Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Biographical Information: Basic Indexes

Indexes

Indexes provide pointers to other sources of information and are excellent places to start searching for biographical information. No attempt has been made to list here the many comprehensive indexes and databases, such as ABI/Inform, Academic Search PremierExpanded Academic ASAP, or Readers' Guide Full Text (to name but a few) where copious valuable information about individuals also may be found.
 
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Main Library General Collection CT 213 .B542 (1980+)
A valuable, time-saving source for determining in which of numerous general and specialized biographical dictionaries an individual would be found. Indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as an index to other indexes. The majority of persons listed, both living and dead, are American or British. An entry provides name, birth and death dates, and a list of biographical dictionaries where further information about the individual can be found.
 
Biography Index
Main Library Reference (1946/49-1996/97, 1999/2000+)
Alphabetical name index to biographical material in periodicals and books, on people living and dead. The printed version includes a useful index of professions and occupations; the online version has a thesaurus of descriptors or occupations which can be browsed. The online version also has the capability of limiting, under the Document Type option, the type of source material — article, analytic, or monograph.
 
Personal Name Index to The New York Times Index, 1851-1974
Main Library Reference CT 104 .F28
Personal Name Index to The New York Times Index, 1975-1989 Supplement
Main Library Reference CT 104 .F28 Suppl.
A compilation of names listed in the New York Times Index (Index AI 21 .N44) from its inception through 1989.

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.