Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Book Reviews: Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Allows limiting to book reviews under Publication Type.

 

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Review."

 

In the Article Type box, select "Book Review."

 

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
Main Library General Collection HV 6001 .C754 (1975-1998)
In the online version: The guided search mode allows limiting by "Article Type" to book reviews. In the print version: book reviews are listed under that heading in the Subject Index.

 

Use the phrase "review article" as a keyword search to limit to book reviews.

 

History: Reviews of New Books
Main Library General Collection D 1 .H587 (1972/73-1996)
Approximately thirty to forty book reviews per quarterly issue cover all geographic areas and time periods, from ancient times to the present.

 

Type "book review" in the Publication Type box.

 

 

Each issue presents in-depth reviews of over thirty of the newest books in American history.

 

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Reviews." Preceded by the print version, Social Sciences Index (1974/75-2003/04).

 

Social Sciences Index
Main Library General Collection AI 3 .R492 (1974/75-2003/04)
Separate book review section, with entry under the author of the book reviewed. The online version is Social Sciences Full Text (1983+).

 

Type "book review" in the Publication Type box.

 

Type "book review" in the Publication Type box.

 

Women Studies Abstracts
Main Library General Collection HQ 1180 .W65 (1972+)
Book review citations are listed in a separate chapter in each issue.

 

 

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.