Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: African-Americans

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

Papers of the NAACP (1909-1950)

  • Microfilm HN 53 .N375
  • 91 reels
  • 4-volume guide -- Reference HN 53 .N375
  • part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports, 1909-1950
  • part 2 : personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials, 1919-1939
  • part 3 : the campaign for educational equality; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1913-1950

Online guides to the following parts not available at UCF are available at the UPA Microform Collection link below:

  • part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports
    • supplement 1 (1951-1955)
    • supplement 2 (1956-1960)
    • supplement 3 (1961-1965)
    • supplement 4 (1966-1970)
  • part 3 : the campaign for educational equality;
    • series C (1951-1955) - Legal Department & Central Office records
    • series D (1956-1965) - General Office Files
  • part 4 : the voting rights campaign, 1916-1965
    • (1916-1950)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
  • part 5 : the campaign against residential segregation, 1914-1965
    • (1914-1955)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
  • part 6 : the Scottsboro Case, 1931-1950
  • part 7 : the Anti-Lynching Campaign, 1912-1955
    • series A (1912-1953) - Anti-Lynching Investigative Files
    • series B (1916-1955) - Anti-Lynching Legislation & Publicity Files
  • part 8 : discrimination in the criminal justice system; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1910-1955
    • series A (1910-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955)
  • part 9 : discrimination in the U.S. Armed Forces, 1918-1955
    • series A (1918-1955) - General Office Files, Armed Forces Affairs
    • series B (1940-1950) - Armed Forces Legal Files
    • series C (1940-1950) - the Veterans Affairs Committee
  • part 10 : peonage, labor, & the New Deal, 1913-1939
  • part 11 : special subject files, 1912-1939
  • part 12 : selected branch files, 1913-1939
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 13 : the NAACP & labor, 1940-1955
    • series A - subject files on labor conditions & employment discrimination
    • series B - cooperation with organized labor
    • series C - Legal Department files on labor
    • supplement (1956-1965)
  • part 14 : race relations in the international arena, 1940-1955
  • part 15 : segregation & discrimination: complaints & responses, 1940-1955
    • series A - Legal Department files
    • series B - administrative files
  • part 16 : Board of Directors correspondence & committee materials, 1919-1955
    • series A (1919-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
    • supplement 2 (1966-1970)
  • part 17 : national staff files, 1940-1955 & supplement, 1956-1965
  • part 18 : special subjects, 1940-1955
    • series A - Legal Department files
    • series B - general office files: abolition of government agencies - Jews
    • series C - general office files: Justice Department White Supremacy
  • part 19 : youth file
    • series A (1919-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955) - American-Jewish Congress - Motion Picture Project
    • series C (1940-1955) - NAACP - Youth Builders
    • series D (1956-1965)
  • part 20 : white resistance & reprisals, 1956-1965
  • part 21 : NAACP relations with the modern civil rights movement
  • part 22 : Legal Department administrative files, 1956-1965
  • part 23 : Legal Department case files
    • series A (1956-1965) - The South
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Alabama, Arkansas, & Florida
        • section 2 - Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, & Virginia
        • section 3 - Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, & Texas
    • series B (1956-1965) - The Northeast
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Main, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania & Rhode Island
        • section 2 - New York
    • series C (1956-1965) - The Mid & Far West
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Ohio
        • section 2 - Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, West Virginia, & Wisconsin
  • part 24 : special subjects, 1956-1965
    • series A - Africa - films
    • series B - foreign affairs - leagues & organizations
    • series C - life memberships - Zangrando
  • part 25 : branch department files
    • series A (1941-1955) - regional files & special reports
    • series B (1956-1965) - regional files & special reports
    • series C - branch newsletters & printed matter
    • series D (1956-1965) - branch department general subject files
  • part 26 : selected branch files, 1940-1955
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 27 : selected branch files, 1956-1965
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 28 : special subject files, 1966-1970
    • series A - Africa-Poor People's Campaign
    • series B - Powell, Adam Clayton-White Supremacy
  • part 29 : branch department files
    • series A - field staff files, 1965-1972
    • series B - branch newsletters, annual branch activities reports & selected branch department subject files, 1966-1972
    • series C - branch newsletters & printed matter, 1966-1971
    • series D - branch department general subject files, 1966-1970
  • part 30 : general office subject files, 1966-1972
    • series A - subject files

Mary McLeod Bethune Papers (1918-1955)

  • Microfilm E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • 32 reels
  • 2-volume guide -- Reference E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • part 1 - Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials, & files on the National Youth Administration and women's organizations, 1918-1955
  • Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955: the administrative records of Mary McLeod Bethune as president of Bethune-Cookman College

Other online guides to materials not available at UCF can be found at the below link to UPA Microform Collection guides.

