Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Book Reviews: Book Review Periodicals

Book Review Periodicals

The following periodicals are devoted almost exclusively to book reviews.

Booklist
Main Library General Collection Z 1035 .A49 (1917-2001)
Through bi-monthly issues, provides a total of approximately 8,000 recommended-only reviews of books, audiobooks, reference sources, video, and DVD titles each year. Spotlight issues provide coverage on popular genres, topics, and themes such as biography, young adult, multicultural literature, graphic novels, romance, sports, etc. Published by the American Library Association.

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Main Library General Collection Z 1037 .A1C4 (2006+)
Considered one of the nation's leading children's book review journals, providing signed evaluative reviews that includes grade level. See also the multi-volume set, The Best in Children's Books: The University of Chicago Guide to Children's Literature (1950-1990), Main Library Reference PN 1009 .A1S874, which contains brief evaluative reviews.

Choice
Main Library General Collection Z 1035 .C5
Published by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), this journal provides brief reviews of scholarly books, electronic media, and Internet sources. Reviews are grouped by discipline. Each issue includes a longer bibliographic essay on a specific topic, and an annual list of "Outstanding Academic Titles" is published each January.

The Horn Book Magazine
Main Library General Collection Z 1037 .A1A15 (1925+)
Subtitle: "Recommending Books for Children and Young Adults." Each bi-monthly issue contains lengthy reviews of picture books, fiction, poetry, non-fiction, and audiobooks. Starred titles indicate outstanding works.

Kirkus Reviews
Main Library General Collection PS 3 .K5 (1971-1981)
Provides approximately 500 pre-publication book reviews each month. Reviews are relatively brief — around 300 words — and cover titles for adults, yound adults, and children.

http://www.lrb.co.uk/
Main Library General Collection AP 4 .L535 (1985)
Main Library Microfilm AP 4 .L535 (1986+)
Contains essay-length critical commentaries on contemporary literature and non-fiction by notable writers, critics, and scholars. On the Internet site, readers may explore the current issue or use the index to archival issues from 2000 forward.

http://www.nybooks.com
Main Library Microfiche AP 2 .N655 (1967+)
Not to be confused with The New York Times Book Review (below). Long considered, in the words of Esquire, as "the premier literary-intellectual magazine in the English language." Every two weeks, a roster of distinguished scholars, writers, and critics publish lengthy essays and reviews of books and the arts, including music, theater, dance, and film, as well as commentary on politics and international affairs.

The New York Times Book Review
Main Library Microfilm (1896+, filmed with The New York Times)
A supplement to the Sunday edition of the Times, it covers fiction and non-fiction, and both scholarly and popular titles, as well as regular coverage of children's books, mysteries, and pop culture titles. The famous "Best Seller" lists have expanded to cover numerous categories, such as hardcover and paperback fiction, non-fiction, and "advice" titles.

Publishers Weekly
Main Library General Collection Z 1219 .P98 (1950-1960, 1962-1964, 1966-1986)
Main Library Microfilm Z 1219 .P98 (1960-1962, 1965-1966)
Main Library Microfiche Z 1219 .P98 (1984-2003)
Subtitle: "The International Magazine of Book Publishing." In addition to book reviews, particularly of popular fiction and non-fiction, each issue contains news of publishing and bookselling trends, author interviews, and bestseller lists in several categories such as books most borrowed in U.S. public libraries.

http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/the_tls/
Main Library General Collection AP 4 .T452 (1902-24, 1926-39, 1941-64, 1967-1968)
Main Library Microfilm AP 4 .T452 (1965-1966, 1970+)
Signed, lengthy reviews on books, both fiction and non-fiction, from many countries on an array of topics. Also covers current theatre, opera, exhibitions, and film. On the Internet site, readers may explore the current issue or use the index to archival issues from 1994 forward.

The Women's Review of Books
Lengthy, signed essay reviews on new writings by women authors, biographies of prominent women, and non-fiction titles covering a wide variety of topics that pertain to women.

Periodical Locations

The vast majority of the UCF Libraries' journals are available full-text online. Sometimes, however, the complete run of back issues of journals will not be online, but may nonetheless be available in the Libraries. The location in the Main Library, Orlando, of the following formats of back issues, as well the current issues of some journal titles, are indicated below:

> Bound Volumes: shelved by call number in General Collection.

> Microfilm/Microfiche Volumes: shelved in cabinets by call number on 3rd Floor, with the exception of newspapers which are shelved by title.

> Current Issues: shelved by title on 3rd Floor.