Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: Papers of...

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

See Also: Public Papers of U.S. Presidents

Catholic Church. Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas. Microfilm edition of the records of the Diocese of Louisiana and the Floridas, 1576-1803

  • Microfilm CD 3269 .A2 C32
  • 12 reels
  • 45-page guide -- Reference CD 3269 .A2 C32

Microfilm of manuscript collection in the University of Notre Dame Archives.

Draper Manuscripts (1650-1891)

  • Microfilm F 591 .F7
  • 123 reels
  • 464-page guide -- Reference F 591 .F7
  • reel list (Truman State University)

Manuscripts collected by Lyman Draper (1815-1891) chiefly on the history of the trans-Allegheny West. Occasionally referred to as the "Draper Papers."

Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts. Papers, 1702-1799

  • Microfilm BV 2500 .A6 S62
  • 17 reels
  • No guide is available

Until the American Revolution, more than three hundred missionaries were sent into the colonies by this Anglican group.

The Jefferson Papers of the University of Virginia, 1732-1828

  • Microfilm E 332 .J654 1977
  • 10 reels
  • 96-page guide -- Reference E 332 .J654 1977 (guide is also available online at University of Virginia)

See also the Thomas Jefferson Papers at the Library of Congress.

Amherst, Jeffery Amherst, 1st Baron, 1717-1797. Official Papers, 1740-1783

  • Microfilm DA 67.1 .A43
  • 202 reels
  • 6-page guide -- Reference DA 67.1 .A43

U. S. and Canadian history. Official Papers & Correspondence of Jeffery, 1st Baron Amherst, Commander-in-Chief of the British Forces in North America, 1758-64, Governor-General of British North America, 1760, absentee Governor of Virginia 1763-1768, Governor of Guernsey 1770, Privy Councillor 1772, officiating Commander-in-Chief at home 1772-1782, Commander-in-Chief 1793-95, Field Marshal 1796.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (1749-1949)

Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, including:

  • British Foreign Office:
    • Japan Correspondence, 1856-1923
  • Despatches from U.S. Consuls in China, Siam, Java, Netherlands East Indies, Philippine Islands, Vietnam
  • Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Correspondence, 1846-1949 (China, Japan, Korea)
  • Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in China (1849-1931) and in Japan (1855-1912)

British Politics & Society, including:

  • British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1906
  • Home Office Papers & Records, Registered Papers, Disturbances Entry Books, Domestic Entry Books, Post Office Correspondence, Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861
  • Papers of
    • Charles James Fox, 1749-1806
    • Sir Robert Peel (Prime Minister, 1834-5, 1841-5 & 1845-6)
    • John Cam Hobhouse, 1809-1869
  • Rare Radical & Labour Periodicals of Great Britain
  • Working Class Autobiographies
  • Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the "Jack the Ripper" Killings

British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture, including:

  • British Playbills, 1754-1882
  • Drury Lane Theatre Archive; Manuscript Plays & Correspondence
  • King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
  • Popular Literature in 18th & 19th Century Britain
  • Wandering Minstrels Archive
  • Royal Philharmonic Society Archive & Music Manuscripts

Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization & Conquest, including:

  • Colonial African Newspapers
  • Despatches from U.S. Consuls in British Africa, British West Africa, Cape Colony, Cape Verde Islands, Congo, Dakar, Gaboon, Gambia, Liberia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, St. Helena, Sierra Leone, The Transvaal, Zanzibar
  • International Population Census, Africa
  • Personal Narratives & Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa
  • Selected Colonial Office Files, Foreign Office Files, and India Office Files on Africa
  • Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa
  • Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa

European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection

  • 3,250+ works by 1,250+ authors in English (more than 1,000 titles by women)
  • 3,658 works in French (more than 500 by women)
  • 2,654 works in German

Photography: The World through the Lens, including:

  • History of Photography
  • Photographs from British Admiralty Office, British Colonial Office, Victoria & Albert Museum, Royal Archives
  • British Journal of Photography & Annual, 1854-1914
  • Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science & Industry Collection
  • Albums from David Octavius Hill & Robert Adamson, 1843-1848
  • Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period

Science, Technology & Medicine: 1780-1925, including:

