Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
The UCF Library has the digital collection, but does not have the microfilm version based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time"
Reference Z 1201.S2 1961
- Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926) (Gale)"an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials & other works...covering a span of 400 years in North, Central & South America, as well as the Caribbean...provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs & momentous events of the times."
American State Papers (1789-1838) and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817+)
- CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969
- CIS Index of Congressional Publications & Legislative Histories (1970+)
- The index for the microfiche is available in ProQuest Congressional
- Online versions
- ProQuest Congressional (1789+)
This link opens in a new window
access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress, including full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
Series D: Latin America
- British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Part I, From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series D, Latin America, 1845-1914Call Number: General Collection - 3rd Floor -- JZ 632 .B744v. 1. River Plate, 1849-1912 -- v. 2. Chile and Peru, 1865-1891 -- v. 3. Brazil, 1845-1894 -- v. 4. Mexico, 1861-1910 -- v. 5. Peru, 1871-1912 -- v. 6. Venezuela, 1879-1908 -- v. 7. Central America, 1856-1886 -- v. 8. 1887-1914 -- v. 9. The Latin American Republics, 1910-1914
"Latin America, 1845-1914 illuminates the internal and international affairs of Latin American countries from the mid-19th century to the onset of the First World War. Topics covered include the Clayton-Bulwer Treaty; the treatment of British subjects in Argentina; the Mosquito claims (Nicaragua); the Spanish-Peruvian War; the Peru-Chile "War of the Pacific"; U.S. designs on the Bay of Samana; the neutralization of the Straits of Magellan; attempted revolution in Haiti; railway concessions in Brazil; revolution in Colombia; Honduran external debt; revolution in Chile; claims arising from the Venezuelan revolution; the Panama Canal question; the Hay-Pauncefote Treaty; British arbitration in the Brazil-Bolivia-Paraguay boundary dispute; revolution in Panama; the Mexican agrarian situation; Anglo-Cuban commercial treaty; military report on Cuba; annual reports on the affairs of the Latin American republics; and the Platt Amendment."
"Latin America, 1914-1939 covers domestic and foreign affairs in Mexico, Central America, and Latin America for the years between the First and Second World Wars. Subjects include Latin America and World War I; Pan-American Conferences; Argentina and the Falkland Islands; U.S. relations with Latin American republics; crisis in church-state relations in Mexico; the Chaco War; the League of Nations and Latin American disputes; constitutional crisis in Cuba; the Montevideo Conference; the growth of the Brazilian Communist movement and attempted revolution in Brazil; quarterly reports on the economies of the Latin American republics; growth of German influence in Latin America; the Mexican political crisis; the rise of Anastasio Somoza; U.S.-Panamanian Canal Treaty; Nicaraguan-Honduran boundary dispute; Mexican oil concessions; and reports on leading Latin American personalities."
"The documents in Part III cover political, economic, and military affairs; present historical surveys; and record information on heads of missions and other key personalities in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, El Salvador, Uruguay, and Venezuela."
"Information from South America focuses on Argentina, Brazil, and Peru, although all South and Central American countries are covered. Revolutions and social policies and situations are monitored in detail. Government budgets or budget proposals are reported on for Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, and other countries. Researchers will be interested in observations on Britain's two noteworthy trouble spots in Latin America-the Falkland Islands question and its effect on Anglo- Argentinian relations, and the Hunduras question and its effect on Anglo-Guatemalan relations."
- British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part II, from the First to the Second World War. Series D, Latin America, 1914-1939Call Number: General Collection - 3rd Floor -- JZ 632 .B754v. 1. South America, 1914-1922 -- v. 2. Central America and Mexico, 1914-1922 -- v. 3. Central America and Mexico, 1920-1924 -- v. 4. South America and Mexico, 1924-1927 -- v. 5. South America and Mexico, 1927-1929 -- v. 6. Mexico, Central and South America, February 1929-June 1930 -- v. 7. Mexico, Central and South America, June 1930-August 1931 -- v. 8. Mexico, Central and South America, August 1931-July 1932 -- v. 9. Mexico, Central and South America, August 1932-May 1933 -- v. 10. Mexico, Central and South America, May 1933-March 1934 -- v. 11. Mexico, Central and South America, March 1934-June 1934 -- v. 12. Mexico, Central and South America, May 1934-January 1935 -- v. 13. Mexico, Central and South America, January 1935-July 1935 -- v. 14. Mexico, Central and South America, August 1935-February 1936 -- v. 15. Mexico, Central and South America, February 1936-June 1936 -- v. 16. Mexico, Central and South America, July 1936-January 1937 -- v. 17. Mexico, Central and South America, January 1937-October 1937 -- v. 18. Mexico, Central and South America, October 1937-June 1938 -- v. 19. Mexico, Central and South America, February 1938-March 1939 -- v. 20. Mexico, Central and South America, March 1939-October 1939.
