Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Microfilm and Microfiche: Literature

identifies the microfilm and microfiche collections of UCF, plus some related digital and print collections

American Memory Historical Collections (Library of Congress) (1490+)

The American Memory Historical Collections, a major component of the Library's National Digital Library Program, are multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

American Culture Series (1493-1951)

  • Microfilm E 169.1 .A47
  • 643 reels
  • 471-page guide -- Reference E 169.1 .A47

American Culture Series, 1493-1875. -- Early American books and pamphlets. ACS I is a single complete unit of about 250 titles arranged in chronological order, 1493-1806, on 26 reels. ACS II consists of more than 5,500 titles arranged in categories repeated in 20 units on reels 27-643. The ACS II units are not chronological; each of the units may contain books or pamphlets published between 1604 and 1951. The ACS II categories include

  • Art & Architecture (274 titles)
  • History (1,574 titles)
  • Literature & Languages (903 titles)
  • Music (45 titles)
  • Philosophy, Psychology & Religion (472 titles)
  • Economics (578 titles)
  • Education (135 titles)
  • Journalism (58 titles)
  • Politics & Law (311 titles)
  • Military & Naval History & Science (293 titles)
  • Anthropology & Sociology (240 titles)
  • Sciences--astronomy, botany, chemistry, geography, geology, mathematics, medicine, physics, & zoology (683 titles).

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and PCMI Library Collection.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

The UCF Library has the digital collection, but does not have the microfilm version based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time"
Reference Z 1201.S2 1961

Women Writers Project (1526-1850)

Gerritsen Collection of Women's History (1543-1945)

  • Microfilm/Microfiche HQ 1121 .G47
  • 2 volume guide -- Reference HQ 1121 .G47

International coverage. Includes 4,311 monographs and 265 serials on 17,500 microfiche and 241 reels of microfilm.

Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans (1639-1800)

"Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable."

The UCF Library does not have the microform collection, but does have the various print bibliographies and online access to the Evans portion:

  • American Bibliography (Evans, 1639-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92
  • Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography (Bristol, 1646-1800) -- Reference Z 1215 .E92334
  • American Bibliography (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819) -- Reference Z 1215 .S48
  • American Imprints (Shoemaker, 1820-1846) -- Reference Z 1215 .S5

See also: American Culture Series and PCMI Library Collection.

English Literary Periodicals (1681-1914)

  • Microfilm PR 1 .E53
  • 969 reels
  • 96-page guide -- Reference PR 1 .E532

Consists of 341 titles published in Great Britain during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Although predominantly literary in nature, these periodicals nevertheless encompass a wide variety of subject matter and thus provide a wealth of information about the cultural life of the times.

The electronic index was incomplete, but growing; it was canceled due to budget cuts. The print index provides very limited subject access to the complete set and is shelved in the UCF Library's Reference Collection. About twenty-five of the periodicals in this collection are at least partially indexed in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature [Reference AI 3 .P7] (1802-1906).

Search the UCF library catalog by individual periodical title (i.e., Journal/Magazine Title: "albemarle") for call numbers, then get reel number from the note in the catalog record; or search by series title (Title: "english literary periodicals") for a list of titles. Some titles listed in the print index are not yet listed in the library catalog, but are available in the microfilm.

 

PCMI Library Collection (1692-1967)

  • Microfiche AC 1 .P25

Full text reproductions on ultrafiche of works from American civilization, literature, humanities, science & technology, and social sciences. No guide is available, but the individual titles are included in the UCF library catalog.

Browse the UCF library catalog by call number

See also: Early American Imprints. Series I. Evans and American Culture Series.

American Periodical Series. American Periodicals, 1741-1935

  • APS I, 1741-1799, 33 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A387 -- 2-volume guide -- Reference AP 2 .A387 Guide
  • APS II, 1800-1850, 1,966 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A388 -- 341-page guide -- Reference AP 2 .A388 Guide
  • APS III, 1850-1935, 771 reels -- Microfilm AP 2 .A389

Includes more than 1,100 periodicals.

American Periodical Series Online is incomplete, but growing, and provides full text access. American Periodicals Index (subscription canceled) is also incomplete, but may have some coverage not yet included in the full text database.

American Periodical Series covers all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending from 1741 to 1935. The full text of the actual periodicals are in the UCF Library in three microfilm collections (often referred to as APS I, APS II and APS III). You may find the CD-ROM version available in the Library's Electronic Reference Area easier to use. The print index provides very limited subject access to the complete series and is shelved in the UCF Library's Reference Collection [REF AP2.A388]. A more detailed 2-volume print index is available for APS I [REF AP2.A387], providing citations to specific articles. Nearly one hundred of the periodicals in the APS II & APS III collections are at least partially indexed in Poole's Index to Periodical Literature [REF AI3.P7] (1802-1906). See also Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature [Gen Coll AI3.R48] for some indexing of articles from 1890-1935.

Search the UCF library catalog by individual periodical title (i.e., Journal/Magazine Title: "american apollo") for call numbers, then get reel number from the series note in the catalog record; or search by series title (Journal/Magazine Title: "american periodical series") for a list of titles.

American Prose Fiction (1774-1900)

  • Microfilm PS 535 .W7
  • 1,400 reels
  • 416-page guide -- Reference PS 535 .W7
  • related online guides for American Fiction, 1774-1910 and 1911-1920
  • Many of the titles from 1851-1875 are also available online.

"Among the prose forms represented in this series are romances, short stories, fictitious biographies, travels and sketches, and allegories. Although the earliest writings reveal a preoccupation with travel, adventure, temperance, and matrimony, by the mid-1800's many authors began turning to more serious themes, such as slavery and the war, women's rights, westward migration, and social reform. In the last quarter of the century, as the U.S. began to emerge as a modern industrial nation, writers portrayed the diverse life-styles of the population. The collection contains all of the obtainable titles, 10,827 items in all, cited by Lyle H. Wright in his three definitive bibliographies,"

  • American Fiction 1774-1850 -- Reference PS 375 .W67
  • American Fiction 1851-1875 -- Reference PS 375 .W68
  • American Fiction 1876-1900 -- Reference PS 375 .W69