1930-1939)

Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations between the United States and Turkey (1930-1944)

  • Microfilm E 183.8 .T8 R436 1982
  • 2 reels
  • no guide

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America & Caribbean (1930-1945)

  • See separate entries below for Cuba, El Salvador, Honduras, & Nicaragua.

"Diplomatic post records are those kept at the embassies or legations rather than in Washington, as are the State Department's central files. For many countries in the years before 1945, the post records, if they have survived, are the researcher's preferred source. They contain the incoming messages from Washington, retained copies of outgoing dispatches, and--where diplomatic representatives were acting with some independence--much more locally gathered information and background material on decision making."

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, Cuba (1930-1945)

"Cuban post records for 1930-1945 offer extensive documentation of that country during the Depression and World War II. The Sumner Welles mission of 1933 and subsequent diplomatic issues are covered as well as the first administration of Fulgencio Batista."

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, El Salvador (1930-1945)

  • Microfilm F 1486 .C6 1984
  • 28 reels
  • 51-page guide -- Reference F 1486 .C6 1984

"El Salvador during the same troubled years saw the regime of General Maximiliano Hernandez Martinez with his suppression of opposition groups, suspension of many civil liberties, and limited success in agrarian and labor reform before his overthrow in 1944."

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, Honduras (1930-1945)

  • Microfilm F 1506 .C6 1983
  • 42 reels
  • 62-page guide -- Reference F 1506 .C6 1983

"Honduran post records trace the manner in which General Tiburcio Carias Andino gained the presidency in 1932 after years of unrest and quickly assumed dictatorial powers. There is also material on the supporting role of the United Fruit Company throughout this period."

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, Nicaragua (1930-1945)

  • Microfilm F 1527 .C66 1984
  • 38 reels
  • 49-page guide -- Reference F 1527 .C66 1984

"The end of a long occupation by U.S. marines came to Nicaragua in 1933, but in 1937 began the presidential entrenchment of the head of the Guardia Nacional, Anastasio Somoza, who would last until his assassination in 1956. Why and in what ways Somoza benefited from official U.S. backing is well documented in this collection."

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Panama, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1930-1949)

  • Microfilm F 1566.5 .C6...
  • Microfilm F 1566.5 .C7732 1990
  • 84 reels
  • 4-volume guide
    • 1930-1939 Internal Affairs guide
    • 1930-1939 Foreign Affairs guide
    • 1940-1944 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
    • 1945-1949 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide

Leni Riefenstahl's 'Triumph of the Will' (1934)

  • Microfilm DD 253.25 .L5
  • 1 reel
  • 8-page guide -- Reference DD 253.25 .L5

On the production of "the greatest propaganda film ever made." Records the Nazi Party Congress at Nurnberg in September, 1934.

Rutgers Center of Alcohol Studies. Raymond G. McCarthy Memorial Collection of the Alcohol Literature (1935-1976)

  • Microfiche HV 5015 .R86

Contains approximately 19,000 full-text documents of the materials abstracted in the Classified Abstract Archive of the Alcohol Literature, the Quarterly Journal of Studies on Alcohol and the Journal of Studies on Alcohol. To identify more recent material, the Alcohol Studies Database contains citations (not full text) of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987.

The UCF Library has the complete collection:

  • sect.A, ca. 1935-1950 (documents 1-5700)
  • sect.B, 1951-1965 (documents 5701-11500)
  • sect.C, 1966-1976 (documents 11501-16110;340001-371146)

The German Army High Command, 1938-1945

  • Microfilm D 757.1 .G47
  • 4 reels
  • index on reel 1
  • 8-page guide -- Reference D 757.1 .G47

"A definitive study of the German Army High Command before and during World War II prepared by a group of former German generals and their staffs under the guidance of the U .S. Army, Historical Division. In individual reports, the generals disclose their roles in the war, from secret mobilization plans of 1938 to Blitzkrieg strikes into Eastern Europe and from internal power struggles with the Wehrmacht High Command to tactical problems caused by Hitler's assumption of military control. All reports have been translated into English."

