Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Film and Digital Media: Articles, Essays, and Dissertations

Databases and Indexes

Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about film and digital media. In some instances, books, essays in books, and current book reviews also may be found in these sources. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.
ARTICLES AND ESSAYS
Contains many full-text magazine and journal articles on topics relating to business and management topics. Good source for articles on the mass media industry.
Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 scholarly journals, and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals. A number of film journals are covered.
Contains over 69,000 full-text articles from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
Covers 222 leading art publications from around the world, including several that deal with film.
Indexes and abstracts over 1,500 publications in business, economics, management, and related areas. Full text for many articles published since 1990. 
Communication Abstracts
Main Library Index HM 258 .C64 (1978+)
Provides comprehensive coverage of communication-related information published in articles, books, and reports, covering such broad topics as communications processes, interpersonal communications, public relations, advertising, journalism and news media, and communications theory and research.
Offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
COMPENDEX (1884+)
Extremely useful for many digital media topics, COMPENDEX is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications around the world. This database provides international coverage as well as coverage of numerous non-serial publications.Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities.
Film and Television Literature Index
Main Library Index PN 1993 .F54 (1973+)
Lists articles from over 300 film journals and specialized publications. Includes some selective indexing of English-language scholarly journals and general-interest magazines. 
MLA International Bibliography
Main Library Index PB 6 .M6222 (1970+)
Main Library General Collection PB 6 .M6 (1921-1969, bound with PMLA)
Includes bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, proceedings, and bibliographies. Useful for research in film theory.
DISSERTATIONS
Includes 2.4 million dissertation and thesis citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with one million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full-text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older titles.

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.
Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables current UCF students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials — such as periodical articles — from other libraries that are not available at the UCF Libraries.