Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Biographical Information: Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Main Library Reference BF 109 .A1 B56 1997
Entries on 500 persons who made important contributions to modern psychology from the mid-nineteenth century to the early 1990s. Signed entries, written by an international team of contributors, vary in length from a paragraph to several pages for prominent individuals. The majority of individuals profiled are European or North American. Each entry gives name, date and place of birth and death, nationality, main area of interest in psychology, education, appointments, honors and awards, principal publications, further reading (sources of critical, appreciative, or analytical accounts of the person's main work), intellectual development, and main ideas, including an assessment of influence. The volume concludes with four indexes: by name, interests (using the American Psychological Association categories), institution, and key terms and concepts.
 
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare in America
Main Library Reference HV 27 .B57 1986
Features more than 300 articles, alphabetically arranged and three to four pages in length, on activists (as opposed to theorists or philanthropists). A bibliography is appended to each profile. Appendixes offer a chronology of significant events and a list of subjects by year and place of birth.
 
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Main Library Reference H 41 .I58 2001
Provides signed sketches, with bibliographies, of 147 deceased social and behavioral scientists whose contributions are considered seminal. See also the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Volume 18, Biographical Supplement (Main Library General Collection H 40 .A2 I5 1968) which contains biographical sketches of approximately 200 social scientists either deceased or born no later than 1908.
 
International Dictionary of Anthropologists
Main Library Reference GN 20 .I5 1991
Contains biographical entries for 725 anthropologists born before 1920, from more than 50 countries. Each sketch includes an explanation of the individual's significance to the discipline, a list of major works written by, and a list of additional sources about, the person. Indexed by personal names, institutions, place names, and ethnic groups.