Demographic and Market Share Data and Other Industry Statistics - ENT 5946 - Small Business Consulting - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Social Explorer

Social Explorer contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements,335,000 variables and 220 years of data. Interactive mapping and reporting tools let you explore a vast array of demographic data quickly and easily. (Three concurrent users only) Step-by-Step Instruction

American Community Surveys 5-Year Estimates (available down to the Census Block Group geography) data plus Social Explorer tables which include easy reports with age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, household relationship, place of birth, education, employment status, income, tenure, cost and value of housing, year structure built and other data.
Census 2010 (PL94 Data) data files contain summary data down to the census block.
Explore religion in every county, state and the United States.

SimplyAnalytics (Geographic Research)

SimplyAnalytics Mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Create a SimplyMap account if you wish to save your work access other user account features. 5 Concurrent users. (Use your UCF Knights Email Account) SimplyAnalytics Help Files

Demographic Variables - Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more.
Historical Census Data - Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections
Business and Marketing Variables Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, Business & Employee Counts by industry, and EASI© Market Segments & Life Stages.
Mediamark Research’s (MRI©) Survey of the American Consumer™: EASI, using MRI survey; data, produces local estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of specific and detailed products and services.
PRIZM™ from Nielson Claritas: defines every U.S. Household in terms of 66 demographic and behavior types or segments to help marketers discern those customers' likes, dislikes, lifestyles, and purchasing behaviors.
Experian SimmonsLOCAL: a powerful targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets on a local level with 60,000+ data variables, including over 450 categories and 8,000 specific brands.

MarketLine

MarketLine Advantage An international market research database that offers both company reports with market share data and other statistics. The industry reports include market value, market volume, and market share.

Demographics Now

DemographicsNow Library Edition. Offers up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market-level information, including Simmons. Research Guide

Consumer Lifestyle

Mergent Intellect by FTSE Russell
- This link opens in a new window
Create a profile using any of the combinations below.
General (Name, Phone, Area Code)
Location (State, City, MSA, ZIP Code, etc.)
Housing (Home Market Value)
Lifestyle (Book Buyers, Physical Fitness, SUV Owner, Travel Enthusiast, etc.)
Consumer Detail (Age Ranges, Gender, Home Ownership, Length of Residence, Net Worth, Estimated Income)
"Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Additionally, through Mergent’s partnership with Whitepages Pro, clients now have immediate access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers. This enhanced search tool features specific information - name, address, previous address, age, number of household members and reverse phone number lookup capabilities - another valuable source of business insight."

Other Demographic and Market Data Sources

Business Insights Provides access to several publications that rank companies including Market Share Reporter and Business Rankings Annual

NetAdvantage (S&P) Provides comprehensive reports on individual companies and more than 50 industries. Search Stock Reports on a specific company to find information on market profile, and competitive landscape. Search Company Profile to find list of all competitors or list of competitors covered in S&P.

IBISWorld provides comprehensive reports 700 US industries. Each report covers Competitive Landscape and list of Major Companies including the individual company's percentage of Market Share.