Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: Women

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

History Resource Center: U.S. (1492+)

"In addition to e-text, users may also view original page facsimiles of many of these documents by clicking the View Image button within a document"

American Culture Series (1493-1951)

  • Microfilm E 169.1 .A47
  • 643 reels
  • 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include

  • Art & Architecture (274 titles)
  • History (1,574 titles)
  • Literature & Languages (903 titles)
  • Music (45 titles)
  • Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
  • Economics (578 titles)
  • Education (135 titles)
  • Journalism (58 titles)
  • Politics & Law (311 titles)
  • Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
  • Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
  • Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

The UCF Library has the digital collection, but does not have the microfilm version based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time"
Reference Z 1201.S2 1961

Women Writers Project (1526-1850)

Gerritsen Collection of Women's History (1543-1945)

  • Microfilm/Microfiche HQ 1121 .G47
  • 2 volume guide -- Reference HQ 1121 .G47

International coverage. Includes 4,311 monographs and 265 serials on 17,500 microfiche and 241 reels of microfilm.

Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans (1639-1800)

"Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable."

The UCF Library does not have the microform collection, but does have the various print bibliographies and online access to the Evans portion:

  • American Bibliography (Evans, 1639-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92
  • Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography (Bristol, 1646-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92334
  • American Bibliography (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819) -- Reference Z 1215 .S48
  • American Imprints (Shoemaker, 1820-1846) -- Reference Z 1215 .S5

See also: American Culture Series and PCMI Library Collection.

American Periodical Series. American Periodicals, 1741-1935

  • APS I, 1741-1799, 33 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A387 -- 2-volume guide -- Reference AP 2 .A387 Guide
  • APS II, 1800-1850, 1,966 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A388 -- 341-page guide -- Reference AP 2 .A388 Guide
  • APS III, 1850-1935, 771 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A389

Includes more than 1,100 periodicals.

American Periodical Series Online is incomplete, but growing, and provides full text access. American Periodicals Index (subscription canceled) is also incomplete, but may have some coverage not yet included in the full text database.

American Periodical Series covers all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending from 1741 to 1935. The full text of the actual periodicals are in the UCF Library in three microfilm collections (often referred to as APS I, APS II and APS III). You may find the CD-ROM version available in the Library's Electronic Reference Area easier to use. The print index provides very limited subject access to the complete series and is shelved in the UCF Library's Reference Collection [REF AP2.A388]. A more detailed 2-volume print index is available for APS I [REF AP2.A387], providing citations to specific articles. Nearly one hundred of the periodicals in the APS II & APS III collections are at least partially indexed in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature [REF AI3.P7] (1802-1906). See also Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature [Gen Coll AI3.R48] for some indexing of articles from 1890-1935.

Search the UCF library catalog by individual periodical title (i.e., Journal/Magazine Title: "american apollo") for call numbers, then get reel number from the series note in the catalog record; or search by series title (Journal/Magazine Title: "american periodical series") for a list of titles.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (1749-1949)

Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, including:

  • British Foreign Office:
    • Japan Correspondence, 1856-1923
  • Despatches from U.S. Consuls in China, Siam, Java, Netherlands East Indies, Philippine Islands, Vietnam
  • Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Correspondence, 1846-1949 (China, Japan, Korea)
  • Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in China (1849-1931) and in Japan (1855-1912)

British Politics & Society, including:

  • British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1906
  • Home Office Papers & Records, Registered Papers, Disturbances Entry Books, Domestic Entry Books, Post Office Correspondence, Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861
  • Papers of
    • Charles James Fox, 1749-1806
    • Sir Robert Peel (Prime Minister, 1834-5, 1841-5 & 1845-6)
    • John Cam Hobhouse, 1809-1869
  • Rare Radical & Labour Periodicals of Great Britain
  • Working Class Autobiographies
  • Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the "Jack the Ripper" Killings

British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture, including:

  • British Playbills, 1754-1882
  • Drury Lane Theatre Archive; Manuscript Plays & Correspondence
  • King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
  • Popular Literature in 18th & 19th Century Britain
  • Wandering Minstrels Archive
  • Royal Philharmonic Society Archive & Music Manuscripts

Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization & Conquest, including:

  • Colonial African Newspapers
  • Despatches from U.S. Consuls in British Africa, British West Africa, Cape Colony, Cape Verde Islands, Congo, Dakar, Gaboon, Gambia, Liberia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, St. Helena, Sierra Leone, The Transvaal, Zanzibar
  • International Population Census, Africa
  • Personal Narratives & Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa
  • Selected Colonial Office Files, Foreign Office Files, and India Office Files on Africa
  • Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa
  • Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa

European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection

  • 3,250+ works by 1,250+ authors in English (more than 1,000 titles by women)
  • 3,658 works in French (more than 500 by women)
  • 2,654 works in German

Photography: The World through the Lens, including:

  • History of Photography
  • Photographs from British Admiralty Office, British Colonial Office, Victoria & Albert Museum, Royal Archives
  • British Journal of Photography & Annual, 1854-1914
  • Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science & Industry Collection
  • Albums from David Octavius Hill & Robert Adamson, 1843-1848
  • Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period

Science, Technology & Medicine: 1780-1925, including:

  • American Medical Periodicals
  • Astronomy & Astrophysics
  • Civil Engineering
  • Color Theory & Practice
  • Electricity & Electromagnetism
  • Evolution & the Origin of Species
  • Mathematics
  • Scientific & Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London's Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900

Women: Transnational Networks, including:

  • British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political & Economic Sciences: 1800-1947
  • Diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845
  • Elizabeth Cady Stanton
  • Quaker Women's Diaries: 18th-19th Centuries

American Prose Fiction (1774-1900)

  • Microfilm PS 535 .W7
  • 1,400 reels
  • 416-page guide -- Reference PS 535 .W7
  • related online guides for American Fiction, 1774-1910 and 1911-1920
  • Many of the titles from 1851-1875 are also available online.

"Among the prose forms represented in this series are romances, short stories, fictitious biographies, travels and sketches, and allegories. Although the earliest writings reveal a preoccupation with travel, adventure, temperance, and matrimony, by the mid-1800's many authors began turning to more serious themes, such as slavery and the war, women's rights, westward migration, and social reform. In the last quarter of the century, as the U.S. began to emerge as a modern industrial nation, writers portrayed the diverse life-styles of the population. The collection contains all of the obtainable titles, 10,827 items in all, cited by Lyle H. Wright in his three definitive bibliographies,"

  • American Fiction 1774-1850 -- Reference PS 375 .W67
  • American Fiction 1851-1875 -- Reference PS 375 .W68
  • American Fiction 1876-1900 -- Reference PS 375 .W69

American State Papers (1789-1838) and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817+)

  • CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969
  • CIS Index of Congressional Publications & Legislative Histories (1970+)
  • The index for the microfiche is available in LexisNexis Congressional
  • Online versions

Women Working, 1800-1930

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (1825-1980)

The Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. Anthony (1831-1906)

  • Microfilm HQ 1413 .S67 S7 1992
  • 45 reels
  • 203-page guide -- Reference HQ 1413 .S67 S7 1992
  • ser. 1. The Revolution (1868-1872) (reels 1-3)
  • ser. 2. National Woman Suffrage Association collection (1880), Chicago Historical Society (reels 4-5)
  • ser. 3. Chronological collection, 1831-1906 (reels 6-45)
  • Selected materials are available online (Rutgers University)

Making of America (1850-1877)

"Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology."

Report on Condition of Woman & Child Wage-Earners in the United States (1910-1913)

  • Microfilm HD 6093 .A4
  • 3 reels
  • no guide

Issued as Senate Document no. 645 of the 61st Congress, 2nd Session. Also available in the UCF Library on microfiche and online in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, #5685-5703. Paper copy of volume 10, History of Women in Trade Unions, is available in the General Collection HD 6079 .A5 1974.

The volumes are also available online in Women Working, 1800-1930 (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)

Mary McLeod Bethune Papers (1918-1955)

  • Microfilm E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • 32 reels
  • 2-volume guide -- Reference E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • part 1 - Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials, & files on the National Youth Administration and women's organizations, 1918-1955
  • Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955: the administrative records of Mary McLeod Bethune as president of Bethune-Cookman College

Other online guides to materials not available at UCF can be found at the below link to UPA Microform Collection guides.

  • part 2 - correspondence files, 1914-1955
  • part 3 - subject files, 1939-1955
  • part 4 - administration of Bethune-Cookman College & the Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955

North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana (1944-1994)

  • 186 reels
  • 138-page guide -- Reference Z 688 .L4 J64 1999 guide

"Predominant throughout are primary sources, with secondary sources consisting mainly of research institutes' working papers and other similar types of scholarship. Strengths include politics, government, socioeconomic conditions, agriculture, solidarity groups, human & civil rights, racial groups, women & gender issues, culture, church & religion, and environment & ecology."

  • Caribbean. 1959-1991. 5 reels -- Microfilm F 2183 .C37 1997
  • Central America. 1964-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1436 .C46 1997
  • Latin America. 47 reels -- Microfilm F 1414 .L38 1997
  • Argentina. 1944-1991. 10 reels -- Microfilm F 2849 .A75 1997
  • Chile. 1959-1990. 50 reels -- Microfilm F 3099 .C54 1997
  • Cuba. 1956-1994. 24 reels -- Microfilm F 1788 .C8242 1997
  • Mexico. 1947-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1226 .M48 1998
  • Peru. 1961-1991. 7 reels -- Microfilm F 3448.2 .P48 1998
  • Puerto Rico. 1957-1991. 8 reels -- Microfilm F 1976 .P83 1998
  • Venezuela. 1964-1983. 3 reels -- Microfilm F 2321 .V45 1998