  • American Medical Periodicals
  • Astronomy & Astrophysics
  • Civil Engineering
  • Color Theory & Practice
  • Electricity & Electromagnetism
  • Evolution & the Origin of Species
  • Mathematics
  • Scientific & Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London's Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900

Women: Transnational Networks, including:

  • British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political & Economic Sciences: 1800-1947
  • Diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845
  • Elizabeth Cady Stanton
  • Quaker Women's Diaries: 18th-19th Centuries

Baynton, Wharton and Morgan Papers in the Pennsylvania State Archives (1757-1787)

  • Microfilm HF 3025 .B38
  • 10 reels
  • 29-page guide -- Reference HF 3025 .B38 (brief guide from Pennsylvania State Archives)

 "The correspondence and business papers of a famous trading house of colonial Philadelphia. Since the firm was involved in trade with other colonies, with Europe, with the West Indies, and--increasingly--with Indians & settlers in the western country, its papers are rich in information on the movements of trade in the years between the French & Indian War and the American Revolution, on the early development of the Illinois country, on the fur trade, on the supply of provisions for military posts, and generally on the role of this Philadelphia business establishment in westward expansion."

The Papers of Aaron Burr (1757-1836)

  • Microfilm E 302.6 .B9 B9
  • 27 reels
  • 100-page guide -- Reference E 302.6 .B9 B9

Burr, Aaron, 1756-1836.

  • Series I: Letters written by and to Burr, the records of his public career, & miscellaneous business records such as receipts, promissory notes, & deeds. (Reels 1-11)
  • Series II: Orderly books kept by Burr during the Revolution and the Journal kept by him for the period 1808-1812. (Reel 12)
  • Series III: Records of Burr's legal practice, 1782-1836. (Reels 13-27)

Sir Frederick Haldimand: Unpublished Papers and Correspondence, 1758-1784

  • Microfilm F 1032 .H34
  • 115 reels
  • 18-page guide -- Reference F 1032 .H34

Haldimand, Frederick, Sir. 1718-1791.

Canadian & U.S./Florida history. The official and private correspondence and papers of General Sir Frederick Haldimand, Commander of posts at Three Rivers, Pensacola and St. Augustine 1758-1777, Acting Commander in Chief in North America 1773-1774, and Governor of Quebec 1778-1784, from the British Library.

William Wirt Papers (1786-1850)

  • Microfilm E 340 .W79 B6
  • 24 reels
  • 23-page guide -- Reference E 340 .W79 B6

Wirt, William, 1772-1834.

Over 8,000 items from the papers of a successful author and eminent lawyer who was Attorney General of the United States from 1817-1829.

Isaac McCoy Papers, 1808-1874

  • Microfilm E 98 .M65 M3535
  • 13 reels
  • 9-page guide -- Reference E 98 .M65 M3535
  • finding aid (Kansas State Historical Society)

Papers of Rev. Isaac McCoy (1784-1846), Baptist minister, Indian missionary and surveyor.

The Jotham Meeker Papers, 1825-1864

  • Microfilm E 98 .M65 M64
  • 2 reels
  • 5-page guide -- Reference E 98 .M65 M64
  • finding aid (Kansas State Historical Society)

Papers of Rev. Jotham Meeker (1804-1855), Baptist minister, Indian missionary and printer

The Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. Anthony (1831-1906)

  • Microfilm HQ 1413 .S67 S7 1992
  • 45 reels
  • 203-page guide -- Reference HQ 1413 .S67 S7 1992
  • ser. 1. The Revolution (1868-1872) (reels 1-3)
  • ser. 2. National Woman Suffrage Association collection (1880), Chicago Historical Society (reels 4-5)
  • ser. 3. Chronological collection, 1831-1906 (reels 6-45)
  • Selected materials are available online (Rutgers University)

American Indian Correspondence: the Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893

  • Microfilm E 98 .M6 A4
  • 35 reels
  • 100-page guide -- Reference E 98 .M6 A4

Great Northern Railway Company Papers, Part I, 1862-1922 (1862-1946)

  • Microfilm HE 2791 .G775
  • 25 reels
  • 23-page guide -- Reference HE 2791 .G775

Most of the material is concerned with the period prior to 1923.

  • Series A: Board of Directors' minutes and corporate histories
  • series B: labor
  • series C: settlement and development.

