Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: Native Americans

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

History Resource Center: U.S. (1492+)

"In addition to e-text, users may also view original page facsimiles of many of these documents by clicking the View Image button within a document"

American Culture Series (1493-1951)

  • Microfilm E 169.1 .A47
  • 643 reels
  • 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include

  • Art & Architecture (274 titles)
  • History (1,574 titles)
  • Literature & Languages (903 titles)
  • Music (45 titles)
  • Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
  • Economics (578 titles)
  • Education (135 titles)
  • Journalism (58 titles)
  • Politics & Law (311 titles)
  • Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
  • Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
  • Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

The UCF Library has the digital collection, but does not have the microfilm version based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time"
Reference Z 1201.S2 1961

Western Americana (1528-1951)

  • Microfiche (call number varies)
  • 990 titles on microfiche
  • 107-page guide -- Reference F591.W47 Guide

1,012 books and documents, primarily of the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, on the American West.

Search the UCF library catalog by the series title "Western Americana" or by individual titles to identify unique call numbers.

Jesuit Missionaries (1610-1791)

Print volumes, included on this guide because of related content.

"The story of New France is also, in part, the story of much of New England, and of States whose shores are washed by the Great Lakes and the Mississippi River."

Iroquois Indians: a Documentary History of the Diplomacy of the Six Nations and Their League (1613-1921)

  • Microfilm E 99 .I7 I7
  • 50 reels
  • 718 page guide -- Reference E 99 .I7 I7

Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans (1639-1800)

"Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable."

The UCF Library does not have the microform collection, but does have the various print bibliographies and online access to the Evans portion:

  • American Bibliography (Evans, 1639-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92
  • Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography (Bristol, 1646-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92334
  • American Bibliography (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819) -- Reference Z 1215 .S48
  • American Imprints (Shoemaker, 1820-1846) -- Reference Z 1215 .S5

See also: American Culture Series and PCMI Library Collection.

Draper Manuscripts (1650-1891)

  • Microfilm F 591 .F7
  • 123 reels
  • 464-page guide -- Reference F 591 .F7
  • reel list (Truman State University)

Manuscripts collected by Lyman Draper (1815-1891) chiefly on the history of the trans-Allegheny West. Occasionally referred to as the "Draper Papers."

Records of the British Colonial Office, Class 5 (1700-1784)

  • Microfilm E 162 .R434
  • 2-volume guide -- Reference E 162 .R434
  • Part 1 Westward Expansion, 1700-1784. 12 reels - guide
  • Part 2 The Board of Trade [not available at UCF] - guide
  • Part 3 French and Indian War, 1753-1763. 8 reels - guide
  • Part 4 Royal Instructions & Commissions to Colonial Officials, 1702-1771 [not available at UCF] - guide
  • Part 5 American Revolution, 1772-1784. 15 reels - guide

Baynton, Wharton and Morgan Papers in the Pennsylvania State Archives (1757-1787)

  • Microfilm HF 3025 .B38
  • 10 reels
  • 29-page guide -- Reference HF 3025 .B38 (brief guide from Pennsylvania State Archives)

 "The correspondence and business papers of a famous trading house of colonial Philadelphia. Since the firm was involved in trade with other colonies, with Europe, with the West Indies, and--increasingly--with Indians & settlers in the western country, its papers are rich in information on the movements of trade in the years between the French & Indian War and the American Revolution, on the early development of the Illinois country, on the fur trade, on the supply of provisions for military posts, and generally on the role of this Philadelphia business establishment in westward expansion."

American State Papers (1789-1838) and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817+)

  • CIS U.S. Serial Set Index / American State Papers, 1789-1969
  • CIS Index of Congressional Publications & Legislative Histories (1970+)
  • The index for the microfiche is available in LexisNexis Congressional
  • Online versions

Isaac McCoy Papers, 1808-1874

  • Microfilm E 98 .M65 M3535
  • 13 reels
  • 9-page guide -- Reference E 98 .M65 M3535
  • finding aid (Kansas State Historical Society)

Papers of Rev. Isaac McCoy (1784-1846), Baptist minister, Indian missionary and surveyor.

The Jotham Meeker Papers, 1825-1864

  • Microfilm E 98 .M65 M64
  • 2 reels
  • 5-page guide -- Reference E 98 .M65 M64
  • finding aid (Kansas State Historical Society)

Papers of Rev. Jotham Meeker (1804-1855), Baptist minister, Indian missionary and printer

American Indian Correspondence: the Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893

  • Microfilm E 98 .M6 A4
  • 35 reels
  • 100-page guide -- Reference E 98 .M6 A4

Indian Rights Association. Papers, 1868-1968

  • Microfilm E 93 .I46
  • 136 reels
  • 233-page guide -- Reference E 93 .I46

Smithsonian Publications Relating to the North American Indian (1879-1971)

  • Microfilm E 51 .U5...
  • 42 reels
  • 127-page guide -- Refererence E 51 .U5 Guide
  • Part 1. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletins, 1887-1971 (Reels 1-27)
  • Part 2. Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual reports, 1879-1931 (Reels 28-42)

Some volumes are available in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set.

Some print and microfiche volumes are also available in the UCF Library:

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles -- Reference GN 550 .S58 Guide

Other online sources for the Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology:

A Guide to Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States (1894-1943)

  • 8-page guide-- Reference E 93 .U6773 Guide -- for the three following sets:
    • South Dakota Emergency Relief Administration
      Survey of Indian Reservations, 1935.
      • Microfilm E 78 .S63 S7
      • 3 reels
    • United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs
      Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States. 1928-1943
      • Microfilm E 93 .U6773
      • 8 reels
    • United States. Superintendent for the Five Civilized Tribes
      Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes. 1894-1920
      • Microfilm E 78 .I5 U85
      • 3 reels