Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

News and Newspapers

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Connecticut newspaper index -- Hartford Courant (1764-1984)

Hartford Courant: Archives -- Index 1764-1984 (some articles are available online for purchase)

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for this newspaper.

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Maine newspapers index -- Snow Index to Brunswick Newspapers (1853-1960)

Snow Index to Brunswick Newspapers "is an index to microfilm of the Brunswick weekly newspapers for 1853 through December, 1960. Please note that this is an index to citations, NOT an index that leads to online full text."

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for any newspapers from Maine.

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Massachusetts newspaper -- Boston News-Letter / Massachusetts Gazette (1704-1770)

Newspaper Microfilm -- Filed as Boston News-Letter and as Massachusetts Gazette

Massachusetts newspaper -- Boston Gazette & Country Journal (1769-1798)

Massachusetts newspaper -- Independent Chronicle & Boston Patriot (1825-1835)

Massachusetts newspaper -- Daily Evening Transcript / Boston Evening Transcript (1840-1856)

Newspaper Microfilm -- Filed as Daily Evening Transcript and as Boston Evening Transcript

Massachusetts newspaper -- Commonwealth (Boston) (1865-1882)

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

New Jersey newspapers -- Atlantic County Digitized Newspapers (1860-1923)

Digitized Newspapers (Atlantic County Library System)

  • Atlantic Journal (1860)
  • Hammonton Farmer (1863 & 1866)
  • South Jersey Republican (1863-1923)
  • Atlantic Democrat and Cape May County Register (1864-1865)
  • Atlantic Democrat and Cumberland County Patriot (1866)
  • Atlantic Democrat (1866)
  • Atlantic Democrat (1867-1868)
  • Hammonton Item (1872-1877)
  • Mays Landing Record (1877-1906)
  • Atlantic County Record (1908-1917)
  • South Jersey Star (1917-1923)

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

New York newspapers -- Northern New York Historical Newspapers (1811-2008)

Northern New York Historical Newspapers provides indexed access to 44 historical newspapers from Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego and St. Lawrence counties.

New York newspapers -- Old New York State Historical Newspapers (1817-2007)

Old New York State Historical Newspapers -- The Old Fulton NY Post Cards site provides digitized versions of many old newspapers from around New York State. A browsable list of the available newspapers is available here

New York newspaper -- Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)

Freedom's Journal -- "the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States. The Journal was published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829."

New York newspapers -- Suffolk Historic Newspapers (1839-1960, 1996-2007)

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

  • 1839-1960 Long Islander (Huntington)
  • 1839-1871 Corrector (Sag Harbor)
  • 1869-1879 South Side Signal (Babylon)
  • 1872-1898 Long Island Traveler (Southold)
  • 1885-1898 Sag Harbor Express (Sag Harbor)
  • 1888-1942, 1996-2007 Suffolk County News (Sayville)
  • 1892-1931 Port Jefferson Echo (Port Jefferson)

New York newspaper -- Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online (1841-1902)

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online (1841-1902) -- "The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. Because of the enormity of the collection, the digitization of the historic Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper from reels of microfilm has been broken down into more than one phase. Phase I, which can at present be found on this site, covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication."

New York newspaper -- New York Times (1851+)

New York newspaper index -- New York Tribune Index (1875-1884, 1895)

New York Tribune Index (Library of Congress) provides indexing of the New York Daily Tribune newspaper, plus full text of the Tribune Almanac & Political Register, for 1875-1884 and 1895.

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for this newspaper.

New York newspapers available in Chronicling America (1879-1910)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) -- "This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

New York newspaper -- New York Age (1905-1960)

Newspaper Microfilm -- all issues filed by title New York Age

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Pennsylvania newspaper -- American Weekly Mercury (Philadelphia) (1719-1746)

Pennsylvania newspaper -- Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1815)

Newspaper Microfilm -- all issues filed by title Pennsylvania Gazette

Pennsylvania newspaper -- Pennsylvania Journal & Weekly Advertiser (1757-1759)

Pennsylvania newspaper -- Pittsburgh Gazette (1793-1896)

Newspaper Microfilm -- all issues filed by title Pittsburgh Gazette

Pennsylvania newspaper -- United States Gazette (Philadelphia) (1815-1838)

Pennsylvania newspapers -- Pennsylvania Historical Newspapers (1826-1929)

Pennsylvania Historic Newspapers -- "The State Library of Pennsylvania continues to add digitized copies of historical Pennsylvania newspapers to the AccessPA Digital Repository. Currently you can browse issues or search by date for the following newspapers:

  • Christian Observer (Philadelphia) 1846-1844
  • Lancaster Intelligencer 1833-1852
  • Lewistown Republican 1840-1844
  • Mansfield Advertiser 1911-1929
  • Marietta Register 1883-1890
  • Mariettian - 1858-1860
  • Marietta Advocate and Farmers' and Mechanic's intelligencer, 1833-1835
  • Marietta Pioneer 9/1827-9/1828
  • Pioneer (Marietta) 9/26/1828-1/8/1830
  • Pioneer and County Advertiser 9/27/1826 - 2/2/1827
  • Potter County Journal 1897-1898
  • State's Advocate (Milton) 1826-1829
  • Sun (Philadelphia) 9/11/1844, June-August 1847
  • Sunday School Times (Philadelphia) 1862-1868
  • Whig State Journal (Harrisburg) 5/20/1851

New titles and dates will continue to be added as they are available."

Pennsylvania newspapers -- Pennsylvania Civil War Era Collection (1831-1880)

Pennsylvania Civil War Era Collection "contain all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War.  Newspapers played a prominent role in the conflict.  They helped mobilize public opinion for, or against, the war, relayed battlefield developments to their readers, and documented political life on the homefront.  Beyond military or political concerns there is much on cultural topics including travel, arts and leisure, sports and contests, and local social events."

Pennsylvania newspaper -- Philadelphia Public Ledger (1836-1872)

Pennsylvania newspapers -- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project (1895+)

Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project (PJN) "is a unique, free, searchable fulltext archive that documents the history and life of the Jewish community in Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania. To date, it is a digital archive of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962) and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-present)."

Pennsylvania newspaper index -- Philadelphia Press Index (1898-1912)

Philadelphia Press Index -- "The Philadelphia Press (1857-1920) was one of Philadelphia's oldest major newpapers. This index is an electronic version of a paper index kept by the staff of the newspaper from 1898 through 1912. It directs you to citations for specific articles that appeared in the newspaper."

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for this newspaper.

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

U.S. -- Northeast Regional News

Northeast Regional Stories (LexisNexis Academic) -- search results can be limited by state
 -- or the sources searched can be changed to those for a specific state

See also Links to U.S. & Foreign Newspapers

Vermont newspaper directory -- Vermont Newspaper Project Catalog

Vermont Newspaper Project Catalog "includes nearly 1,000 bibliographic records for Vermont newspaper titles that date from the 18th century to the present. Holdings information for close to 100 newspaper repositories throughout Vermont is also included."

The UCF Library does not have microfilm for any of these newspapers.