FBI File on the House Committee on Un-American Activities (1938-1978)

  • Microfilm E 743.5 .U65
  • 9 reels
  • 8-page guide -- Reference E 743.5 .U65

Code of Federal Regulations (1938+)

  • U.S. Documents Microfiche AE 2.106/3:

Paper volumes for the current year are available on the US Documents Ready Reference shelves. Title 3, containing Presidential Proclamations & Executive Orders, is available in paper for 1986+.

continuation of earlier material from left column

Van Sickle Leftist Pamphlet Collection (1900-1993)

  • Special Collections -- Rare HX 15 .V35 no....
  • Finding Aid

An assemblage of political pamphlets on socialism & communism. Many of the titles may be unique to UCF.

Search the UCF library catalog by series title "van sickle leftist" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.

The Spanish Civil War Collection (1902-1981)

  • Microfilm DP 269 .A1718 1987
  • 57 reels
  • 686-page guide -- Reference DP 269 .A1718 1987

2,225 numbered items from the Herbert Rutledge Southworth pamphlet collection, providing primary materials documenting the Spanish Republican period (1931-1939), the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the post-War era of Franco's rule (1939-1975). The collection's greatest strengths are the Civil War itself and the immediate post-War years of the 1940s.

Papers of the NAACP (1909-1950)

  • Microfilm HN 53 .N375
  • 91 reels
  • 4-volume guide -- Reference HN 53 .N375
  • part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports, 1909-1950
  • part 2 : personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials, 1919-1939
  • part 3 : the campaign for educational equality; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1913-1950

Online guides to the following parts not available at UCF are available at the UPA Microform Collection link below:

  • part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports
    • supplement 1 (1951-1955)
    • supplement 2 (1956-1960)
    • supplement 3 (1961-1965)
    • supplement 4 (1966-1970)
  • part 3 : the campaign for educational equality;
    • series C (1951-1955) - Legal Department & Central Office records
    • series D (1956-1965) - General Office Files
  • part 4 : the voting rights campaign, 1916-1965
    • (1916-1950)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
  • part 5 : the campaign against residential segregation, 1914-1965
    • (1914-1955)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
  • part 6 : the Scottsboro Case, 1931-1950
  • part 7 : the Anti-Lynching Campaign, 1912-1955
    • series A (1912-1953) - Anti-Lynching Investigative Files
    • series B (1916-1955) - Anti-Lynching Legislation & Publicity Files
  • part 8 : discrimination in the criminal justice system; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1910-1955
    • series A (1910-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955)
  • part 9 : discrimination in the U.S. Armed Forces, 1918-1955
    • series A (1918-1955) - General Office Files, Armed Forces Affairs
    • series B (1940-1950) - Armed Forces Legal Files
    • series C (1940-1950) - the Veterans Affairs Committee
  • part 10 : peonage, labor, & the New Deal, 1913-1939
  • part 11 : special subject files, 1912-1939
  • part 12 : selected branch files, 1913-1939
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 13 : the NAACP & labor, 1940-1955
    • series A - subject files on labor conditions & employment discrimination
    • series B - cooperation with organized labor
    • series C - Legal Department files on labor
    • supplement (1956-1965)
  • part 14 : race relations in the international arena, 1940-1955
  • part 15 : segregation & discrimination: complaints & responses, 1940-1955
    • series A - Legal Department files
    • series B - administrative files
  • part 16 : Board of Directors correspondence & committee materials, 1919-1955
    • series A (1919-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
    • supplement 2 (1966-1970)
  • part 17 : national staff files, 1940-1955 & supplement, 1956-1965
  • part 18 : special subjects, 1940-1955
    • series A - Legal Department files
    • series B - general office files: abolition of government agencies - Jews
    • series C - general office files: Justice Department White Supremacy
  • part 19 : youth file
    • series A (1919-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955) - American-Jewish Congress - Motion Picture Project
    • series C (1940-1955) - NAACP - Youth Builders
    • series D (1956-1965)
  • part 20 : white resistance & reprisals, 1956-1965
  • part 21 : NAACP relations with the modern civil rights movement
  • part 22 : Legal Department administrative files, 1956-1965
  • part 23 : Legal Department case files
    • series A (1956-1965) - The South
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Alabama, Arkansas, & Florida
        • section 2 - Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, & Virginia
        • section 3 - Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, & Texas
    • series B (1956-1965) - The Northeast
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Main, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania & Rhode Island
        • section 2 - New York
    • series C (1956-1965) - The Mid & Far West
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Ohio
        • section 2 - Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, West Virginia, & Wisconsin
  • part 24 : special subjects, 1956-1965
    • series A - Africa - films
    • series B - foreign affairs - leagues & organizations
    • series C - life memberships - Zangrando
  • part 25 : branch department files
    • series A (1941-1955) - regional files & special reports
    • series B (1956-1965) - regional files & special reports
    • series C - branch newsletters & printed matter
    • series D (1956-1965) - branch department general subject files
  • part 26 : selected branch files, 1940-1955
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 27 : selected branch files, 1956-1965
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 28 : special subject files, 1966-1970
    • series A - Africa-Poor People's Campaign
    • series B - Powell, Adam Clayton-White Supremacy
  • part 29 : branch department files
    • series A - field staff files, 1965-1972
    • series B - branch newsletters, annual branch activities reports & selected branch department subject files, 1966-1972
    • series C - branch newsletters & printed matter, 1966-1971
    • series D - branch department general subject files, 1966-1970
  • part 30 : general office subject files, 1966-1972
    • series A - subject files

Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Turkey (1910-1949)

  • 1910-1929, reels 87-88 -- Microfilm E 183.8 .T8 R436 1961
    (reels 78-86 damaged & discarded, Sep 2014)
  • 1930-1944, reels 1-36 -- Microfilm DR 590 .R44 1982
  • 1945-1949, reels 1-8 -- Microfilm DR 590 .R447 1983

Moody's Manuals on Microfiche (1914+)

  • Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M7245
  • Reference Microfiche HG 4961 .M67

"Published annually and updated weekly through a series of news reports, Moody's® various manuals [currently] provide information on over 25,000 U.S. and non-U.S. corporate entities and over 17,000 municipal and government securities."

  • Moody's Analyses of Public Utilities & Industrials (1914-1919)
  • Moody's Manual of Industrial Securities (1920-1943) [title varies]

The UCF Library no longer has bound volumes of the various Moody's Manuals from the mid 1940's forward. The name changed from Moody's to Mergent's in 1999. Recent information was also available electronically through the library's subscription to Mergent Online, but the subscription was cancelled due to budget cuts.

U.S. Military Intelligence Reports : Surveillance of Radicals in the United States, 1917-1941

  • Microfilm HN 90 .R3 U5
  • 34 reels
  • 55-page guide -- Reference HN 90 .R3 U5

"Along with extensive data on radical activities, these records contain a wealth of detail on newly arrived immigrants (one of military intelligence’s favorite targets in the early years covered by the collection). Furthermore, the documents provide valuable inside information on the way in which antisubversive policies were planned and executed at high levels of the federal government, by regional military commanders, and by local authorities. The most copious records in the collection are those covering the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW). Also well covered in the collection is the incipient American Communist movement. Hardly neglected are various anarchist, socialist, social democratic, and civil libertarian groups whose activities caused concern among military intelligence officers."

Mary McLeod Bethune Papers (1918-1955)

  • Microfilm E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • 32 reels
  • 2-volume guide -- Reference E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • part 1 - Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials, & files on the National Youth Administration and women's organizations, 1918-1955
  • Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955: the administrative records of Mary McLeod Bethune as president of Bethune-Cookman College

Other online guides to materials not available at UCF can be found at the below link to UPA Microform Collection guides.

  • part 2 - correspondence files, 1914-1955
  • part 3 - subject files, 1939-1955
  • part 4 - administration of Bethune-Cookman College & the Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955

FBI Confidential Files: J. Edgar Hoover Official & Confidential File (1921-1974)

  • Microfilm
  • 17 reels
  • 35-page guide -- Reference HV 8144 .F43 J6 1990

"This file, of which approximately 17,000 pages have been released and are included in this collection (from a 17,700 total), was one of two secret files Hoover maintained in his office. (The other was destroyed soon after his death in 1972.) Hoover's office files contain important policy documents pertaining to wiretapping, bugging, break-ins, and authorizations to investigate subversive activities. Other documents provide insights into the relationship between the FBI director and several Presidents, as well as other prominent Americans. Chronologically, the file is strongest in the 1940s and 1950s."