Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Book Reviews: Science and Engineering

Science and Engineering

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, Applied Science and Technology Index (1958+).

Applied Science and Technology Index
Main Library General Collection T 1 .I54 (1958-2004)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is Applied Science and Technology (1983+)

Biological and Agricultural Index
Index QH 301 .B378 (1964/65-2003/04)
In the online version: To find book reviews, select "Book Reviews" in the Document Type box; in the print version, book reviews are cited in a separate section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed.

COMPENDEX (1884+)
Under "Limit By" in the All Publication Types box, select "Monograph Review." 

In the Document Type Phrase box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, General Science Index (1978/79-1998/99, 1001/02+).

General Science Index
Index Q 1 .G46 (1978/79-2004)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is General Science Full Text (1983+)

The advanced search mode allows limiting to book reviews.

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.