Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Biographical Information: Subject-Specific Sources

Medicine and Nursing

American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary
Main Library Reference RT 34 .A44
Contains biographies of 175 women and two men nursing leaders. Most entrants were born before 1900. Signed entries give lengthy biographical information, references, and life dates. Many photographs and drawings.

Dictionary of American Medical Biography
Main Library Reference R 153 .D53 1984
Includes more than 1,000 persons from the seventeenth through the twentieth centuries who had died prior to December 1976. Coverage extends outside the medical mainstream to include non-physicians such as biochemists, medical educators, health faddists, patent medicine inventors, and unorthodox practitioners. The appendix gives a listing by birthdate, birthplace, state where prominent, occupation and specialty, medical school or graduate level college, and females.

Dictionary of American Nursing Biography
Main Library Reference RT 34 .D53 1988
Contains 196 biographical sketches of persons important in the history of nursing and who died prior to January 31, 1987. Appendixes list individuals by birthplace, state where prominent, and occupation or specialty. Indexed by personal name, organization, place, and special subject.

The Official American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists
Main Library Reference R 712 .A1 D5
The entries, arranged by board certification specialty, then by state, provide brief biographical information for over 580,000 medical specialists in 24 fields. Includes medical education, training, career, and address information.

The Oxford Companion to Medicine
Main Library Reference R 121 .O88 1986
Brief biographical entries on individuals who have figured prominently in the history of medicine since earliest times.