Skip to main content
UCF Libraries Home

Film and Digital Media: Key Journals

Core Film and Digital Media Journals

The following journals are devoted exclusively to film studies. Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here will contain articles about film; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index.

American Cinematographer
Online version (1998+) 
Main Library Microfilm TR 845 .A447 (1921-1970)
Main Library General Collection TR 845 .A447 (1958-1964, 1971-1988, 1990+)
The official magazine of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC), each issue contains detailed articles on film production.

Cinema Journal
Main Library Microfilm PN 1993 .S62 (1983-1990)
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .S62 (1990+)
Published under the auspices of the Society of Cinema Studies, each quarterly issue features scholarly articles on the history and aesthetics of film.

A peer-reviewed journal that addresses the creative, social, political and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies. Topics include: video games, mobile media/content, Internet studies, digital/new media art, virtual reality, new media products, cinema, and gender and technology.

A peer-reviewed journal devoted to the creative arts and digital technologies. It carries articles of interest to those involved in the practical task of making or using software for creative purposes, and involves such disciplines as fine art, graphic design, illustration, photography, printmaking, sculpture, 3D design, product design, textile and fashion design, film making, animation, games design, music, dance, drama, creative writing, poetry, interior design, architecture, and urban design. Also addresses technology-oriented disciplines such as artificial intelligence, computer-supported collaborative work, GPS systems, human-computer interaction, virtual and augmented reality.

Film Comment
Online version (2002+) 
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .F438 (1962+)
Articles cover film history, major U.S. actors and directors, and new mainstream and independent productions.

Film Criticism
Online version (1994/95+) 
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .F4183 (1989+)
An academic journal dealing with the theoretical and aesthetic aspects of cinema.

Film Culture
Online version (1992-1996)
Microfilm PN 1993 .F44 (1955-1996)
A journal devoted to avant-garde, independent, and experimental film. Ceased publication in 1996.

Film History
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .F56 (1972, 1974, 1979, 1992+)
Publishes essay-length articles, primarily by European scholars, on cinematographic history.

Film Journal International
Online version (2001+) 
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .F613 (1991+)
An excellent source of industry news, box office data, production updates, and technical information on new technologies.

Film Quarterly
Main Library Microfilm PN 1993 .H457 (1958-1963)
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .H457 (1958+)
Regularly runs lengthy film reviews and interviews with major figures in the film industry.

Film Review
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .F625 (1991+)
Britain's longest-running monthly film magazine features detailed coverage of upcoming releases, reviews of new releases, and interviews with people in the industry.

http://www.filmmakermagazine.com
The magazine of independent filmmaking, each issue contains interviews with independent directors, articles on production techniques, and coverage of the independent film festival scene

http://www.indiewire.com
Another online source for independent filmmaking.

Journal of Film and Video
Main Library Microfilm PN 1993 .U63 (1984-1989)
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .U63 (1990+)
Features scholarship on the history, aesthetics, and criticism of film.

Journal of Popular Film and Television
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .J6 (1978/80+)
A scholarly journal dealing with U.S. popular movies from a variety of socio-cultural perspectives.

Literature Film Quarterly
Main Library Microfilm PN 1995.3 .L57 (1973-1989)
Main Library General Collection PN 1995.3 .L57 (1990+)
Focuses on problems of adapting and transforming fiction and drama into film. It also has covered film genre, theory, and criticism and has featured interviews with screenwriters and directors.

An international journal that provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change. Recent articles have addressed such topics as the digital divide, digital storytelling, and teenagers' use of cell phones.

Sight and Sound
Main Library Microfilm PN 1993 .S56 (1932-1969)
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .S56 (1969+)
A monthly publication of the British Film Institute (BFI), with feature articles on new releases, retrospectives of major film directors, and film history.

Variety
Main Library Microfilm PN 2000 .V3 (1964+)
Contains extensive information on the entertainment business, especially film, television, and theatre. Many reviews of theatre, film, and television.

An interdisciplinary scholarly bringing together articles from a range of subjects, including anthropology, communication studies, discourse studies and semiotics, media and cultural studies, sociology, and the disciplines dealing with history, theory and practice of visual design. Includes articles on still and moving images; graphic design and typography; visual phenomena such as fashion, professional vision, posture and interaction; the built and landscaped environment; and the role of the visual in relation to language, music, sound and action.

Wide Angle
Online version (1996-1999)
Main Library General Collection PN 1993 .W48 (1976-1999)
A quarterly academic journal "devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media" (publisher's note). Ceased publication in 1999.

Journal Locations

The vast majority of the UCF Libraries' journals are available full-text online. Sometimes, however, the complete run of back issues of journals will not be online, but may nonetheless be available in the Libraries. The location in the Main Library, Orlando, of the following formats of back issues, as well the current issues of some journal titles, are indicated below:

> Bound Volumes: shelved by call number in General Collection.

> Microfilm/Microfiche Volumes: shelved in cabinets by call number on 3rd Floor.

> Current Issues: shelved by title on 3rd Floor.

Scholarly or "Peer-Reviewed" Articles

Many journal databases have the capability to limit searches so that only scholarly or "peer-reviewed" articles are in the results list. Many instructors specify that only these types of articles (as opposed to articles that appear in popular magazines) may be used in students' papers and presentations. Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles have the following characteristics:

> Reviewed by a panel of experts before they are accepted for publication

> Written by a scholar or specialist in the field

> Contain footnotes and/or references

> Frequently contain diagrams and charts but few glossy pictures

> Report on original research or experimentation

> Published by professional associations

> Employ terminology associated with the discipline