The UCF Library has the digital collection, but does not have the microfilm version based on Joseph Sabin's bibliography, "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time"
Reference Z 1201.S2 1961
"Latin America, 1845-1914 illuminates the internal and international affairs of Latin American countries from the mid-19th century to the onset of the First World War. Topics covered include the Clayton-Bulwer Treaty; the treatment of British subjects in Argentina; the Mosquito claims (Nicaragua); the Spanish-Peruvian War; the Peru-Chile "War of the Pacific"; U.S. designs on the Bay of Samana; the neutralization of the Straits of Magellan; attempted revolution in Haiti; railway concessions in Brazil; revolution in Colombia; Honduran external debt; revolution in Chile; claims arising from the Venezuelan revolution; the Panama Canal question; the Hay-Pauncefote Treaty; British arbitration in the Brazil-Bolivia-Paraguay boundary dispute; revolution in Panama; the Mexican agrarian situation; Anglo-Cuban commercial treaty; military report on Cuba; annual reports on the affairs of the Latin American republics; and the Platt Amendment."
"Latin America, 1914-1939 covers domestic and foreign affairs in Mexico, Central America, and Latin America for the years between the First and Second World Wars. Subjects include Latin America and World War I; Pan-American Conferences; Argentina and the Falkland Islands; U.S. relations with Latin American republics; crisis in church-state relations in Mexico; the Chaco War; the League of Nations and Latin American disputes; constitutional crisis in Cuba; the Montevideo Conference; the growth of the Brazilian Communist movement and attempted revolution in Brazil; quarterly reports on the economies of the Latin American republics; growth of German influence in Latin America; the Mexican political crisis; the rise of Anastasio Somoza; U.S.-Panamanian Canal Treaty; Nicaraguan-Honduran boundary dispute; Mexican oil concessions; and reports on leading Latin American personalities."
"The documents in Part III cover political, economic, and military affairs; present historical surveys; and record information on heads of missions and other key personalities in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, El Salvador, Uruguay, and Venezuela."
"Information from South America focuses on Argentina, Brazil, and Peru, although all South and Central American countries are covered. Revolutions and social policies and situations are monitored in detail. Government budgets or budget proposals are reported on for Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, and other countries. Researchers will be interested in observations on Britain's two noteworthy trouble spots in Latin America-the Falkland Islands question and its effect on Anglo- Argentinian relations, and the Hunduras question and its effect on Anglo-Guatemalan relations."
Some volumes are available in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set.
Some print and microfiche volumes are also available in the UCF Library:
List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and Titles -- Reference GN 550 .S58 Guide
Other online sources for the Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology:
"Along with extensive data on radical activities, these records contain a wealth of detail on newly arrived immigrants (one of military intelligence’s favorite targets in the early years covered by the collection). Furthermore, the documents provide valuable inside information on the way in which antisubversive policies were planned and executed at high levels of the federal government, by regional military commanders, and by local authorities. The most copious records in the collection are those covering the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW). Also well covered in the collection is the incipient American Communist movement. Hardly neglected are various anarchist, socialist, social democratic, and civil libertarian groups whose activities caused concern among military intelligence officers."
"Diplomatic post records are those kept at the embassies or legations rather than in Washington, as are the State Department's central files. For many countries in the years before 1945, the post records, if they have survived, are the researcher's preferred source. They contain the incoming messages from Washington, retained copies of outgoing dispatches, and--where diplomatic representatives were acting with some independence--much more locally gathered information and background material on decision making."
"Cuban post records for 1930-1945 offer extensive documentation of that country during the Depression and World War II. The Sumner Welles mission of 1933 and subsequent diplomatic issues are covered as well as the first administration of Fulgencio Batista."
"El Salvador during the same troubled years saw the regime of General Maximiliano Hernandez Martinez with his suppression of opposition groups, suspension of many civil liberties, and limited success in agrarian and labor reform before his overthrow in 1944."
"Honduran post records trace the manner in which General Tiburcio Carias Andino gained the presidency in 1932 after years of unrest and quickly assumed dictatorial powers. There is also material on the supporting role of the United Fruit Company throughout this period."
"The end of a long occupation by U.S. marines came to Nicaragua in 1933, but in 1937 began the presidential entrenchment of the head of the Guardia Nacional, Anastasio Somoza, who would last until his assassination in 1956. Why and in what ways Somoza benefited from official U.S. backing is well documented in this collection."