Northern Pacific Railway Company Papers, Part I, 1864-1922 (1864-1945)

  • Microfilm HE 2791 .N587
  • Microfilm HE 2791 .N857
  • 25 reels
  • 22-page guide -- Reference HE 2791 .N587

Most of the material is concerned with the period prior to 1923.

  • Series A: Board of Directors' minutes and corporate histories
  • series B: labor
  • series C: settlement and development.

Indian Rights Association. Papers, 1868-1968

  • Microfilm E 93 .I46
  • 136 reels
  • 233-page guide -- Reference E 93 .I46

The Samuel Milton Jones Papers (1892-1906)

  • Microfilm F 499 .T6 J659 1976
  • 15 reels
  • 95-page guide -- Reference F 499 .T6 J659 1976

Samuel Milton Jones was the mayor of Toledo, Ohio, from 1897 to 1904. The collection is a rich source of primary materials documenting the development of liberal thought and political action in the United States.

Papers of the NAACP (1909-1950)

  • Microfilm HN 53 .N375
  • 91 reels
  • 4-volume guide -- Reference HN 53 .N375
  • part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports, 1909-1950
  • part 2 : personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials, 1919-1939
  • part 3 : the campaign for educational equality; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1913-1950

Online guides to the following parts not available at UCF are available at the UPA Microform Collection link below:

  • part 1 : meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, & special reports
    • supplement 1 (1951-1955)
    • supplement 2 (1956-1960)
    • supplement 3 (1961-1965)
    • supplement 4 (1966-1970)
  • part 3 : the campaign for educational equality;
    • series C (1951-1955) - Legal Department & Central Office records
    • series D (1956-1965) - General Office Files
  • part 4 : the voting rights campaign, 1916-1965
    • (1916-1950)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
  • part 5 : the campaign against residential segregation, 1914-1965
    • (1914-1955)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
  • part 6 : the Scottsboro Case, 1931-1950
  • part 7 : the Anti-Lynching Campaign, 1912-1955
    • series A (1912-1953) - Anti-Lynching Investigative Files
    • series B (1916-1955) - Anti-Lynching Legislation & Publicity Files
  • part 8 : discrimination in the criminal justice system; Legal Department & Central Office records, 1910-1955
    • series A (1910-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955)
  • part 9 : discrimination in the U.S. Armed Forces, 1918-1955
    • series A (1918-1955) - General Office Files, Armed Forces Affairs
    • series B (1940-1950) - Armed Forces Legal Files
    • series C (1940-1950) - the Veterans Affairs Committee
  • part 10 : peonage, labor, & the New Deal, 1913-1939
  • part 11 : special subject files, 1912-1939
  • part 12 : selected branch files, 1913-1939
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 13 : the NAACP & labor, 1940-1955
    • series A - subject files on labor conditions & employment discrimination
    • series B - cooperation with organized labor
    • series C - Legal Department files on labor
    • supplement (1956-1965)
  • part 14 : race relations in the international arena, 1940-1955
  • part 15 : segregation & discrimination: complaints & responses, 1940-1955
    • series A - Legal Department files
    • series B - administrative files
  • part 16 : Board of Directors correspondence & committee materials, 1919-1955
    • series A (1919-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955)
    • supplement 1 (1956-1965)
    • supplement 2 (1966-1970)
  • part 17 : national staff files, 1940-1955 & supplement, 1956-1965
  • part 18 : special subjects, 1940-1955
    • series A - Legal Department files
    • series B - general office files: abolition of government agencies - Jews
    • series C - general office files: Justice Department White Supremacy
  • part 19 : youth file
    • series A (1919-1939)
    • series B (1940-1955) - American-Jewish Congress - Motion Picture Project
    • series C (1940-1955) - NAACP - Youth Builders
    • series D (1956-1965)
  • part 20 : white resistance & reprisals, 1956-1965
  • part 21 : NAACP relations with the modern civil rights movement
  • part 22 : Legal Department administrative files, 1956-1965
  • part 23 : Legal Department case files
    • series A (1956-1965) - The South
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Alabama, Arkansas, & Florida
        • section 2 - Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, & Virginia
        • section 3 - Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, & Texas
    • series B (1956-1965) - The Northeast
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Main, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania & Rhode Island
        • section 2 - New York
    • series C (1956-1965) - The Mid & Far West
      • supplement (1960-1972)
        • section 1 - Ohio
        • section 2 - Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, West Virginia, & Wisconsin
  • part 24 : special subjects, 1956-1965
    • series A - Africa - films
    • series B - foreign affairs - leagues & organizations
    • series C - life memberships - Zangrando
  • part 25 : branch department files
    • series A (1941-1955) - regional files & special reports
    • series B (1956-1965) - regional files & special reports
    • series C - branch newsletters & printed matter
    • series D (1956-1965) - branch department general subject files
  • part 26 : selected branch files, 1940-1955
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 27 : selected branch files, 1956-1965
    • series A - The South
    • series B - The Northeast
    • series C - The Midwest
    • series D - The West
  • part 28 : special subject files, 1966-1970
    • series A - Africa-Poor People's Campaign
    • series B - Powell, Adam Clayton-White Supremacy
  • part 29 : branch department files
    • series A - field staff files, 1965-1972
    • series B - branch newsletters, annual branch activities reports & selected branch department subject files, 1966-1972
    • series C - branch newsletters & printed matter, 1966-1971
    • series D - branch department general subject files, 1966-1970
  • part 30 : general office subject files, 1966-1972
    • series A - subject files