  • part 2 - correspondence files, 1914-1955
  • part 3 - subject files, 1939-1955
  • part 4 - administration of Bethune-Cookman College & the Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955

The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality (1944-1968)

  • Microfilm E 185.5 .C88
  • 25 reels
  • 77-page guide -- Reference E 185.5 .C88

"Papers that trace the history of CORE as a local and national organization and document its role in the civil rights struggles of this time period. The period covered most thoroughly is 1959 - 1964. The papers in the main collection are arranged in series according to the offices and departments by which they were designated when sent to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. Each series is arranged alphabetically by subject and each subject is arranged chronologically. The "Addendum" is a microfilm edition of the CORE papers held at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change, Inc. in Atlanta."

The main collection is 49 reels. UCF only has the 25 reel Addendum.

Claude A. Barnett Papers: Part I: Associated Negro Press News Releases, 1928-1964 (1945-1964)

  • Microfilm PN 4882.5 .S35
  • 54 reels
  • 55-page guide -- Reference PN 4882.5 .S35

Barnett founded and directed the Associated Negro Press.

UCF Library has Series B (1945-1955) and Series C (1956-1964).

Other online guides to materials not available at UCF:

  • part 2 - Associated Negro Press organizational files, 1920-1966 - guide
  • part 3 - subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967 - guide

FBI File: Malcolm X (1953-1980)

  • Microfilm E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996
  • 10 reels
  • 36-page guide -- Reference E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996

Excerpts from the files are also available in the book, Malcolm X: The FBI File, by Clayborne Carson [BP223.Z8.L5794 1991]

See also FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972

  • Microfilm E 185.61 .S916 1981
  • 73 reels
  • 132-page guide -- Reference E 185.61 .S916 1981

"Microfilm edition of the papers of the SNCC in the Library and Archives of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Center for Nonviolent Change, Atlanta, Ga."

Civil Rights During the Kennedy Administration, 1961-1963

  • Microfilm JC 599 .U5 C49 1986
  • 28 reels
  • guide -- General Collection JC 599 .U5 C49 1986 Guide

pt. 2. The Papers of Burke Marshall, Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights

UCF does not have Pt. 1. The White House central files and staff files, and the president's office files (19 reels)

Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969

  • Microfilm JC 599 .U5 C5 1984
  • 21 reels / 68-page guide -- General Collection JC 599 .U5 C5 1984 Guide
  • Pt. 1. The White House central files. (15 reels) guide
  • Pt. 2. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: administrative history. (3 reels) guide
  • Pt. 3. Oral histories. (3 reels) guide
  • Pt. 4. Papers of the White House Conference on Civil Rights guide [microfilm not available at UCF]
  • Pt. 5. Records of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders guide [microfilm not available at UCF]

FBI File: Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) (1963-1973)

  • Microfilm E 185.61 .U551 1991
  • 2 reels
  • 5-page guide -- Reference E 185.61 .U551 1991

See also FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room

The Free Southern Theater Records, 1963-1978

  • Microfilm PN 2277 .N4 F76
  • 47 reels
  • 76-page guide -- Reference PN 2277 .N4 F76

In 1963, the Free Southern Theater was organized by John O'Neal and Gilbert Moses to act as a cultural and educational extension for the Civil Rights Movement in the South.

Arranged by four major series with subseries: Administrative Series, Theater Production Series, General Correspondence Series, Financial Records Series.

FBI File on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina (1968-1976)

  • Microfilm E 185.615 .F3465 1986
  • 2 reels
  • 4-page guide -- Reference E 185.615 .F3465 1986

See also FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room