- British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part III, From 1940 through 1945. Series D, Latin AmericaCall Number: General Collection - 3rd Floor -- JZ 632 .B764v. 1. South and Central America, January 1940-December 1940 -- v. 2. South and Central America, January 1941-December 1941 -- v. 3. South and Central America, January 1941-December 1941 -- v. 4. South and Central America, January 1942-June 1942-- v. 5. South and Central America, July 1942-December 1942 -- v. 6. South and Central America, January 1943-June 1943 -- v. 7. South and Central America, July 1943-December 1943 -- v. 8. South and Central America, January 1944-June 1944 -- v. 9. South and Central America, July 1944-December 1944 -- v. 10. South and Central America, January 1945-June 1945 -- v. 11. South and Central America, July 1945-December 1945.
- British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part IV, From 1946 through 1950. Series D, Latin AmericaCall Number: General Collection - 3rd Floor -- JZ 633.6. L29 B75v. 1. January 1946-June 1946 -- v. 2. July 1946-December 1946 -- v. 3. January-December 1947 -- v. 4. January-December 1947 -- v. 5. January-December 1948 -- v. 6. January-December 1948 -- v. 7. January-December 1949 -- v. 8. January-December 1950
- British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part V. From 1951 through 1956. Series D, Latin Americathese volumes are not held by UCF
Smithsonian Publications Relating to the North American Indian (1879-1971)
- Microfilm E 51 .U5...
- 42 reels
- 127-page guide -- Refererence E 51 .U5 Guide
- Part 1. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletins, 1887-1971 (Reels 1-27)
- Part 2. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual reports, 1879-1931 (Reels 28-42)
Some volumes are available in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set.
Some print and microfiche volumes are also available in the UCF Library:
- U.S. Documents SI 2.1:
- Special Collections E 51 .U55 (1903/04, 1912/13)
- Microfiche E 51 .U55 (1879/80-1930/31)
- Microfiche AC 1 .P25 no.838-840 ( 1899-1910)
List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles -- Reference GN 550 .S58 Guide
Other online sources for the Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology:
- 1879-1930 (Bibliothèque nationale de France)
- 1885/86 (University of Georgia)
- 1897/98 pt.1 (University of Georgia)
Van Sickle Leftist Pamphlet Collection (1900-1993)
- Special Collections -- Rare HX 15 .V35 no....
- Finding Aid
An assemblage of political pamphlets on socialism & communism. Many of the titles may be unique to UCF.
Search the UCF library catalog by series title "van sickle leftist" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports : Surveillance of Radicals in the United States, 1917-1941
- Microfilm HN 90 .R3 U5
- 34 reels
- 55-page guide -- Reference HN 90 .R3 U5
"Along with extensive data on radical activities, these records contain a wealth of detail on newly arrived immigrants (one of military intelligence’s favorite targets in the early years covered by the collection). Furthermore, the documents provide valuable inside information on the way in which antisubversive policies were planned and executed at high levels of the federal government, by regional military commanders, and by local authorities. The most copious records in the collection are those covering the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW). Also well covered in the collection is the incipient American Communist movement. Hardly neglected are various anarchist, socialist, social democratic, and civil libertarian groups whose activities caused concern among military intelligence officers."
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America & Caribbean (1930-1945)
- See separate entries below for Cuba, El Salvador, Honduras, & Nicaragua.
"Diplomatic post records are those kept at the embassies or legations rather than in Washington, as are the State Department's central files. For many countries in the years before 1945, the post records, if they have survived, are the researcher's preferred source. They contain the incoming messages from Washington, retained copies of outgoing dispatches, and--where diplomatic representatives were acting with some independence--much more locally gathered information and background material on decision making."
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, Cuba (1930-1945)
- Microfilm E 183.8 .C9 C66 1985
- 124 reels
- 2-volume guide -- Reference E 183.8 .C9 C66 1985
"Cuban post records for 1930-1945 offer extensive documentation of that country during the Depression and World War II. The Sumner Welles mission of 1933 and subsequent diplomatic issues are covered as well as the first administration of Fulgencio Batista."
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, El Salvador (1930-1945)
- Microfilm F 1486 .C6 1984
- 28 reels
- 51-page guide -- Reference F 1486 .C6 1984
"El Salvador during the same troubled years saw the regime of General Maximiliano Hernandez Martinez with his suppression of opposition groups, suspension of many civil liberties, and limited success in agrarian and labor reform before his overthrow in 1944."
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, Honduras (1930-1945)
- Microfilm F 1506 .C6 1983
- 42 reels
- 62-page guide -- Reference F 1506 .C6 1983
"Honduran post records trace the manner in which General Tiburcio Carias Andino gained the presidency in 1932 after years of unrest and quickly assumed dictatorial powers. There is also material on the supporting role of the United Fruit Company throughout this period."