Mary McLeod Bethune Papers (1918-1955)

  • Microfilm E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • 32 reels
  • 2-volume guide -- Reference E 185.97 .B34 B3...
  • part 1 - Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials, & files on the National Youth Administration and women's organizations, 1918-1955
  • Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955: the administrative records of Mary McLeod Bethune as president of Bethune-Cookman College

Other online guides to materials not available at UCF can be found at the below link to UPA Microform Collection guides.

  • part 2 - correspondence files, 1914-1955
  • part 3 - subject files, 1939-1955
  • part 4 - administration of Bethune-Cookman College & the Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955

The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality (1944-1968)

  • Microfilm E 185.5 .C88
  • 25 reels
  • 77-page guide -- Reference E 185.5 .C88

"Papers that trace the history of CORE as a local and national organization and document its role in the civil rights struggles of this time period. The period covered most thoroughly is 1959 - 1964. The papers in the main collection are arranged in series according to the offices and departments by which they were designated when sent to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. Each series is arranged alphabetically by subject and each subject is arranged chronologically. The "Addendum" is a microfilm edition of the CORE papers held at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change, Inc. in Atlanta."

The main collection is 49 reels. UCF only has the 25 reel Addendum.

Claude A. Barnett Papers: Part I: Associated Negro Press News Releases, 1928-1964 (1945-1964)

  • Microfilm PN 4882.5 .S35
  • 54 reels
  • 55-page guide -- Reference PN 4882.5 .S35

Barnett founded and directed the Associated Negro Press.

UCF Library has Series B (1945-1955) and Series C (1956-1964).

Other online guides to materials not available at UCF:

  • part 2 - Associated Negro Press organizational files, 1920-1966 - guide
  • part 3 - subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967 - guide

The John F. Kennedy 1960 Campaign (1953-1960)

  • Microfilm E 837.7 .J641
  • 22 reels
  • part 1 - polls, issues & strategy - 39-page guide
  • part 2 - speeches, press conferences, & debates - 79-page guide

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972

  • Microfilm E 185.61 .S916 1981
  • 73 reels
  • 132-page guide -- Reference E 185.61 .S916 1981

"Microfilm edition of the papers of the SNCC in the Library and Archives of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Center for Nonviolent Change, Atlanta, Ga."

Civil Rights During the Kennedy Administration, 1961-1963

  • Microfilm JC 599 .U5 C49 1986
  • 28 reels
  • guide -- General Collection JC 599 .U5 C49 1986 Guide

pt. 2. The Papers of Burke Marshall, Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights

UCF does not have Pt. 1. The White House central files and staff files, and the president's office files (19 reels)

The Free Southern Theater Records, 1963-1978

  • Microfilm PN 2277 .N4 F76
  • 47 reels
  • 76-page guide -- Reference PN 2277 .N4 F76

In 1963, the Free Southern Theater was organized by John O'Neal and Gilbert Moses to act as a cultural and educational extension for the Civil Rights Movement in the South.

Arranged by four major series with subseries: Administrative Series, Theater Production Series, General Correspondence Series, Financial Records Series.