eBooks - Research and Writing
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition by
First Edition a 2013 Doody' Core Title and AJN Book of the Year Award Winner This text provides top-tier guidance for DNP students, graduate faculty, APRNs, and other health care providers on how to use available research for improving patient outcomes and reducing costs. It is the only resource written expressly to meet the objectives of DNP courses. This second edition is completely updated and features three new approaches umbrella reviews, mixed-method reviews, and other types of reviews for seeking, synthesizing, and interpreting available evidence to improve the delivery of patient care. The text also includes two new examples of completed systematic reviews and two completed proposals. The book presents, clearly and comprehensively, the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational comprehensive systematic review (CSR). It encompasses the complexities of the entire process, from asking clinical questions to getting the evidence into practice. The text includes question-specific methods and analysis and compares CSR methods, literature reviews, integrated reviews, and meta-studies. It describes how to find and appraise relevant studies, including the non-published grey literature and criteria for selecting or excluding studies, and describes how to use the results in practice. Also examined are ways to disemminate findings to benefit clinical practice and support best practices, and how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Plentiful examples, including two completed proposals and two completed systematic reviews, demonstrate every step of the process. An expanded resource chapter that can serve as a toolkit for conducting a systematic review is also provided. The text covers useful software and includes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, suggested reading, and references. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Three new chapters presenting new systematic review approaches: umbrella reviews, mixed-method reviews, and other types of reviews including rapid and scoping reviews and reviews of text and opinionTwo new examples of completed systematic reviewsCompletely updated content throughoutDetailed information to foster systematic review research question development, efficient literature searches, and management of references KEY FEATURES: Delivers the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a CSR from start to finishServes as the only CSR resource written expressly for the APRNDescribes useful software for conducting a systematic reviewProvides rich examples including two completed CSRsIncludes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, suggested reading, and referencesAccompanied by a comprehensive toolkit of resources for completing a systematic review
ISBN: 0826131859Publication Date: 2017
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
ISBN: 9781940446974Publication Date: 2017
Writing for Publication in Nursing (3rd Edition) by
"Designated a Doody's Core Title " Praise for the Second Edition ""Provides helpful tips for all levels of writing and is a comprehensive, solid reference for any nurse who plans to write for publication."" --"BookEnds" ""Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, " ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆ --"Doody's" The ability to communicate in writing is an essential skill, particularly for nurses at the graduate level. This is a best-selling, comprehensive, and widely used resource on writing for nurse clinicians, faculty, researchers, and graduate students. It covers all kinds of writing that beginning and experienced nurse authors may be required or choose to undertake: journal articles, book chapters, and preparing manuscripts from course work. Brimming with helpful examples, the book takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing, from the generation of an idea through searching the nursing literature, preparing an outline, writing and revising a draft, and submitting the finished product for publication. In addition to being extensively updated, the third edition features new chapters on writing articles reporting quality improvement studies and on open-access publications. New writing samples have been added that illustrate how to present multiple types of research and writing for various types of journals and other venues. The book describes how to select an appropriate journal and gear the writing for the intended audience, submit a manuscript, and respond to reviewers. It provides strategies for searching bibliographic databases, analyzing and synthesizing the literature, and writing a literature review. Information is included on developing manuscripts from theses and dissertations, writing a paper with multiple authors, and when and how to include tables or figures. Ethical considerations are also addressed. FEATURED IN THE THIRD EDITION: Selecting the right journal for publication using web resources and moreSelecting and searching bibliographic databases for synthesizing literatureDeveloping literature reviews for target audiences of research versus clinical papersDisseminating research to researchers versus cliniciansWriting quality improvement reports and evidence-based practice articlesWriting papers for clinical journalsPublishing innovations in clinical practice and unit-based initiativesPublishing in open-access journals and important considerationsTurning capstone projects, theses, and dissertations into manuscriptsWorking with coauthors and student/faculty collaborationsResponding to peer reviewsAvoiding abuses of authorship and copyright issues Marilyn H. Oermann, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, is the Thelma M. Ingles Professor of Nursing and Director of Evaluation and Educational Research at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of 15 nursing education books and many articles on evaluation, teaching in nursing, and writing for publication. She is the editor of "Nurse Educator" and the "Journal of Nursing Care Quality." Dr. Oermann lectures widely on teaching and evaluation in nursing and on writing for publication. Judith C. Hays, PhD, RN, FGSA, is Associate Professor Emerita at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of a psychiatric epidemiology textbook and more than 70 scientific articles on late-life living arrangements, religiousness, depression, palliative care and bereavement, and nu
ISBN: 9780826119926Publication Date: 2016
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Second Edition, is designed to help nurses bridge the gap between incomplete sentences and a published manuscript. The book s contributors include the best and the brightest from publishing today. Most of the contributors have experience as editors of nursing journals, where their role is to decide which articles to accept for publication. These decision-makers share their important insights as to how they make their decisions, which will enhance the likelihood your manuscript is accepted for publication. The new edition covers, how to turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article, how to write a letter to the editor and a book review, how to work with and manage contributors when writing a book, and how to understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more."
ISBN: 1306714133Publication Date: 2014
Intervention Research: Designing, conducting, analyzing, and funding by Publication Date: (2012)
Medical Writing: A guide for clinicians, educators, and researchers by Publication Date: (2011) SpringerContains chapters on How to Write a Research Protocol and How to Write a Grant Proposal
Principles of Research Methodology: A Guide for Clinical Investigators by Publication Date: (2012) Springer.
Survive and Thrive: A Guide for Untenured Faculty by Publication Date: (2010) Morgan & Claypool Publishers
The Academic Medicine Handbook: A Guide to Achievement and fulfillment for Academic Faculty by Publication Date: (2013) Springer
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare: Getting it Right by ISBN: 0470657820Publication Date: (2012) Wiley-Blackwell.