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, Nicaragua (1930-1945)
- Microfilm F 1527 .C66 1984
- 38 reels
- 49-page guide -- Reference F 1527 .C66 1984
"The end of a long occupation by U.S. marines came to Nicaragua in 1933, but in 1937 began the presidential entrenchment of the head of the Guardia Nacional, Anastasio Somoza, who would last until his assassination in 1956. Why and in what ways Somoza benefited from official U.S. backing is well documented in this collection."
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Panama, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1930-1949)
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Mexico, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1940-1963)
- Microfilm F 1234 .C6...
- Microfilm F1235 .C6...
- 289 reels
- 10-volume guide
- Internal Affairs, 1940-1963
- Foreign Affairs, 1950-1963
- subject-numeric files, February 1963-1966, part 1, political, governmental & national defense affairs [not available at UCF] - guide
OSS State Department Intelligence & Research Reports, Latin America (1941-1961)
- Microfilm F 1414.2 .L328 1981
- 10 reels
- 56-page guide -- Reference F 1414.2 .L328 1981
"Latin American coverage contains 369 reports, some as brief as two pages, but including 54 that range upward of 50 pages each. These reports are not contained in the State Department's foreign relations series, the armed forces' official histories, or any subscription service of declassified documents."
North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Archive of Latin Americana (1944-1994)
- 186 reels
- 138-page guide -- Reference Z 688 .L4 J64 1999 guide
"Predominant throughout are primary sources, with secondary sources consisting mainly of research institutes' working papers and other similar types of scholarship. Strengths include politics, government, socioeconomic conditions, agriculture, solidarity groups, human & civil rights, racial groups, women & gender issues, culture, church & religion, and environment & ecology."
- Caribbean. 1959-1991. 5 reels -- Microfilm F 2183 .C37 1997
- Central America. 1964-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1436 .C46 1997
- Latin America. 47 reels -- Microfilm F 1414 .L38 1997
- Argentina. 1944-1991. 10 reels -- Microfilm F 2849 .A75 1997
- Chile. 1959-1990. 50 reels -- Microfilm F 3099 .C54 1997
- Cuba. 1956-1994. 24 reels -- Microfilm F 1788 .C8242 1997
- Mexico. 1947-1992. 16 reels -- Microfilm F 1226 .M48 1998
- Peru. 1961-1991. 7 reels -- Microfilm F 3448.2 .P48 1998
- Puerto Rico. 1957-1991. 8 reels -- Microfilm F 1976 .P83 1998
- Venezuela. 1964-1983. 3 reels -- Microfilm F 2321 .V45 1998
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Argentina, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1945-1949, 1955-1959)
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba, Internal & Foreign Affairs (1945-1963)
- Microfilm F 1787.5 .C6...
- Microfilm F 1787.5 .C66 1999
- 148 reels
- 5-volume guide
- 1945-1949 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
- 1950-1954 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
- 1955-1959 Internal & Foreign Affairs guide
- 1960-Jan. 1963 Internal Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
- 1960-Jan. 1963 Foreign Affairs guide (paper copy missing)
- subject-numeric files, 2/63-1966, part 1 guide [microfilm not available at UCF]
CIA Research Reports: Latin America, 1946-1976
- Microfilm F 1414 .L46 1982
- 5 reels
- 22-page guide -- Reference F 1414 .L46 1982
|
|
|
The United States & Castro's Cuba, 1950-1970, the Paterson Collection (1950-1970)
- Microfilm E 183.8 .C9 U55 1998
- 22 reels
- 9-page guide on reel 1
American Universities Field Staff Reports
- List of Publications of the American Universities Field Staff (January 1952-December 1967)Call Number: Reference Z 6003 .A6 1952-1967Master Table of Contents for the following series:
- East Asia
- Southeast Asia
- South Asia
- Southwest Asia
- North Africa
- Northeast Africa
- East Africa
- Central & Southern Africa
- West Africa
- Southeast Europe
- West Europe
- Mexico & Caribbean Area
- East Coast South America
- West Coast South America
- Polar Area - Mexico & Caribbean Area SeriesCall Number: General Collection F 1401 .A55- General
- Central America
- Cuba
- El Salvador
- Guatemala
- Mexico - East Coast South America SeriesCall Number: General Collection F 2214 .A65- General
- Argentina
- Brazil
- Uruguay
- Venezuela - West Coast South America SeriesCall Number: General Collection F 2213 .A65- General
- Bolivia
- Chile
- Ecuador
- Peru
The John F. Kennedy National Security Files, Latin America (1961-1963)
- Microfilm F 1418 .J6 1987
- 10 reels
- 280-page guide -- Reference F 1418 .J6 1987
- online guides to materials not available at UCF:
The Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, Latin America (1963-1969)
- Microfilm F 1418 .L93 1987
- Microfilm F 1418 .L94 1999
- 26 reels
- 367-page guide & supplement guide -- Reference F 1418 .L93 1987