Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Legislative Histories: 1934-1940

Researching Public Laws Enacted in 1934-1940

Identify the Public Law number and the bill number

To determine the number of the Public Law, use one of the following:

  • Shepard's Acts and Cases By Popular Names, Federal & State...
    Reference KF 80 .S5
    provides the citation, including Public Law number.
  • The title and synopsis of laws in U.S. Statutes at Large back to 1789 can be searched by keyword or citation at ProQuest Congressional.
  • U.S.C.S. - United States Code Service
    Reference KF 62 1972 .L38
    provides the full text of laws currently in effect, arranged by subject. The Public Law numbers for a specific section appear in a history note following the text of the law.

Two other listings of federal laws by name are

Retrieve the list of reports and documents by bill number(s)

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, Part XIII, Index by Reported Bill Numbers, 1817-1969

This print index is located in the UCF Library on the first floor at U.S. Documents Reference Z 1223.Z9 C65 1975. Follow the instructions to proceed from the library entrance to the East stairs and down to the first floor. From the stairwell turn left at the first corner and the books will be just around the corner against the wall.

The index identifies the committee reports and documents associated with a specific bill, arranged by Congressional session and bill number.

The UCF Library has the full text of these reports available on microfiche.

Similar index access by bill number is available online in ProQuest Congressional, but you will still need to use the microfiche for access to the full text.

Retrieve the list of reports, documents, and hearings by subject

ProQuest Congressional, Historical Indexes, 1789-1969

This online index can be used to identify Congressional publications prior to 1969.

The UCF Library has the full text of the Serial Set and published committee hearings available on microfiche, with much of the Serial Set also available online.

The unpublished hearings and pre-1969 committee prints are not currently available at UCF.

NOTE: The indexing by keyword and bill number is not comprehensive, so be creative in your search strategy.

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833-1969

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, 1833-1969

This print index is located in the UCF Library on the first floor at U.S. Documents Reference KF 25.C659 Index. Follow the instructions to proceed from the library entrance to the East stairs and down to the first floor. As soon as you exit the stairwell turn right and the books will be on the shelves against the wall.

The index identifies the pre-1969 published committee hearings, all of which are available in the UCF Library on microfiche.

Similar index access is available online in ProQuest Congressional, but you will still need to use the microfiche for access to the full text.

Retrieve articles from journals and newspapers

If you haven't already done so, consider reviewing your topic in a specialized encyclopedia, e.g.,

Search for articles discussing the legislation in journals and newspapers. These articles may help in your analysis of the legislative history documents gathered in the previous steps.

Congressional Digest (1921+)

Vital Speeches of the Day (1934+)

Vital Speeches of the Day provides the full text of speeches on a wide range of political topics.

  • Online version (1934+)
  • Microfilm PN 6121 .V52 (1934-1939, 1968-1996, 1997-2001)
  • General Collection PN 6121 .V52 (1939-1968)

Wilson Indexes (1890+)

The UCF Libraries subscribe to the online versions of several indexes covering articles published in the early part of the twentieth century:

Other articles

Continue your research by looking for articles in other journals and newspapers.

Research Guides

Databases -- Some of the databases and indexes available at UCF can be used to locate professional journals in political science or in the discipline of the legislative topic. Note that you may find articles in more recent journal issues looking back at laws enacted much earlier than the publication date of the journal. Examples of some databases to consider include: