Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Biographical Information: Art and Architecture

Art and Architecture

Contemporary Artists
Main Library Reference N 6490 .C6567 2002
Provides detailed personal and professional information on 850 artists -- both established masters and emerging figures. Modern painters, sculptors and graphic and performance artists are included. Illustrated with approximately 600 black-and-white photographs of the artists and their works. The entries in the latest edition are available in the online database Biography in Context.
 
Contemporary Designers
Main Library Reference NK 1390 .C655 1997
Profiles the careers and accomplishments of 685 designers from throughout the world. Each entry provides a detailed biography; a list of important and representative design works; a bibliography covering publications by and about the designer; an essay by a specialists in the field; and comments by the designer on his or her own work, when available. The entries in the latest edition are available in the online database Biography in Context.
 
Contemporary Photographers
Main Library Reference TR 139 .C664 199502
Contains over 800 detailed biographical sketches that profile photographers worldwide. Each articles lists of individual exhibitions, a listing of galleries and museums that have the entrant's work in their collection, a selected bibliography of works by and about the photographer, and an evaluative essay signed by one of the book's 175 contributors. The entries in the latest edition are available in the online database Biography in Context.
 
The Dictionary of Art [Grove's]
Main Library Reference N 31 .D5 1996
Contains over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts — painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography — from prehistory to the present day. Many biographies.
 
The Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects
Main Library Reference NA 40 .M25
A four volume comprehensive biographical source on historical and contemporary architects. Volume 4 contains an index to building names and a glossary of architectural terms used within the work.
 
World Artists: 1950-1980
World Artists: 1980-1990
Main Library Reference N 6489 .M37
Together, these two volumes profile 432 artists who have been influential in the post-World War II era.