Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

News and Newspapers

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Alaska Newspapers Index (1901-1999)

Alaska Newspapers Index -- "Searchable database of Juneau and Fairbanks newspapers. Fairbanks area indexing (compiled by Mr. Mike Brown of the Bureau of Land Management), coverage varies within 1901-1975 and Juneau Empire indexing (compiled by Capital City Libraries staff) covers December, 1992 to August, 1999."

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for any newspapers from Alaska.

Alaska newspaper -- Tundra Times (1962-1997)

Tundra Times -- "The Tundra Times was the voice of Alaska Natives from 1962 to 1997. It reported on events that transformed the Alaska Native way of life, including settlement of land claims, founding of Native corporations and the transfer of health and social services to Native-operated nonprofits."

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Arizona newspaper directory -- Arizona Newspaper Project

Arizona Newspaper Project provides an online database to identify and locate Arizona newspapers. Searchable by title, city, county, subject and OCLC number, the results identify libraries and other institutions with microfilm or paper holdings.

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for any newspapers from Arizona.

Arizona newspapers -- Casa Grande (1912-2007)

The Newspaper Archives of Casa Grande Public Library provides searchable, full-text historical newspaper pages from Casa Grande:

  • Arizona City Independent (2000)
  • Bulletin (1913-1927)
  • Casa Grande Dispatch (1912-2007)
  • Cotton and Agriculture (2001-2002)

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

California Digital Newspaper Collection (1849-1911)

"The California Digital Newspaper Collection offers over 200,000 pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-191l: the Alta California, 1849-1891; the San Francisco Call, 1893-1910; the Amador Ledger, 1900-1911; the Imperial Valley Press, 1901-1911; the Sacramento Record-Union, 1859-1890; and the Los Angeles Herald, 1905-1907. Additional years are forthcoming, as are other early California newspapers: the Californian; the California Star; the California Star and Californian; the Sacramento Transcript; the Placer Times; and the Pacific Rural Press."

California newspaper -- Alta California [San Francisco] (1849-1864)

California newspapers -- USC Digital Collections (1851-1864)

"The Los Angeles Star (La Estrella de Los Angeles) is available through a partnership with The Huntington Library, who generously allowed USC to digitize their complete holdings of this newspaper. Established in 1851 as a weekly newspaper, it was printed half in Spanish and half English until 1855. When the Civil War broke out, the outspoken criticism of the federal government by its editor led to the Star being banned from the mails, and the arrest of its editor for treason. It ceased publication in 1864, apparently due to financial problems, but resumed in 1868. In 1870 it became a daily, but ceased publication in 1879 because of lack of funds. No complete file is known to exist. The current collection consists of about 500 issues up through 1864."

"El Clamor Publico is available through a partnership with The Huntington Library, who generously allowed USC to digitize their complete holdings of this newspaper. Billed as Los Angeles' "Periodica Independiente y Literacio," El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. It was founded by the former Spanish editor of the Los Angeles Star, Francisco P. Ramirez, a 19-year old printer. Published weekly, 233 four-page issues were published between July 1855 and August 1859. The initially moderate paper evolved into an activist tabloid and espoused strong political views generally in support of the Mexicanos. While articles commonly dealt with American political ideology and practice, the newspaper's publication of poetry and literature make it an excellent source of cultural history. It was distributed as far north as San Francisco."

California newspaper -- San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1983)

  • Daily Dramatic Chronicle (v.1 - 8#40, Jan. 16, 1865-Aug. 31,1868)
  • Daily Morning Chronicle (v.8#41 - 10#26, Sept. 1, 1868-Aug. 14, 1869)
  • San Francisco Chronicle (Aug. 15, 1869-Dec. 31, 1983)

San Francisco Chronicle. Newspaper Index
Reference AI 21 .S25 S26 (1981-1983)

California newspapers available in Chronicling America (1880-1910)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) -- "This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

California newspaper -- Los Angeles Examiner (1920-1961)

"The Los Angeles Examiner Collection consists of approximately 1.4 million prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Examiner newspaper. Almost every event and individual receiving news coverage in Los Angeles during the period late 1920's to 1961 is represented in the collection. Coverage is broad including crime, sports, society, art, and entertainment. The collection forms part of the Hearst Collection and was a gift from the Los Angeles Herald Examiner Division of the Hearst Corporation in 1978." (USC Digital Collections)

California newspaper -- Los Angeles Times (1985+)

Los Angeles Times: Archives -- Index 1881+ (some articles are available online for purchase)
-- also indexed in Google News Archives Search

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for this newspaper.

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Colorado newspapers (1859-1895)

The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) provides online full text for some of these newspapers. The UCF Library has microfilm for the following newspapers:

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (1859-1923)

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) provides digital access to over 140 Colorado newspapers from 1859 to 1923 

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Hawaii newspapers available in Chronicling America (1886-1905)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) -- "This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Hawaiian Language Newspapers (1834-1927)

Hawaiian Language Newspapers (University of Hawaii)

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Montana newspaper indexes -- Bozeman and Great Falls Newspaper Index (1987-2007)

Bozeman and Great Falls Newspaper Index provides citations to Montana-related articles from the Bozeman Daily Chronicle (1987-2007) and the Great Falls Tribune (1987-2006).

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for any newspapers from Montana.

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Oklahoma newspapers index -- Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Articles (Oklahoma Historical Society) -- "Search a citation index for newspaper articles from select titles and dates. Full text of articles is available through microfilm or dvd [at the Society]."

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Oregon Newspapers Index (1852-2004)

The Oregon Newspapers Index provides newspaper indexes for:

  • Oregon Daily Emerald (Eugene) (1900-1979) -- University of Oregon campus newspaper
  • Portland Oregonian (1852-1987)
  • Register-Guard (Eugene) (1963-2004)

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for any newspapers from Oregon.

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Texas newspapers available in Chronicling America (1883-1911)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) -- "This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Texas newspaper index -- Dallas Morning News (1885-1977)

Dallas Morning News: Archives -- Index 1885-1977 (some articles are available online for purchase)

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for this newspaper.

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Utah Digital Newspapers (1850-1960)

Utah Digital Newspapers can be searched or browsed to retrieve the full text of articles from over 50 Utah newspapers published between 1850 and 1960.

Utah newspapers available in Chronicling America (1880-1910)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) -- "This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Washington newspapers -- Historic Newspapers in Washington (1852-1892)

Historic Newspapers in Washington provides digitized versions of 21 Washington newspapers from 1852-1892, searchable by keyword or browsable by subject or date. 

U.S. -- Western Regional News

Western Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Wyoming Newspaper Project (1867-1922)

Wyoming Newspaper Project provides digitized versions of "all the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922, in an easily searchable format."